Switch Theme:

1. Shooting around a corner and 2. having a posable model.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 LUTNIT wrote:
Naw wrote:
Does not the written rule say it is from the tip of the barrel?

The rule says "assume all hull-mounted weapons can swivel horizontally up to 45'."
It doesn't say if the 45' arc is taken from the end of the barrel or the base.
The diagram of a Leman Russ shows the 45' arc being taken from the base of the barrel (hull lascannon in this case). I believe the diagram in 5th was a vindicator with the arc taken from the tip. For some reason I thought the vindicator diagram was in the 6th ed rule book but it's from 5th.


The 5th ed book used a Vindicator for hull-mount. It also uses the base of the barrel, not the tip. 4th edition was a Basilisk, and also used the barrel base.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






 LUTNIT wrote:
Naw wrote:
Does not the written rule say it is from the tip of the barrel?

The rule says "assume all hull-mounted weapons can swivel horizontally up to 45'."
It doesn't say if the 45' arc is taken from the tip of the barrel or the base of the barrel.
The diagram of a Leman Russ shows the 45' arc being taken from the base of the barrel (hull lascannon in this case). I believe the diagram in 5th was a vindicator with the arc taken from the tip. For some reason I thought the vindicator diagram was in the 6th ed rule book but it's from 5th.


The Leman Russ isn't even a diagram of a hull mount that cannot move on its own, it is just a pretty picture. Although it does correctly illustrate close to the actual firing arc of the pose-able gun that happens to be at that location of that model.
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut





Ottawa, Canada

 Kommissar Kel wrote:
The Leman Russ isn't even a diagram of a hull mount that cannot move on its own, it is just a pretty picture. Although it does correctly illustrate close to the actual firing arc of the pose-able gun that happens to be at that location of that model.

Yeah, there is no diagram in the rule book to show a fixed hull weapon and how it's LoS is supposed to work. All we have is a line saying to assume it can see 45' horizontally. I would assume the base of the barrel and not the tip but there is nothing to support that now I guess.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: