Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/14 00:44:39
Subject: Re:Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
GeneralCael wrote: Unit1126PLL wrote:GeneralCael wrote:By that logic, Preferred Enemy [ORK] would also grant you rerolls against any other opponent, because it DOES grant you rerolls sometimes (when you shoot at Orks), and you can also reroll your blasts with Hatred, because that rule also allows you a reroll sometimes...
I have no problems with this.
And that is honestly how you play you Hatred rule? I call BS!
I have not yet encountered this specific combination of rules in game, and if I do I will be sure to discuss it cordially with my opponent.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/14 01:04:44
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
GeneralCael:
It gets a little more broken when you look at the 'once per game' Rules which could grant a Re-Roll of any dice, or those which single out Re-Rolling any failed To Hit results. The few Rules are one per turn for a very good reason, they often can often be used on anything within the Army which meets the very short conditions within said Rule. Should those conditions never matter then these abilities will allow all Blast Makers in the Army to always re-roll scatter, even after the ability is used on some other Re-Roll as that would just be another condition being ignored.
All Blast Markers...
All the Time...
From one 'once per turn' re-roll Rule.....
|
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/14 03:16:25
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Oozing Plague Marine Terminator
|
VOTLW Chaos Marines just got cooler?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/14 05:28:44
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
JinxDragon wrote:GeneralCael:
It gets a little more broken when you look at the 'once per game' Rules which could grant a Re-Roll of any dice, or those which single out Re-Rolling any failed To Hit results. The few Rules are one per turn for a very good reason, they often can often be used on anything within the Army which meets the very short conditions within said Rule. Should those conditions never matter then these abilities will allow all Blast Makers in the Army to always re-roll scatter, even after the ability is used on some other Re-Roll as that would just be another condition being ignored.
All Blast Markers...
All the Time...
From one 'once per turn' re-roll Rule.....
The limited use re-rolls are a bit tricky but the final solution is right in the rule. It comes down to the 'ability to re-roll its rolls to-hit and chooses to do so' part. This is giving you the choice to re-roll To-Hit without ever having made a roll To-Hit! the only real solution is replacement of re-roll To-hit with re-roll of scatter but to do so you must still use up the re-roll To-Hit.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/14 23:52:02
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/16 05:12:04
Subject: Re:Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
GeneralCael wrote:By that logic, Preferred Enemy [ORK] would also grant you rerolls against any other opponent, because it DOES grant you rerolls sometimes (when you shoot at Orks), and you can also reroll your blasts with Hatred, because that rule also allows you a reroll sometimes...
If I'd have to go absolute anal about it, I would go about it the same way the "Gets Hot"-rule does it; by rolling a seperate dice, and allowing a reroll on a 1.
You may not choose to reroll your to-hit rolls against non-Ork units with PE: Orks or during shooting with Hatred.
"If a model has the abiliry to re-roll its rolls To Hit and chooses to do so after firing a Blast weapon, the player must reroll both the scatter dice and the 2D6."
JinxDragon wrote:GeneralCael:
It gets a little more broken when you look at the 'once per game' Rules which could grant a Re-Roll of any dice, or those which single out Re-Rolling any failed To Hit results. The few Rules are one per turn for a very good reason, they often can often be used on anything within the Army which meets the very short conditions within said Rule. Should those conditions never matter then these abilities will allow all Blast Makers in the Army to always re-roll scatter, even after the ability is used on some other Re-Roll as that would just be another condition being ignored.
All Blast Markers...
All the Time...
From one 'once per turn' re-roll Rule.....
You must choose to use the reroll to reroll blasts.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/16 15:17:43
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
PrinceRaven, However one can not make a choice with many Re-Roll abilities, most of them in fact, as they state you Must Re-Roll Failed results. This has led some people to read that part of the sentence as permission to ignore this Must, allowing the player to decide if they want the 'scattered' result or to roll again and try for a 'hit' result. This would leave the only requirement to look at as 'does the model have the ability to Re-Roll?' Many people are quite fond of pointing out that it doesn't matter what conditions might be within the Rule, only that it is present, to meet this condition. This creates all the strange situations that I was mentioning, and many more, and seems to be the core of all the questions related to re-rolling Blast Markers and Special Rule X. Personally I disagree, but seeing as I am on a third side of the debate both the 'main sides' seem quite willing to ignore the questions I raise: Such as why Twin Link would need it's own Rule to do the same thing if it would already meet the requirement within the Blast Marker rule itself? Could it be because the Must wouldn't give the player a choice?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/16 15:20:18
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/16 15:35:33
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
I can Appreciate your position, and would agree with it were it not for 1 thing: such a reading leads you to always re-roll the scatter dice, no matter whether it is a hit or arrow symbol(You can re-roll either with the choice reading, and applying a forced choice from the ability to the blast means you absolutely always re-roll, so you either roll the dice then snatch them up to reroll them again, or never reroll them the results of both rolling options being mathematically identical).
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/16 16:46:14
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Which is why I like the 'restriction & restriction' argument: It limits the list of Special Rule capable of triggering the Blast Marker's conditions to those which already allow the player a choice in the matter to begin with. This makes the Blast Maker Rule more unified, it isn't giving the player anything they wouldn't already have outside of Blast Markers. It does have a few problems, to be honest the whole Blast Marker re-rolling section is a problem, but with a much smaller list of Special Rules meeting the criteria it eliminates all the unusual situations we encounter.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/04/16 17:07:25
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/16 17:06:54
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
How many musts are there out there? The only one I can think of off hand, and it has specific rules regarding Blasts(Only on an arrow and choice is allowed)
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/16 17:13:56
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
The real question is how many Re-Roll Special Rules grant a choice to keep the failed results? The common way we see these Rules written is that the model Must Re-Roll the failed results, they have no freedom of choice in the matter. It was something I looked into when I was first presented the interpretation, because I honestly expected to find out that every Special Rule used the same terminology of 'Must Re-Roll.' Imagine my surprise when I learned this wasn't the case, though I do wish that I kept a better memory of the two or three Rules with 'May Re-Roll' in their instructions. The only one I remember off hand is prescience, and even that is vague and uncertain thanks to memory issues.... However, it also raise the following question again: Why would Twin-Link dedicate paragraphs to Re-Rolling Blast Markers if it is already covered under Blast Marker Rule itself?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/04/16 17:15:23
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/16 17:20:04
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Preferred enemy seems to be a simple: do.
Master crafted is an absolute choice.
I don't feel like digging through all the codices for other re-rolls to hit in shooting.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/17 01:31:37
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
Even if you "must" re-roll failed to hit rolls/rolls of 1/whatever, blast weapons do not roll to hit, so you cannot be forced to re-roll.
JinxDragon wrote:Why would Twin-Link dedicate paragraphs to Re-Rolling Blast Markers if it is already covered under Blast Marker Rule itself?
Because redundancy in the rules is one of GW's favourite things.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
|