Switch Theme:

Zandrekh Adaptive Tactics boosting units in reserve?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ro
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon






MarkyMark wrote:
Never said that nor implied it. As per the FAQ you will have to roll for your reserves and outflank and other psyhic powers, then bring the models on. Simple.


Bringing on reserves is not something that can delayed. As per page 124 BRB you move a unit on when it arrives. If it arrives is determined by the roll. I dont see permission to delay the arriving unitl after other effects were resolved at all.

You are suggesting:

1. Roll for reserves
2. Roll for outflank
3. use other abilites at the start of your turn
4. bring on the units.

Wheres your permission to use abilites while doing reserves? The BrB tells us to bring units on when they arrive. Not wait until some other yadda is done. The faq allows me to do star of turn stuff (including reserves) in any order i wish to (while still of course having to resolve each of them completely before moving on to the next). This faq wouldnt have any effect if completing the reserves procedure would mark the end of the start of your movement.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/03/11 13:46:17


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




MarkyMark wrote:
Never said that nor implied it. As per the FAQ you will have to roll for your reserves and outflank and other psyhic powers, then bring the models on. Simple.

Simple and wrong, as the FAQ does NOT creat e abreak betewen rolling for which side Outflank occurs on and bringing the unit on to that side, tehn rolling next Outflank. It does exactly what it tells you, and no more - that all rolls for Reserves and Outflank are simultaneous.

You are literally making up rules if you add in a break.
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Nosferatu1001,
I have seen the logic behind their argument a few times before and while I do not agree with it I can see where it is coming from. The argument appears to be base all around the lack of a stated point in the time line when the unit in question 'arrives.' It is true that the rule doesn't inform us the unit 'arrives at the start of the turn' just that it 'arrives this turn.' They put forth that this creates a break in the time line and the rest of the rule can not continue until other rules resolve, because they have higher priority in the timeline. The problem is, as Mywik states, there is nothing in the rule that states the rest of the rule is occurring at a different point in the time-line aside from this 'suggestion.' It is far more likely that the rest of the rule triggers like normal because it is within the same body of text, unless something very specific over-writes it.

As for people whom hold the theory that they are seperate points in the time line I have a few questions:
When do these units come in from Reserves?
Page and paragraph number to inform me of the time line point I clearly over looked

Can I force my opponent to bring them in at the End of the Combat Phase?
That is still 'this turn' after all
Or is it the person whom is deploying choice when they arrive?
So that way I can just say I am deploying them immediately on the end of the roll, giving them the highest priority.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/03/11 15:42:28


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





MarkyMark wrote:
Never said that nor implied it. As per the FAQ you will have to roll for your reserves and outflank and other psyhic powers, then bring the models on. Simple.

Models move on when they arrive, per the Reserve rules. So waiting to move them on is breaking rules.
Don't break rules - follow them.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: