Switch Theme:

New to Zombicide: rules query  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Unstoppable Bloodthirster of Khorne





Melbourne .au

So what about after the A series missions? We've been using a random draw from a pretty big selection of characters (only Dakota/Pam Anderson seems universally despised) but I'm thinking for the A series we'll make sure to use the named character (ie Doug's Dream) plus random draws for the rest.

They seem like perhaps the Dogs and Zombie Dogs might start better in Switch City? Or add them in on the A series? I'm also thinking of introducing the Companions in one mission, followed by the Zombie Dogs in the following mission.

   
Made in us
Been Around the Block






I think there is an online mission where you visit animal hospital in search of medical supplies and end up killing zombie dogs and rescue some dog companions. A themed introduction wouldn't hurt.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/03/12 08:43:25


 
   
Made in au
Unstoppable Bloodthirster of Khorne





Melbourne .au

Any idea which mission that is?

   
Made in us
Been Around the Block






I am pretty sure the mission is C44 "Walk In The Dog Park."

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/03/13 03:39:27


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Oxfordshire

I've been looking to get the Zombie Dogz as we've only got the prison set at the moment. Only thing is we can't find them anywhere - the whole internets seems to have sold out. Anyone know where to find the dogs?
   
Made in gb
Bounding Ultramarine Assault Trooper




jct25 M1 , derby

http://www.waylandgames.co.uk/zombicide/5490-zombicide-dog-companions

P&P is a little pricey for Uk postage


Automatically Appended Next Post:
http://www.levalet.com/en/zombicide-zombie-dogz.html

http://www.levalet.com/en/zombicide-dog-companions.html

based in canada

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/03/16 11:30:32


Massive ultramarines army
TOW Empire of Men
BloodBowl: Orcs, Humans Lizardmen, Goblins & Skaven
Zombicide
X wing 
   
Made in gb
Bounding Ultramarine Assault Trooper




jct25 M1 , derby

hi all

we had a game last night

have a couple of questions:

one of the guys drew WAKIZACHI (it said on the card with a KATANA add +2 dice)

1: if you draw a WAKIZACHI you automatically get the other out of the deck as its a duel weapon: Yes or No I would say yes

2: Does a matched set weapon take up 1 or 2 slots in your inventory?

3: WAKIZACHI is a duel weapon & the KATANA is not a duel weapon: The skills list said only cards with the matching symbols can be matched?

4: WAKIZACHI 1Dice +4 & the KATANA 2Dice +4 : When put together is this 4Dice +4 or 5Dice +4 ?


Massive ultramarines army
TOW Empire of Men
BloodBowl: Orcs, Humans Lizardmen, Goblins & Skaven
Zombicide
X wing 
   
Made in au
Unstoppable Bloodthirster of Khorne





Melbourne .au

Not sure about the Wakizashi/Katana combo (haven't started the expansions yet) but matched sets take up 2 slots - you can just use them both at once (if they're in your two "hands" slots. Unless of course you also have Webbing.

   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Los Angeles, CA, USA

1. The answer is NO. You don't get to search the deck for the matching weapon if you draw a dual weapon. It just means you can use them both at the same time.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Oxfordshire

 rockgod2304 wrote:
1: if you draw a WAKIZACHI you automatically get the other out of the deck as its a duel weapon: Yes or No I would say yes?
No, just like all equipment, you have to search for it and find it before you can use it.

 rockgod2304 wrote:
2: Does a matched set weapon take up 1 or 2 slots in your inventory?
2, and they must be equipped for you to use them. Only items that you combine (like the rifle and scope) take up one slot.

 rockgod2304 wrote:
3: WAKIZACHI is a duel weapon & the KATANA is not a duel weapon: The skills list said only cards with the matching symbols can be matched?
Yep, but you aren't matching the wakizashi and katana. You are using the katana as the weapon and using the special rule of the wakizashi to give the katana a bonus.

 rockgod2304 wrote:
4: WAKIZACHI 1Dice +4 & the KATANA 2Dice +4 : When put together is this 4Dice +4 or 5Dice +4 ?
Wakizashi adds two dice to the katana, so it's two dice from the katana, plus two from the wakizashi special rule = 4 dice at +4.

If you want to get pretty cheeky at it though, you can give Kim the Katana and the Webbing skill. Then give her as many wakizashi as you can find. Just using the season 2 Prison box, we once loaded her up with a katana, 2 wakizashi and 2 riot shields. That's 6 dice on 4+, and you can re-roll the lot because she's lucky. And she can take 4 hits before she's wounded. Any time we saw a swarm of the lower guys coming we threw her at them.


Oh, I've sent an e-mail to Wayland to see if they've got the Zombie Dogz in stock, but the FLGS in Reading yesterday said their suppliers didn't have any in stock, so there's probably none in the country at the mo.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/03/17 20:03:50


 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block






 rockgod2304 wrote:
hi all

4: WAKIZACHI 1Dice +4 & the KATANA 2Dice +4 : When put together is this 4Dice +4 or 5Dice +4 ?



We play it as 5 total dice. The Katana is 2 dice, the Wakizachi is 1 dice, the Wakizachi bonus is 2 additional dice for a total of five dice.

Our reasoning is that the Wakizachi has the duel weapon symbol so it can be used at the same time as the Katana, hence 5 dice.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Oxfordshire

They have to be identical weapons with the dual symbol to use them both at the same time, so it's only 4.

If you had two wakizashi you could dual wield them, but not a katana and wakizashi.
   
Made in gb
Bounding Ultramarine Assault Trooper




jct25 M1 , derby

rockgod2304 wrote:
1: if you draw a WAKIZACHI you automatically get the other out of the deck as its a duel weapon: Yes or No I would say yes?

No, just like all equipment, you have to search for it and find it before you can use it.



that's what I thought & that's how we always played matching set skill
but
after having trouble with the WAKIZACHI/KATAN combo we read the rule in full.

p19 Zombicide rule book Matching set :When a survivor performs a search action & draws a weapon card with the duel weapon symbol, he can immediately take a second card of the same type from the equipment deck. shuffle the deck afterwards

http://zombicide.com/dl/zombicide_rulebook.pdf


Automatically Appended Next Post:
We play it as 5 total dice. The Katana is 2 dice, the Wakizachi is 1 dice, the Wakizachi bonus is 2 additional dice for a total of five dice.

Our reasoning is that the Wakizachi has the duel weapon symbol so it can be used at the same time as the Katana, hence 5 dice.



They have to be identical weapons with the dual symbol to use them both at the same time, so it's only 4.


we came up with both of these answers. to stop us getting bogged down in a rules argument we simply rolled a d6 1,2,3 = 4Dice or 4,5,6 = 5dice

next time we'll go with the majority of this forum

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/03/18 13:12:46


Massive ultramarines army
TOW Empire of Men
BloodBowl: Orcs, Humans Lizardmen, Goblins & Skaven
Zombicide
X wing 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Oxfordshire

 rockgod2304 wrote:
p19 Zombicide rule book Matching set :When a survivor performs a search action & draws a weapon card with the duel weapon symbol, he can immediately take a second card of the same type from the equipment deck. shuffle the deck afterwards

I've never looked at that as I've only got Prison, so don't have any survivors with that skill. It seems a bit of a rubbish skill and doesn't help us with what we're talking about as only the wakizashi has the dual symbol, the katana doesn't.

Whilst people are here I'd like to ask something.
For those with more than a single core game (so you've either got season 1 and 2 core games, or the Mall expansion) what are you doing with the equipment and zombie cards? Are you mixing them all together? If so how much does that change the rate of zombies turning up? I'm used to the berserker (brown) zombies turning up quite often and I don't want to dilute that too much by adding the normal zombie cards from season 1.
   
Made in au
Unstoppable Bloodthirster of Khorne





Melbourne .au

 rockgod2304 wrote:

1: if you draw a WAKIZACHI you automatically get the other out of the deck as its a duel weapon: Yes or No I would say yes?
....
that's what I thought & that's how we always played matching set skill
but
after having trouble with the WAKIZACHI/KATAN combo we read the rule in full.

p19 Zombicide rule book Matching set :When a survivor performs a search action & draws a weapon card with the duel weapon symbol, he can immediately take a second card of the same type from the equipment deck. shuffle the deck afterwards

http://zombicide.com/dl/zombicide_rulebook.pdf


That's a character skill. A specific skill. It doesn't mean that anyone without that specific skill can do it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/03/22 04:25:02


   
Made in gb
Roarin' Runtherd





Nottingham

Yeah matching set is a skill, I think it's Doug that has it in the base game.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Henry wrote:


Whilst people are here I'd like to ask something.
For those with more than a single core game (so you've either got season 1 and 2 core games, or the Mall expansion) what are you doing with the equipment and zombie cards? Are you mixing them all together? If so how much does that change the rate of zombies turning up? I'm used to the berserker (brown) zombies turning up quite often and I don't want to dilute that too much by adding the normal zombie cards from season 1.

I've played a few games with everything thrown together and to be honest it depends on what type of game you want. There's no rules that I know of that state you have to use all the cards out of each set you own. In fact, it's kind of insinuated that you can pick and choose which zombie activation cards you use with the first "walk of the dead" set you can buy, they include the "Walking Dead" set of cards and it says you can use these if you want to play a Romero style shambling hordes game, I'm guessing it cuts down or eliminates the amount of runners and fatties that turn up. I don't know if this was answered earlier but the walk of the dead set one has the zombie sculpts out of Season 1 so if you have Prison Outbreak they are different sculpts to those.
Also mixing up the equipment decks can make some missions harder - there's less chance of finding food in the ones that need that for example.
Having said that I read somewhere that season three might have some rules in it for custom decks - stuff like removing the food in missions that don't use it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/03/25 13:35:54


 
   
Made in gb
Bounding Ultramarine Assault Trooper




jct25 M1 , derby

I've got Zombicide , toxic mall & prison outbreak

I'm playing through the Zombicide rule book mission at the moment (nearly finished)

I've put all the equipment cards together with all the ultra weapons as well

I like the idea of loads of weapons & loads of other stuff like food. In real life you cant find what your looking for most of the time.

You cant pick & choose when to have the food in & out of the deck. I think its great that you really need a weapon to butcher the countless undead hoards, you search & find a bag of rice.

When do you add the extra zombie cards? only on the expansion missions or in every mission?

.

Massive ultramarines army
TOW Empire of Men
BloodBowl: Orcs, Humans Lizardmen, Goblins & Skaven
Zombicide
X wing 
   
Made in us
Gargantuan Gargant





New Bedford, MA USA

The gear and zombie decks are up to you to customize as you like. Some scenarios require specific cards, most do not.


   
Made in us
Been Around the Block






 rockgod2304 wrote:


When do you add the extra zombie cards? only on the expansion missions or in every mission?

.


I've got all of them mixed together for all the missions. It makes for interesting challenges when the hordes contain multiple zombie types. The only time I've taken the deck apart was for a mission that required only toxic draws from one spawn point.
   
Made in us
Sniping Reverend Moira





Cincinnati, Ohio

 Fireflyjmh wrote:
 rockgod2304 wrote:


When do you add the extra zombie cards? only on the expansion missions or in every mission?

.


I've got all of them mixed together for all the missions. It makes for interesting challenges when the hordes contain multiple zombie types. The only time I've taken the deck apart was for a mission that required only toxic draws from one spawn point.


That's the way we play it as well. Though, I am, at present, keeping rue morgue and angry neighbors separate.

 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block






I added the Rue Morgue stuff, it's good to have in there. As the other decks do, it adds an interesting dynamic when you're assigning hits so as to avoid making crawlers.

My one complaint is that I wish there were more "beds" on the tiles so that the "bed spawn" was not as much of a dud as it seems to be. Kind of like a sewer spawn in the prison.
   
Made in gb
Bounding Ultramarine Assault Trooper




jct25 M1 , derby

1 quick question

when you die & turn

you flip the card over.

1: loose all the equipment cards?
yes / no

2: if your in yellow for kills does it still get 4 action? yes / no

3: you have to sustain 2 wounds to die, so when you flip the character card over :

do you keep the 2 wounds & then only need to cause 3 wounds to kill?
or
do you clear all wounds away & then only need to cause 5 wounds to kill?




Massive ultramarines army
TOW Empire of Men
BloodBowl: Orcs, Humans Lizardmen, Goblins & Skaven
Zombicide
X wing 
   
Made in gb
Painting Within the Lines





 rockgod2304 wrote:
1 quick question

when you die & turn

you flip the card over.

1: loose all the equipment cards?
yes / no

2: if your in yellow for kills does it still get 4 action? yes / no

3: you have to sustain 2 wounds to die, so when you flip the character card over :

do you keep the 2 wounds & then only need to cause 3 wounds to kill?
or
do you clear all wounds away & then only need to cause 5 wounds to kill?


1. No. Lose only those cards that you had to discard for the 2 wounds that killed you. Keep any spare stuff you were carrying (you'll probably need it).

2. Yes. Zombivors start with the same XP that the survivor had when they died so when you come back you'd come back in yellow with the yellow bonus action.

3. Once dead discard the 2 wound cards. Zombivors need 5 more wounds to kill them.

Remember that you have to declare you are reviving at the start of a turn before the first player has started their actions so you may have to wait a few turns while the other survivors lure the zeds away from your mangled corpse so it is safe to get back up.

Those who live by the sword get shot by those who don't 
   
Made in gb
Bounding Ultramarine Assault Trooper




jct25 M1 , derby

When you get back up

do you fight for the zombies or the survivors?

if im not being thick you fight for the zombies as your a zombivor


Massive ultramarines army
TOW Empire of Men
BloodBowl: Orcs, Humans Lizardmen, Goblins & Skaven
Zombicide
X wing 
   
Made in au
Unstoppable Bloodthirster of Khorne





Melbourne .au

No, you're still a survivor then. PVP comes in with later S3 expansions.

   
Made in gb
Bounding Ultramarine Assault Trooper




jct25 M1 , derby

hi everyone

weve now moved on to TOXIC MALL

only question that has come up so far is...

Toxic zombies: When you run over a toxic zombie with a car does the person(s) in the car get the wound?
we played that if you finish in the same square as the toxic zombies you run over you take the wound for that move, if you drive through them into an empty square you don't.

is this correct? other wise its a waist of time running zombies over, its to deadly

Massive ultramarines army
TOW Empire of Men
BloodBowl: Orcs, Humans Lizardmen, Goblins & Skaven
Zombicide
X wing 
   
Made in gb
Painting Within the Lines





 rockgod2304 wrote:
hi everyone

weve now moved on to TOXIC MALL

only question that has come up so far is...

Toxic zombies: When you run over a toxic zombie with a car does the person(s) in the car get the wound?
we played that if you finish in the same square as the toxic zombies you run over you take the wound for that move, if you drive through them into an empty square you don't.

is this correct? other wise its a waist of time running zombies over, its to deadly


This is an easy one

No. See TCM rulebook page 6. Killing toxic zombies with a car attack does not cause toxic blood spray at all.

Those who live by the sword get shot by those who don't 
   
Made in gb
Bounding Ultramarine Assault Trooper




jct25 M1 , derby

Lucky
the survivor can re-roll once all the dice of each action he takes. The new result takes the place of the previous one. This skill stacks with the effects of other skill(1 re-roll per turn, for example) & equipment that allows re-rolls.


(1st action) so you can fire a sawed off with plenty of ammo (miss) re-roll with PoA (miss again) then re-roll with lucky ---- (2nd action) reload ---- (3rd action) so you can fire a sawed off with plenty of ammo (miss) re-roll with PoA (miss again) then re-roll with lucky

or

only 1 re-roll with lucky once per go ?


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Reaper combat
Use this skill when assigning hits while resolving a combataction. One of these hits can freely kill an additional identical zombie in the same zone. Only a single addition zombie can be kill per action when using this skill.

in other words as long as you hit at lease 1 walker you get a free kill (as long as its a walker) per turn?

Massive ultramarines army
TOW Empire of Men
BloodBowl: Orcs, Humans Lizardmen, Goblins & Skaven
Zombicide
X wing 
   
Made in us
Is 'Eavy Metal Calling?





Affton, MO. USA

At rockgod, I'm new to Zombicide, just played our first games (me and my kids).

I think you get to use the refill each time you fire with lucky.

With reaper it should be a free kill against the same type of zombie. If a square has one walker and two runners and you kill the walker, you don't get any other kills as there's no other walkers, but if you did two wounds the first would kill the walker the second would kill a runner and then get you an extra kill on the second runner.

Hope that's correct.

I have a question about cars.
If I have a survivor in a car and try to run over some zombies but kill them all and stop in the same spot can the zombies attack me? Or do they need to move into the car? If the car is full of survivors and no space for zombies what happens when someone searches and gets an ARRRGHH? Can you shoot out of a car? Sorry I only have the main box and didn't see the answers.

Thanks

LOL, Theo your mind is an amazing place, never change.-camkierhi 9/19/13
I cant believe theo is right.. damn. -comradepanda 9/26/13
None of the strange ideas we had about you involved your sexual orientation..........-Monkeytroll 12/10/13

I'd put you on ignore for that comment, if I could...Alpharius 2/11/14 
   
Made in gb
Painting Within the Lines





 Theophony wrote:

I have a question about cars.
If I have a survivor in a car and try to run over some zombies but kill them all and stop in the same spot can the zombies attack me?

Assuming you meant you don't kill them all, yes they will attack you. The car doesn't affect combat at all. As far as the zombies are concerned you're just tinned food.
 Theophony wrote:
Or do they need to move into the car?

Zombies can't get into cars. They can eat you through the windows though.
 Theophony wrote:
If the car is full of survivors and no space for zombies what happens when someone searches and gets an ARRRGHH?

The zombie you found in the glovebox tries to bite your face off. Then it crawls out of the glovebox and follows you around if you don't kill it.
 Theophony wrote:
Can you shoot out of a car? Sorry I only have the main box and didn't see the answers.

Yes you can shoot out of cars. But cars don't affect target priority so if you are in the back of a car and you try to shoot out at a zombie in the same zone as you, you will hit the driver in the back of the head.

You're welcome.

Those who live by the sword get shot by those who don't 
   
 
Forum Index » Board Games, Roleplaying Games & Card Games
Go to: