Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 13:54:49
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
So then Logan does not benefit from the armor if he is hit on the non vehicle profile? ?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 13:57:19
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Kanluwen wrote:Terminator Armor is wargear. The effects of wargear only apply to the model wearing/utilizing said wargear unless otherwise specified.
And the chariot rules specify that they're treated as a single model. So if the wargear prevents the model from SA, and the chariot is the same model, the wargear prevents the chariot from doing a SA.
Cite rules that contradict that.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 14:04:31
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Ollanius Pius - Savior of the Emperor
Gathering the Informations.
|
Fragile wrote:So then Logan does not benefit from the armor if he is hit on the non vehicle profile? ?
Of course he benefits from the armor. If you're allocating wounds, wounds can be allocated directly to him.
The only reason this is an issue is because seemingly people want it to be one. Common sense dictates that one take these two points into account:
1) Is the Chariot able to Sweeping Advance? (Yes unless they are Stunned)
2) Does it specify in Logan Grimnar's special rules that Stormrider cannot make a Sweeping Advance? (Genuinely curious on that note) If it does not, then there is no reason to limit the Sweeping Advance. The Chariot is not the one wearing the Terminator Armor but rather Logan Grimnar is.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
rigeld2 wrote: Kanluwen wrote:Terminator Armor is wargear. The effects of wargear only apply to the model wearing/utilizing said wargear unless otherwise specified.
And the chariot rules specify that they're treated as a single model. So if the wargear prevents the model from SA, and the chariot is the same model, the wargear prevents the chariot from doing a SA.
Cite rules that contradict that.
Cite the rules that wargear effects apply to Chariots or transports as standard. Because there is a reason that the Kustom Force Field text reads the way it does.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/08/13 14:08:41
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 14:14:30
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Kanluwen wrote:rigeld2 wrote: Kanluwen wrote:Terminator Armor is wargear. The effects of wargear only apply to the model wearing/utilizing said wargear unless otherwise specified.
And the chariot rules specify that they're treated as a single model. So if the wargear prevents the model from SA, and the chariot is the same model, the wargear prevents the chariot from doing a SA.
Cite rules that contradict that.
Cite the rules that wargear effects apply to Chariots or transports as standard. Because there is a reason that the Kustom Force Field text reads the way it does.
Chariots are not transports, so the underlined doesn't apply.
I have cited rules. The chariot rules, specifically, when they say
However, a Chariot is always treated as a single model.
See the word "always"? Now, do me a favor and cite an actual rule that contradicts that - because you're attempting to treat them separately and I'd like to know why.
Stop trying to apply Transport rules to this situation - they don't apply. They're not the same. You're failing to understand how the rules work. Is there another way you'd like that phrased?
You bringing up the KFF is a perfect demonstration of your lack of understanding.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 14:18:05
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Kan - again, we have a single model here. One. Singular.
Is the model prohibited from making a sweeping advance? Yes, because the MODEL has a piece of wargear that styates it may not sweeping advance.
You lack *any* rules to back up why you are ignoring the plain written rule, to whit that the chariot is always treateed as a single model.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 14:25:12
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Ollanius Pius - Savior of the Emperor
Gathering the Informations.
|
rigeld2 wrote: Kanluwen wrote:rigeld2 wrote: Kanluwen wrote:Terminator Armor is wargear. The effects of wargear only apply to the model wearing/utilizing said wargear unless otherwise specified.
And the chariot rules specify that they're treated as a single model. So if the wargear prevents the model from SA, and the chariot is the same model, the wargear prevents the chariot from doing a SA.
Cite rules that contradict that.
Cite the rules that wargear effects apply to Chariots or transports as standard. Because there is a reason that the Kustom Force Field text reads the way it does.
Chariots are not transports, so the underlined doesn't apply.
I have cited rules. The chariot rules, specifically, when they say
However, a Chariot is always treated as a single model.
See the word "always"? Now, do me a favor and cite an actual rule that contradicts that - because you're attempting to treat them separately and I'd like to know why.
I'm using common sense.
I understand that is a rare and difficult thing to understand, but really. Try using it. Common sense dictates that while it is written as "treated as a single model", it also says that Chariots are themselves treated as Infantry and make Sweeping Advances.
So once again: Show me in Grimnar's profile where it explicitly states that Stormrider does not make Sweeping Advances.
Stop trying to apply Transport rules to this situation - they don't apply. They're not the same. You're failing to understand how the rules work. Is there another way you'd like that phrased?
You bringing up the KFF is a perfect demonstration of your lack of understanding.
I would suggest you tone down the "lack of understanding" seeing as how you completely missed the point.
I brought up the KFF because it explicitly states that the effect applies to the vehicle when the model utilizing the Wargear boards it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 14:26:50
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Kan - ah, so youre not actually arguing from a rules basis then?
Please mark your posts as "HYWPI", as per the tenets of this forum
Oh, and we dont have to show it to that specific level - we have a more specific rule, that a model with terminator armour cannot sweeping advance. YOU are required to show the specific permission that the chariot model CAN sweeping advance, despite hte model disallowing it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 14:29:39
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Ollanius Pius - Savior of the Emperor
Gathering the Informations.
|
Fair enough nosferatu. I don't generally go into "YMDC".
I just find this train of logic ridiculous, as it is the same that some local players have been trying to use to justify not giving Terminator models Invulnerable Saves against AP2 attacks--unless they have a Storm Shield.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 14:34:37
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Kanluwen wrote:Terminator Armor is wargear. The effects of wargear only apply to the model wearing/utilizing said wargear unless otherwise specified.
So, again, unless specifically stated in Grimnar's profile that "Stormrider cannot Sweeping Advance because of Grimnar being in Terminator Armor"--he can advance while riding the Chariot.
Exactly TDA prevents a MODEL from performing a sweep, a chariot and its rider are A MODEL. No sweeps.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 14:42:03
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Kanluwen wrote:Fair enough nosferatu. I don't generally go into " YMDC".
I just find this train of logic ridiculous, as it is the same that some local players have been trying to use to justify not giving Terminator models Invulnerable Saves against AP2 attacks--unless they have a Storm Shield.
Its not that odd a train of logic - youre told the TDA stops the model from making sweeping advances, and you are told to treat, at all times, the chariot and rider as one model. So the model has a restriction on sweeping, that you need to find a way around.
What argument are people making around termie saves??
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 14:43:09
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Sneaky Kommando
|
i would have let anyone sweep me with logans chariot! but raw specify that if a model with terminator armour joins a unit, he prevents the whole unit from running and sweeping. so that would go to the he cant argument, and even if you were looking at them as 2 separate models it would prevent the sweep. maybe the armour makes the chariot to heavy to be easily pulled by the wolves. i am not sure how it is intended to be played, how many other chariots are there with terminator armoured characters? or is this the first time?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/13 14:44:23
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 14:43:43
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Stop this. No, you're not. You're pretending that your "understanding" of the rules is somehow better than mine, and using "common sense" as some kind of defense that's impossible to tear down because it literally has no basis in rules.
Common sense dictates that while it is written as "treated as a single model", it also says that Chariots are themselves treated as Infantry and make Sweeping Advances.
So what does common sense say about a unit in a Land Raider arriving from Reserves - can they assault?
So once again: Show me in Grimnar's profile where it explicitly states that Stormrider does not make Sweeping Advances.
Irrelevant and unnecessary.
Stop trying to apply Transport rules to this situation - they don't apply. They're not the same. You're failing to understand how the rules work. Is there another way you'd like that phrased?
You bringing up the KFF is a perfect demonstration of your lack of understanding.
I would suggest you tone down the "lack of understanding" seeing as how you completely missed the point.
I brought up the KFF because it explicitly states that the effect applies to the vehicle when the model utilizing the Wargear boards it.
Sigh. I understand that's what the KFF does. It's not relevant because a) Chariots aren't transports b) it's an aura c) transports are not a member of the embarked unit, let alone the same model as.
You're continuing to compare a chariot to a transport - you shouldn't, as the rules make them distinct. Automatically Appended Next Post: Kanluwen wrote:Fair enough nosferatu. I don't generally go into " YMDC".
I just find this train of logic ridiculous, as it is the same that some local players have been trying to use to justify not giving Terminator models Invulnerable Saves against AP2 attacks--unless they have a Storm Shield.
... what? No... there's no train of logic that would make sense with.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/13 14:44:31
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 15:10:54
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Kanluwen wrote:Terminator Armor is wargear. The effects of wargear only apply to the model wearing/utilizing said wargear unless otherwise specified.
Precisely.
Logan on a Chariot is one model. Not Logan + Chariot = 2 models. They are one model for all rule purposes. Which includes wargear.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 15:22:10
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Sneaky Kommando
|
benefits of the wargear only apply to model wearing, but restrictions would apply to the whole unit, does not matter here because it is 1 model, but attach logan and his chariot to your thunderwolves and it would prevent them from sweeping
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 15:34:07
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
forgotten ghosts wrote:benefits of the wargear only apply to model wearing, but restrictions would apply to the whole unit, does not matter here because it is 1 model, but attach logan and his chariot to your thunderwolves and it would prevent them from sweeping
Yes, this also.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 15:35:08
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Kanluwen wrote:Terminator Armor is wargear. The effects of wargear only apply to the model wearing/utilizing said wargear unless otherwise specified.
As per the Chariot rules they are one model.
So the Chariot model does indeed have Terminator Armour. And as you said yourself (see underlined) the wargear effects the model.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 15:38:12
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Forgotten Ghosts, There are Rules preventing Logan joining other Units while on the Chariot. You are still correct in the core analysis, even if the Chariot and the Rider have permission to be treated a separate Models for Sweeping Advances the Restriction still applies as it is a 'all or nothing' Rule.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/13 15:41:27
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 15:55:26
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
I will say RAW would not let sweeping advance but......
Come on it says b/c terminator armor is slow and cumbersome they cannot preform a sweeping advance. Chariots are not slow and there for it should be ruled he can sweep. I mean seriously your saying a chariot can't a guy on foot?
The rules for terminator armor do include a why and in this case the why doesn't apply b/c of the chariot.
|
01001000 01101001 00100000 01110100 01101000 01100101 01110010 01100101 00101110 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 15:57:41
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Sneaky Kommando
|
don't have the book so didn't know logan couldn't join units good to know tho
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 15:59:44
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
A terminator is a whole ton heavier than a regular armor, so assuming that it would slow down the Chariot as well makes sense to me.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 16:05:50
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Grim Rune Priest in the Eye of the Storm
|
If he is just in his Terminator Armor He Can Join and be joined.
If he is riding his Chariot, He can not join, nor can he be joined.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2266/06/13 16:13:39
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Sneaky Kommando
|
good to know as well thanks, i actually have a bunch of unpainted space wolves that i have acquired over there years(including a logan model i did paint) and just added to with the storm claw box, so was thinking about getting there book to use as allies to my am, though all that is completely off topic
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 16:14:20
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Noise Marine Terminator with Sonic Blaster
|
Anpu42 wrote:
If he is just in his Terminator Armor He Can Join and be joined.
If he is riding his Chariot, He can not join, nor can he be joined.
I have only skimmed the codex a few times. I didn't see Logan as an option for being on foot. How is that happening?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 16:16:03
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Sneaky Kommando
|
i was actually wondering that as i don't believe the old model is for sale on the us website anymore
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 16:22:26
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Green is Best! wrote: Anpu42 wrote:If he is just in his Terminator Armor He Can Join and be joined.
If he is riding his Chariot, He can not join, nor can he be joined.
I have only skimmed the codex a few times. I didn't see Logan as an option for being on foot. How is that happening?
He's on foot by default. The Chariot is an upgrade.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 16:22:51
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Green is Best! wrote: Anpu42 wrote:
If he is just in his Terminator Armor He Can Join and be joined.
If he is riding his Chariot, He can not join, nor can he be joined.
I have only skimmed the codex a few times. I didn't see Logan as an option for being on foot. How is that happening?
Where it list Stormrider as an option.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 16:30:15
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Confident Goblin Boss
|
Green is Best! wrote: Anpu42 wrote:
If he is just in his Terminator Armor He Can Join and be joined.
If he is riding his Chariot, He can not join, nor can he be joined.
I have only skimmed the codex a few times. I didn't see Logan as an option for being on foot. How is that happening?
You buy him as a LOW at 250 points and take the option "Can ride Stormrider" for +70 points
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 16:42:36
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Kanluwen wrote:
I'm using common sense.
I understand that is a rare and difficult thing to understand, but really. Try using it. Common sense dictates that while it is written as "treated as a single model", it also says that Chariots are themselves treated as Infantry and make Sweeping Advances.
No, actually, you're not.
1. Terminator armour prevents a sweeping advance, unless otherwise stated.
2. the model is wearing terminator armour.
3. Chariots may sweep, but do NOT have a statement that says they ignore the terminator armour rule.
So without a specific statement saying that they ignore the terminator armour, he may not sweep.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 16:48:30
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Martial Arts Fiday
|
Can we add "appeals to 'common sense' automatically invalidate your argument'" to the YMDC rules?
|
"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"
-Nobody Ever
Proverbs 18:2
"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.
warboss wrote:
GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up. 
Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.
EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.
Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 17:11:29
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
SlaveToDorkness wrote:Can we add "appeals to 'common sense' automatically invalidate your argument'" to the YMDC rules?
And how do you judge what that is?
What sounds like common sense to one person, might not be the same as another person.
Maybe pulling 2 tons of Terminator is too much for Reindeer Thunderwolves pulling the Chariot? Thus the restriction is justified.
Maybe it will be FAQ'd? Maybe it's intentional?
|
|
 |
 |
|