Switch Theme:

First turn assault  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in dk
Dakka Veteran




a) That's a matter of practicality, not rules legality. If I start at the edge of my deployment zone and you start at the edge of your deployment zone and they are directly across from one another then I will move so that I am exactly 18" or 12" away from you, because that must by definition be a full 6" or 12" move. I've never played anyone who actually intentionally placed his models at the edge of his deployment zone argue against that. Then again, I never played anyone who brought a SEM microscope to the table, so I guess we just play different types of people.
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

tgjensen wrote:
Mozzamanx wrote:
Unfortunately not. All of the standard deployments require *at least* 24 inches between armies. No matter how closely you toe the line, at best you are going to be 24.000000......00001" apart. Even if you deployed directly opposite to an infinitely small scale and moved in a perfectly straight line without any deviation, you will still be 0.000...00001" apart and thus assault is impossible.

If you ever find yourself in a position where you've achieved it, I guarantee you 100% it is because somebody made a measurement error somewhere because it is simply impossible if you follow the rules properly.


'at least' does not mean 'more than', it means 'not less than'. Exactly 24" apart fully lives up to 'at least 24" apart'.


BRB pg 121 on deployment zones "a player'sdeployment zone is defined as anywhere in their own table half that is more than 12" from the central line"
   
Made in dk
Dakka Veteran




Ah, did not notice that. Fair point.
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






tgjensen wrote:
a) That's a matter of practicality, not rules legality. If I start at the edge of my deployment zone and you start at the edge of your deployment zone and they are directly across from one another then I will move so that I am exactly 18" or 12" away from you, because that must by definition be a full 6" or 12" move. I've never played anyone who actually intentionally placed his models at the edge of his deployment zone argue against that. Then again, I never played anyone who brought a SEM microscope to the table, so I guess we just play different types of people.


The point isn't that you can measure with that kind of absurd precision, it's that if you get into a situation that is only possible because of a measurement error (declaring a turn-1 charge with just a standard move 12" + charge 12") you don't get to claim the benefits of that measurement error. Even if the ruler says you're within range you fail the charge, just like if you accidentally roll too many dice for shooting you have to discard the extra ones and roll again.

(Of course the same would be true for failing a charge because of a measurement error. If your unit successfully shoots my unit with weapons that have 12" range but the closest model is not killed then if I move 6" and get 6" for charge range I'm making that charge even if I'm somehow out of range. The fact that you accidentally bumped a model backwards when you were rolling your dice doesn't mean you get to ignore the charge.)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/01 09:21:59


There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in dk
Dakka Veteran




 Peregrine wrote:
The point isn't that you can measure with that kind of absurd precision, it's that if you get into a situation that is only possible because of a measurement error (declaring a turn-1 charge with just a standard move 12" + charge 12") you don't get to claim the benefits of that measurement error. Even if the ruler says you're within range you fail the charge, just like if you accidentally roll too many dice for shooting you have to discard the extra ones and roll again.


What measurement error? As Rorschach pointed out, deployment zones are indeed supposed to be more than 24" apart, but before that I (and my opponents) have always played it as exactly 24" apart. Hence, no measurement error was required in order to potentially make a first turn charge.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: