Switch Theme:

Enfeeble and smashing MC  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
The Hive Mind





danny1995 wrote:
It's cast in the assault phase, if you are affected by enfeeble the grey knight would be S3 before the power is cast. Then when the power is activated theircurrent profile strength of 3 is boosted to 4 until the end of the assault phase. My point that I'm covering is that unlike weapons that give bonuses, or furious charge, etc. the effects of the power are relevant outside of combat and therefore calculated before combat.

You're applying modifiers from 2 different powers to the model's profile. Cite permission without referencing Multiple Modifiers.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Furious Fire Dragon




I can't, you are correct, however the wording of rules makes it clear to me that enfeeble affects all uses of the strength, before it is input into any formula. Where as hammer hand is in combat and therefore must be used on determining the models striking strength as per BEDMAS (or whatever alternate national version of it you use). I will continue to play it this way, despite the fact that if it worked that enfeeble affected after smash I'd be at an advantage. I play eldar, if I'm worried about enfeeble on my monstrous creature I'll give him a big old sword and the strength effect is immediately irrelevant.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





danny1995 wrote:
I can't, you are correct, however the wording of rules makes it clear to me that enfeeble affects all uses of the strength, before it is input into any formula. Where as hammer hand is in combat and therefore must be used on determining the models striking strength as per BEDMAS (or whatever alternate national version of it you use). I will continue to play it this way, despite the fact that if it worked that enfeeble affected after smash I'd be at an advantage. I play eldar, if I'm worried about enfeeble on my monstrous creature I'll give him a big old sword and the strength effect is immediately irrelevant.

Right, so your method invents rules in favor of using ones in the rulebook.
I think we're done here then.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Furious Fire Dragon




I'm not sure where I'm inventing rules. The ones in the rule book to me apply to the affects of multiple modifiers caused on the same phase. This is especially true in this situation because HOW would be resolved at the models strength-1 which means his strength has already been calculated for that phase.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





danny1995 wrote:
I'm not sure where I'm inventing rules. The ones in the rule book to me apply to the affects of multiple modifiers caused on the same phase. This is especially true in this situation because HOW would be resolved at the models strength-1 which means his strength has already been calculated for that phase.

Because you yourself said, and I quote,
"I can't, you are correct"
When I asked you to cite permission to apply 2 modifiers from different powers without citing Multiple Modifiers. If you can't cite permission you're inventing rules.

And why is the calculation only per phase?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




danny1995 wrote:
I'm not sure where I'm inventing rules. The ones in the rule book to me apply to the affects of multiple modifiers caused on the same phase. This is especially true in this situation because HOW would be resolved at the models strength-1 which means his strength has already been calculated for that phase.


HOW is resolved at unmodified Strength.
   
Made in ca
Furious Fire Dragon




But HOW will be modified because Enfeeble reduces your models strength, no matter what.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





danny1995 wrote:
But HOW will be modified because Enfeeble reduces your models strength, no matter what.

False.
Enfeeble is a modification. Fact.
HoW is resolved with unmodified Strength. Fact.

Allowing Enfeeble to modify the STR HoW is resolved at is breaking a rule.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

danny1995 wrote:
But HOW will be modified because Enfeeble reduces your models strength, no matter what.

No it wont.

This is because HoW specifies the unmodified Str.

If the MC is enfeebled, its HoW attacks are still Str 6 even though its modified Str is 5 because of enfeeble. It says unmodified Str right in the enfeeble rules...

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

danny1995 wrote:
But HOW will be modified because Enfeeble reduces your models strength, no matter what.


And where does Enfeeble say it overrides the "unmodified Strength" of HOW?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

Bugs_N_Orks wrote:
Chrysis wrote:You can't cap the result until after you know what it is, which means after applying all the multipliers.

CrownAxe wrote:Not how it works. You don't cap it at 10 until you finished all modifiers so you double it first (so would go to S20) then subtract 1 (to 19) then i caps to 10

PrinceRaven wrote:It wouldn't, an Enfeeble'd Wraithknight would be Strength 19, capped at 10, when making Smash attacks.


Except that there is a cap built into the Smash rule, it's not just a flat x2 like with a power fist.

"A Smash Attack also doubles
the model's Strength (to a maximum
of 10) for the purposes of that Attack."

So throw in order of operations for multiple modifiers and for a S6 model it'd be:
6 x 2 (capped at 10 from the smash rule) = 10
10 - 1 = 9

So unless the MC has another source of bonus strength from their weapon/furious charge/whatever they'd max out at S9 Smashes if they're enfeebled. I'm not saying it makes sense, but according to the rules that's how it looks like it works to me.


According to page 2 set values occur last, so it would be strength 10 multiplied to 20 then you subtract to 19, then according to both the Smash rule and the modifiers rules you set it to 10.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





I think the confusion is coming from the "set value modifier". Capping the strength at 10 is not a set value modifier; it's a limit. A set value modifier is something like Lysander's hammer or a Tau Onager Gauntlet. You can double their strength, halve it, add 2, or subtract 3 and it will always be strength 10.

A limit (or "maximum" to use the BRB's language) is not applied last. It's taken into consideration when doubling or adding.
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

Do you have a quote that says that? Cause what I'm seeing is you do the calculation then if the result is 11+ it's set to 10 and if it's 0- it's set to 1. I don't see anything in the multiple modifiers rule that says you interrupt the calculation.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Siphen wrote:
I think the confusion is coming from the "set value modifier". Capping the strength at 10 is not a set value modifier; it's a limit. A set value modifier is something like Lysander's hammer or a Tau Onager Gauntlet. You can double their strength, halve it, add 2, or subtract 3 and it will always be strength 10.

A limit (or "maximum" to use the BRB's language) is not applied last. It's taken into consideration when doubling or adding.

Please show permission to cap mid calculation, when you are told to apply all multiple modifiers in a sequence with no gap to "cap" listed. Page and para.

   
Made in ca
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy





It's worth noting, since Hammerhand was mentioned, that it's +1S applies to the profile before the daemonhammer's 2X strength is applied resulting in a base S4 model hitting at S10 ((4+1)x2=10). Page 25 of the GK codex includes an explicit reminder.
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

Yes, Hammerhand is an exception to the multiple modifiers rule.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Siphen wrote:
I think the confusion is coming from the "set value modifier". Capping the strength at 10 is not a set value modifier; it's a limit. A set value modifier is something like Lysander's hammer or a Tau Onager Gauntlet. You can double their strength, halve it, add 2, or subtract 3 and it will always be strength 10.

A limit (or "maximum" to use the BRB's language) is not applied last. It's taken into consideration when doubling or adding.

How do you know you need to cap it at ten prior to the calculation being finished?
Do you round off during a calculation? Where I am from that is the last operator in the equation.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: