Switch Theme:

Can IG/AM ignore a knight titan's shields with orders?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
The Hive Mind





 grendel083 wrote:
Starting the Shooting sequence by selecting a unit to shoot, isn't making a shooting attack. It will however lead to one.

Not true. Selecting a unit to shoot is step one of making a Shooting Attack. Use actual rules in your arguments please.

Now no rule says you MUST resolve the Order first. The sequence is players choice. But the shield must come before any attack in that phase.

No rule says that Orders must happen at the beginning of the Shooting Phase? Are you sure?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

rigeld2 wrote:
No rule says that Orders must happen at the beginning of the Shooting Phase? Are you sure?
That's not what I said, sorry if I wasn't clear.

Nothing requires you to resolve an Order first, as in before the shield. Previous quotes and comments have shown we are both aware that both happen at the start of the shooting phase.

Now, if you issue the Take Aim order before the shield, have you chosen a sequence of events that will involve making an Attack before positioning the shield?
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

1) When does Sequencing grant us permission to choose which Rule to Resolve?
2) Can Sequencing be used to resolve an Order which contains a Shooting Attack before the Shield?

Answer:
1) Only when the two Rules in question lack explicit instructions within their timings
2) No, the Shield Rule is more explicit in it's timing and therefore permission to resolve a shooting order has not been granted

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/12/19 17:22:26


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in au
Screaming Shining Spear





Western Australia

The word ANY is the key here

Regardless of how the attack is generated - its still an attack and this leads to - before ANY attacks...

so orders can come before the shield is declared but the second you move to the shooting sequence to complete the order it will trigger the ANY section of the shield and allow it to be positioned

For gaming, hobby and events in Perth, Western Australia - https://objectivesecured.com.au 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





West Chester, PA

What is the intent?

Did GW write the Guard codex so that the split fire order also allows them to ignore IK shields? Is that at all mentioned or hinted at? No.

This is hunting for gaps in the ruleset and is the worst kind of rules lawyering.

"Bringer of death, speak your name, For you are my life, and the foe's death." - Litany of the Lasgun

2500 points
1500 points
1250 points
1000 points 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

Not sure why this is being argued. As soon as a shooting attack is declared to be targeting a Knight, the Knight player can choose to reassign the Ion Shield to a new facing per the Knight's Ion Shield rule. Does the Take Aim order not generate a shooting attack on a declared target? If such target is an Imperial Knight, and it is the first shooting attack to target said Knight, then the Ion Shield rule is triggered.

What makes that unclear?

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





I agree with the shield goes first.

it has the wording any attack, not any attack during the shooting phase.

or at the beginning of the shooting phase, but any attack.

is it an attack?

then the knight can change the shield.

   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





rigeld2 wrote:
 grendel083 wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
So you never complete a shooting attack?

As in, a shoting attack has not come before the shields were repositioned?

Your own text belies that as being possible, as you have admitted the order contains a shooting attack.

Do I have permission to execute (and resolve) an Order before the shield is re-positioned? Yes or No?
As long as they don't involve any Attack, yes.

But the moment you preform an attack before the shield, you've broken a rule.

The Order is not a shooting attack. Agreed? Simple questions, you don't need to assume where I'm going with this.
Assuming you agree (which you should, because it's a fact), I begin resolving the Order. I roll (and pass) my Leadership test. I then look at the next step - I have to make a Shooting Attack.
Please quote the rule allowing you to interrupt my Order. I'll wait.

No one's willing to do this? I'm sad.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

The Order contains a Shooting Attack?
You say it yourself:
"I begin resolving the Order. I roll (and pass) my Leadership test. I then look at the next step - I have to make a Shooting Attack. "

If you know that, how can you decide to choose the Order before the shield?

Or as Jinx said:
2) Can Sequencing be used to resolve an Order which contains a Shooting Attack before the Shield?

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

rigeld2 wrote:
No one's willing to do this? I'm sad.
Why does it need to interrupt the order?

By resolving the order first, through player choice an attack has been made before the shield has been repositioned. A rule has been broken.
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Two Rules Grendel083,
It also breaks the Sequencing Rule itself, for we only have permission to make such a choice when the wording is not explicit as to which rule is resolved first.
Yes, the italic section was copy and pasted straight from Sequencing.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/12/19 19:48:13


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Indeed, the Shield must come before any order involving an Attack.
It's not a case of interrupting the Order, it must come before the Order.
   
Made in us
Omnipotent Necron Overlord






 TheSilo wrote:
What is the intent?

Did GW write the Guard codex so that the split fire order also allows them to ignore IK shields? Is that at all mentioned or hinted at? No.

This is hunting for gaps in the ruleset and is the worst kind of rules lawyering.

100% agreed. Can't stand arguing this kind of stuff.

If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: