Ghaz wrote:Except it doesn't tell us
why the model fights at Initiative 1.
Yes it does. They fight at initiative 1 because they are using an Unwieldy weapon.
Does it fight at Initiative 1 because it's Initiative has been changed?
No, because the rule doesn't say to change the model's initiative.
Without knowing that why we are simply deciding not to use the only rules provided that cover this situation without a clear answer that we should do so.
The rules you're trying to use
don't cover the situation.
You're trying to use rules for modifiers despite admitting that the Unwieldy rule doesn't say to modify the model's initiative.
There is simply no need to add in extra rules here. The model fights at Initiative 1 because the unwieldy rule says that they fight at initiative 1. The rules for modifiers are completely irrelevant.