Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/12 15:20:04
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Wiltshire
|
Ok I am *certain* this has been done before, but i couldn't find anything by searching at all.
My question is whether preferred enemy allows rerolls on blast weapons... BUT I'm not looking for the debate here, just wondering if anyone (one of our fascist overlords perhaps) could post a link to the old thread? Failing that, a summary of the two sides of the argument?
Sorry if this counts as duplicate thread or whatever (please don't Bane me!!!)
Thanks,
-TG
|
Note to the reader: my username is not arrogance. No, my name is taken from the most excellent of commanders: Lord Castellan Creed, of the Imperial Guar- I mean Astra Militarum - who has a special rule known only as "Tactical Genius"... Although nowhere near as awesome as before, it now allows some cool stuff for the Guar- Astra Militarum - player. FEAR ME AND MY TWO WARLORD TRAITS. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/12 15:55:06
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta
|
A: yes, but only against your preferred enemy
B: yes, against everyone. Where even the slightest hint of a possibility of a reroll let's you reroll all game long. Even if you only get the reroll once a game.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/12 15:58:11
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Wiltshire
|
No hint of bias there?  thanks, the help is appreciated.
|
Note to the reader: my username is not arrogance. No, my name is taken from the most excellent of commanders: Lord Castellan Creed, of the Imperial Guar- I mean Astra Militarum - who has a special rule known only as "Tactical Genius"... Although nowhere near as awesome as before, it now allows some cool stuff for the Guar- Astra Militarum - player. FEAR ME AND MY TWO WARLORD TRAITS. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/12 16:19:14
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It grants a Reroll to hit, so allows a Reroll to scatter with blast. This is only against your preferred enemy , as otherwise you don't have a Reroll to hit available to you.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/12 16:24:20
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Wiltshire
|
It's all coming back to me now  cheers guys
|
Note to the reader: my username is not arrogance. No, my name is taken from the most excellent of commanders: Lord Castellan Creed, of the Imperial Guar- I mean Astra Militarum - who has a special rule known only as "Tactical Genius"... Although nowhere near as awesome as before, it now allows some cool stuff for the Guar- Astra Militarum - player. FEAR ME AND MY TWO WARLORD TRAITS. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/12 20:35:14
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
And the flip side is that you cannot roll a 1 with a blast weapon therefore PE does not trigger.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/12 20:40:18
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Wiltshire
|
Here we go again...
|
Note to the reader: my username is not arrogance. No, my name is taken from the most excellent of commanders: Lord Castellan Creed, of the Imperial Guar- I mean Astra Militarum - who has a special rule known only as "Tactical Genius"... Although nowhere near as awesome as before, it now allows some cool stuff for the Guar- Astra Militarum - player. FEAR ME AND MY TWO WARLORD TRAITS. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/12 20:52:59
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta
|
Maybe not, Fragile is right, there was a 3rd group in that thread.
I apologize, I forgot about group 'C'
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/12 20:53:10
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/12 21:29:17
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Fragile wrote:And the flip side is that you cannot roll a 1 with a blast weapon therefore PE does not trigger.
Which if course means that no re-roll ability (other than Twin-Linked) allows Blasts to reroll.
It'd be nice if you'd list that out when you state your (unsupported by rules) view.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/12 21:50:44
Subject: Re:Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
Ok, lets get the relevant rules put out there real quick:
Preferred Enemy: A unit that contains at least one model with this special rule re-rolls failed To Hit and To Wound rolls of 1 if attacking its Preferred Enemy. This applies to both shooting and close combat attacks.
Blast Weapons and Re-rolls: If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit and chooses to do so after firing a Blast weapon, the player must re-roll both the scatter dice and the 2D6.
Therein lies the confusion. As you cannot roll a 1 To Hit with a blast weapon, do you never get to re-roll? Or does the fact that you have "the ability to re-roll [your] rolls To Hit" at all count as enough to qualify for blast re-rolls? The way I see it is that Preferred Enemy only gives you the ability to re-roll your roll To Hit if you rolled a 1 on the To Hit roll, which you never do, so blast weapons cant be re-rolled.
@rigeld2, any ability that allows you to re-roll a miss (as apposed to re-rolling when you get a specific number on a type of roll you don't make) would allow blasts to re-roll. For instance, the Tactical Doctrine of the Ultramarines would only allow tactical squads to re-roll blasts, not everyone.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/12 22:00:36
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Fragile wrote:And the flip side is that you cannot roll a 1 with a blast weapon therefore PE does not trigger.
Good job the actual written rules do not need you to roll a one, just have the ABILITY to Reroll your hits. Which you absolutely, undeniably and incontrovertibly DO with PE.
you lack any rules support for your position, at all, and as per the tenets of this forum mark your posts as such.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/12 22:00:46
Subject: Re:Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Leonus wrote:@rigeld2, any ability that allows you to re-roll a miss (as apposed to re-rolling when you get a specific number on a type of roll you don't make) would allow blasts to re-roll. For instance, the Tactical Doctrine of the Ultramarines would only allow tactical squads to re-roll blasts, not everyone.
Not quite, because you never "miss" with a blast.
You simple generate a number of hits between 0 and X (Where X is the maximum number of models can can physically fit under the marker).
0 Hits is not the same a miss. So re-rolling a miss would not trigger either.
There are conditions with all re-roll abilities. Rolls of a 1, rolling a miss etc.. non of these requirements can be made with a blast.
Only Twin-linked has a specific extra rule of re-rolling anything other than a "hit" symbol.
So he's quite right, only Twin-linked can ever work if apply conditions.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/12 22:34:36
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Which if course means that no re-roll ability (other than Twin-Linked) allows Blasts to reroll.
It'd be nice if you'd list that out when you state your (unsupported by rules) view.
Good job the actual written rules do not need you to roll a one, just have the ABILITY to Reroll your hits. Which you absolutely, undeniably and incontrovertibly DO with PE.
you lack any rules support for your position, at all, and as per the tenets of this forum mark your posts as such.
Good job for reading fail. Perhaps you should check the OP
Why are you debating when he asked for a summary of the positions. Which were posted in that long thread.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/12 22:40:39
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
We were pointing that one position has no basis in the rules, while the other does.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/12 22:43:24
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
So you were debating a point when the OP simply asked us not to and to give a summary of the issues. You would do better off finding a link for him.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/12 22:51:23
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Wiltshire
|
Feel free to debate now that my answer has been provided
|
Note to the reader: my username is not arrogance. No, my name is taken from the most excellent of commanders: Lord Castellan Creed, of the Imperial Guar- I mean Astra Militarum - who has a special rule known only as "Tactical Genius"... Although nowhere near as awesome as before, it now allows some cool stuff for the Guar- Astra Militarum - player. FEAR ME AND MY TWO WARLORD TRAITS. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/12 23:43:44
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Don't forget about side 4 in this matter: This side put forth the possibility that the sentence in question is not a restriction & permission, to do something otherwise outside of the normal, but two restrictions that further limit the number of Rules granting re-rolls to Blast Markers. This 'is it permission or restriction' part of the sentence is the good old 'and chooses to do so' section, which some have put forth is there to grant the player the ability to keep a scattered roll if they decide to do so. However, if read as a restriction, it would be more literal then that and make it so the player can only evoke it should they have the ability to keep the 'missed' results in the first place. When I first looked into that interpenetration I expected to find a grant total of zero Rules which could meet this criteria but I was surprised. There might not be that many, to be true, but the result was more then the zero I was expecting and which Special Rules met this requirement was also quite an eye opener. This interpretation has three very interesting points that I like to bring up whenever this is raised, just to get people thinking even though I know the set-in-stone posters are never listening: 1) The majority of Rules causing these sort of questions all contain wording that the roll must be re-rolled b) The list of Rules which grant a choice in the matter are all Rules no one would have a problem with, such as prescience #) Twin-Link contains permission to re-roll Blast Markers internal to that Rule, something it would only need if it could not evoke the more General Rule... such as if Twin-Links 'must' was preventing it from otherwise triggering
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/04/13 00:43:57
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/12 23:47:47
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Oozing Plague Marine Terminator
|
I think grendel083 has it.
A 2d6 scatter roll is not a To Hit roll, but a Scatter (pg. 6) so rolls of 1 don't count as a 1 to hit for Preferred Enemy. Only a Hit! counts as a hit. There just are no 1s.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/04/12 23:56:42
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/13 01:41:28
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Nightlord1987 wrote:I think grendel083 has it. A 2d6 scatter roll is not a To Hit roll, but a Scatter ( pg. 6) so rolls of 1 don't count as a 1 to hit for Preferred Enemy. Only a Hit! counts as a hit. There just are no 1s. You seemed to have missed Grendel's point. The strictest reading of the rules denies almost all forms of rerolling scatter. Now, not that I agree with the following, but I would like to point this out for nos: The ability to reroll the to-hits in PE is conditional on whether you have rolled a 1 or not, you only have the ability to re roll the to hit if the first roll was a 1. I still go with Camp A; you can re-scatter blasts(and thus re-attempt Gets hot that do not require a to hit), but only against your PE
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/13 01:41:55
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/13 06:05:10
Subject: Re:Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Leonus wrote:@rigeld2, any ability that allows you to re-roll a miss (as apposed to re-rolling when you get a specific number on a type of roll you don't make) would allow blasts to re-roll. For instance, the Tactical Doctrine of the Ultramarines would only allow tactical squads to re-roll blasts, not everyone.
You do realize that Blasts never roll To-Hit, right? Meaning the Tac Doctrine does nothing for blasts using your argument.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/13 06:33:23
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
Preferred Enemy gives the ability to reroll to hit, surely that fulfils the requirement of "the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit".
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/13 09:10:33
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
PrinceRaven wrote:Preferred Enemy gives the ability to reroll to hit, surely that fulfils the requirement of "the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit".
It does. Only those unable to read "the ability to Reroll" without replacing it with "is rerolling to hit" can think otherwise, really.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/13 09:19:27
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
Well, the thing is, you are only given the ability to re-roll when you roll a 1 on a To-Hit roll. Do you have the ability to re-roll if you rolled anything other a 1 on a To-Hit roll? No.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/13 10:29:12
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
You mean like how Twin-linked only lets you re-roll results of 1 and 2 for BS 4 models?
And yes you do have the ability, you just don't satisfy the condition to use it.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/13 10:37:04
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Leonus wrote:Well, the thing is, you are only given the ability to re-roll when you roll a 1 on a To-Hit roll. Do you have the ability to re-roll if you rolled anything other a 1 on a To-Hit roll? No.
You do not have the ability to re-roll if you miss with anything other than a 1, yes.
However:
Preferred enemy grants you the ability to re-roll your To-Hit rolls some of the time. <-- This sentence is true, and I do not think anyone can disagree with it.
In fact, "<insert rule here> grants you the ability to re-roll your To-Hit rolls some of the time" is true of every single case in which a To-Hit re-roll is permitted. After all, none of them ( iirc) grant permission to re-roll a hit.
So clearly one does not need the ability to re-roll all To-Hit rolls to re-roll blast markers, because such a rule does not exist in the game. Blast To-Hit rolls can be re-rolled even if only some of the possible results are the ones permitting re-rolling if the weapon was not blast. Automatically Appended Next Post: PrinceRaven wrote:You mean like how Twin-linked only lets you re-roll results of 1 and 2 for BS 4 models?
And yes you do have the ability, you just don't satisfy the condition to use it.
Well, you do satisfy the condition to use it with Blast Markers, because if you have even the slightest ability to re-roll, then you've satisfied the conditions allowing you to re-roll your scatter.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/13 10:38:29
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/13 12:39:30
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Leonus wrote:Well, the thing is, you are only given the ability to re-roll when you roll a 1 on a To-Hit roll. Do you have the ability to re-roll if you rolled anything other a 1 on a To-Hit roll? No.
Prescience allows you to reroll failed to hit rolls.
Your argument means that Prescience does not allow you to reroll scatter on Blasts.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/13 14:11:05
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Leonus wrote:Well, the thing is, you are only given the ability to re-roll when you roll a 1 on a To-Hit roll. Do you have the ability to re-roll if you rolled anything other a 1 on a To-Hit roll? No.
Incorrect, having the ability to Reroll is all that is needed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/14 00:22:01
Subject: Re:Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Sinister Chaos Marine
|
By that logic, Preferred Enemy [ORK] would also grant you rerolls against any other opponent, because it DOES grant you rerolls sometimes (when you shoot at Orks), and you can also reroll your blasts with Hatred, because that rule also allows you a reroll sometimes...
If I'd have to go absolute anal about it, I would go about it the same way the "Gets Hot"-rule does it; by rolling a seperate dice, and allowing a reroll on a 1.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/14 00:31:52
Subject: Re:Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
GeneralCael wrote:By that logic, Preferred Enemy [ORK] would also grant you rerolls against any other opponent, because it DOES grant you rerolls sometimes (when you shoot at Orks), and you can also reroll your blasts with Hatred, because that rule also allows you a reroll sometimes...
I have no problems with this.
GeneralCael wrote:If I'd have to go absolute anal about it, I would go about it the same way the "Gets Hot"-rule does it; by rolling a seperate dice, and allowing a reroll on a 1.
There is no basis in RAW for this.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/14 00:38:37
Subject: Re:Preferred Enemy & Blasts (again)
|
 |
Sinister Chaos Marine
|
Unit1126PLL wrote:GeneralCael wrote:By that logic, Preferred Enemy [ORK] would also grant you rerolls against any other opponent, because it DOES grant you rerolls sometimes (when you shoot at Orks), and you can also reroll your blasts with Hatred, because that rule also allows you a reroll sometimes...
I have no problems with this.
And that is honestly how you play you Hatred rule? I call BS!
|
|
 |
 |
|