Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 16:36:01
Subject: Can the Nightbringer use Gaze while in CC?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
Netherlands
|
"In its Shooting phase, in addition to using Powers of the C’tan, this model can target one.."
So I think he can Run and then use Gaze.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/02 16:36:56
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 16:37:04
Subject: Can the Nightbringer use Gaze while in CC?
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
In addition to
|
ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.
You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 16:41:25
Subject: Can the Nightbringer use Gaze while in CC?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Yeah... my reading of "In addition to" means that if you aren't choosing to use the Powers of the C'Tan (ie. shooting) then you don't get to Gaze.
So, no Gaze on the run.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 16:42:15
Subject: Can the Nightbringer use Gaze while in CC?
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
Sooo, he can't use gaze unless he already used a C'tan power also? If "In addition to" means "as well as", you can only use the Gaze "in addition to" the C'tan powers, then you have to use them both or none. If "in addition to" means "as well as having the option to", then you can use them independently of each other.
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2015/02/02 17:00:59
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 16:49:07
Subject: Can the Nightbringer use Gaze while in CC?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Yeah... I see both ways of looking at it now. Sent in a FAQ request.
Also, can the C'Tan use the "Powers of the C'Tan" in overwatch? What if you get the effects that are blasts... do you just ignore them?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 16:49:44
Subject: Can the Nightbringer use Gaze while in CC?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
Netherlands
|
I see it more as:
1. Can use Powers of the C'tan
In addition:
2. Can use Gaze of Death.
I don't read it as 'you must use the Powers if you want to Gaze'.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 16:58:46
Subject: Can the Nightbringer use Gaze while in CC?
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
Anpu-adom wrote:Also, can the C'Tan use the "Powers of the C'Tan" in overwatch? ?
Necron Codex wrote:Models armed with Powers of the C’tan can use them as a ranged weapon in the
Shooting phase of their own turn. They cannot use them to fire Overwatch.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 18:44:53
Subject: Can the Nightbringer use Gaze while in CC?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Thanks... like I said, I don't have my codex with me.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/03 13:37:13
Subject: Can the Nightbringer use Gaze while in CC?
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
I'm not even sure if 'In addition' is commonly used that way, but if not it begs the question why is 'Powers of the C’tan' mentioned in that rule at all. It's redundant words......
'In the Shooting phase, this model can target one'
GW why you write so bad ; -;
|
It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.
Tactical objectives are fantastic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/03 15:29:39
Subject: Can the Nightbringer use Gaze while in CC?
|
 |
Proud Triarch Praetorian
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/04 03:45:08
Subject: Can the Nightbringer use Gaze while in CC?
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
Nem wrote:I'm not even sure if 'In addition' is commonly used that way, but if not it begs the question why is 'Powers of the C’tan' mentioned in that rule at all. It's redundant words......
'In the Shooting phase, this model can target one'
GW why you write so bad ; -;
Here's my guess after taking some time to think on it. Power of the C'tan is a shooting attack that you can use once a shooting phase (different thread on that point) and Gaze of Death is supposed to a 2nd shooting attack that can be made cause of MC rules. Problem is that Gaze is not listed or expressed as any kind of shooting attack.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/04 05:30:05
Subject: Re:Can the Nightbringer use Gaze while in CC?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Hello,
I have a little asks about the conclave of the burning one in a Mephrit Dynasty cohort,
- if i am right when you take the cryptek in this formation you use your both HQ choises for the cryptek and one has to be your general.
- Is it a way not to use you both HQ choises in this cohort and if used in a necron decurion detachment could they use artifacts from mephrit Dynasty cohort.
- if you can use a Transcendant C'tan (i mean if the other allow it) could the unit deep strike from T C'tan rules?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/04 05:31:03
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/04 07:57:21
Subject: Re:Can the Nightbringer use Gaze while in CC?
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
taetrius67 wrote:Hello,
I have a little asks about the conclave of the burning one in a Mephrit Dynasty cohort,
- if i am right when you take the cryptek in this formation you use your both HQ choises for the cryptek and one has to be your general.
- Is it a way not to use you both HQ choises in this cohort and if used in a necron decurion detachment could they use artifacts from mephrit Dynasty cohort.
- if you can use a Transcendant C'tan (i mean if the other allow it) could the unit deep strike from T C'tan rules?
1. This is a different detachment from the Cohort and the Crypteks and C'tan do not take up slots. They take up the formation requirements.
2. The Conclave is not part of the Decurion and gains none of the special rules, but can use the Mephrit relics as it is a Mephrit detachment.
3. Currently you cannot use the Transcendent C'tan since he isn't a C'tan Shard. That may change in time.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/04 07:58:42
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/04 17:41:37
Subject: Can the Nightbringer use Gaze while in CC?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
My thoughts about the use of Gaze:
"in addition to" does not specify any kind of order it just says "if you can do the one you can do the other". So you only can use Gaze if you could or did use the Powers. And as they are stated as beeing shooting attacks you cant use Gaze while in close combat. BUT you can use Gaze against units in close combat since it is a arcan sort of power which has no additional rules and we cant use any kind of weapon rules because it has no profile. This works as well with invisibility and with FMC.
Does everybody agree for this to be consensus?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/04 17:47:20
Subject: Can the Nightbringer use Gaze while in CC?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
If it walks like a duck and talks like a duck it must be a duck.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/04 18:05:13
Subject: Can the Nightbringer use Gaze while in CC?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Or it is a confused goose.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/04 18:39:43
Subject: Can the Nightbringer use Gaze while in CC?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Sorry but how You know the conclave don t use slot if You take the mephrit cohort?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/04 20:48:07
Subject: Can the Nightbringer use Gaze while in CC?
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
|
taetrius67 wrote:Sorry but how You know the conclave don t use slot if You take the mephrit cohort?
Because the Conclave is a Formation. Formations are separate detachments all by themselves as per the BRB. They can't take up a slot, because FOC slots are a part of a detachment, while a formation is a detachment all by itself.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/04 23:32:59
Subject: Can the Nightbringer use Gaze while in CC?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
taetrius67 wrote:Sorry but how You know the conclave don t use slot if You take the mephrit cohort?
I recomend you reread the BRB part dealing with formations: its under "Preparing for Battle -> Choosing your Army"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/10 05:20:58
Subject: Re:Can the Nightbringer use Gaze while in CC?
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
So, did this question ever get answered? Does the Nightbringers Gaze of Death count as a shooting attack (limiting it to not be useable in melee and against targets in melee)?
And since no one has quoted the rule directly, here it is:
Gaze of Death:
In its Shooting phase, in addition to using Powers of the C’tan, this model can target one non-vehicle enemy unit within 12" to which it has line of sight. The unit suffers a number of Wounds equal to 3D6 minus its Leadership, resolved at AP2 and with the Ignores Cover special rule. If at least one unsaved Wound is inflicted, the C’tan Shard of the Nightbringer immediately regains one Wound lost earlier in the battle.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/10 06:03:07
Subject: Re:Can the Nightbringer use Gaze while in CC?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Mulletdude wrote:So, did this question ever get answered? Does the Nightbringers Gaze of Death count as a shooting attack (limiting it to not be useable in melee and against targets in melee)?
And since no one has quoted the rule directly, here it is:
Gaze of Death:
In its Shooting phase, in addition to using Powers of the C’tan, this model can target one non-vehicle enemy unit within 12" to which it has line of sight. The unit suffers a number of Wounds equal to 3D6 minus its Leadership, resolved at AP2 and with the Ignores Cover special rule. If at least one unsaved Wound is inflicted, the C’tan Shard of the Nightbringer immediately regains one Wound lost earlier in the battle.
It is not a shooting attack. By rule, according to the Weapons section of the BRB, under the sub heading Type.
"A shooting weapon always has one of the following types: Assault, Bomb, ....."
Gaze of Death does not have a "Type"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/10 06:17:04
Subject: Can the Nightbringer use Gaze while in CC?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Yeah, this ability is pretty awesome. Shoot at something with Powers of the C'tan, then choose another target unit whose soul shall be consumed.
|
40k:
8th Edtion: 9405 pts - Varantekh Dynasty |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/10 06:32:03
Subject: Can the Nightbringer use Gaze while in CC?
|
 |
Space Marine Scout with Sniper Rifle
|
Anpu-adom wrote:
THAT is a good question.
I don't have my codex at work so I don't have the rule in front of me.
I think that it says 'during' the shooting phase... which would imply that you could run.
It might say, "in addition to .... shooting attack"... which I would read that you can only use Gaze if you choose to do a shooting attack.
Dang... really wish I had my codex.
the quote from the 'dex is "In the shooting phase, in addition to using Powers of the C'tan, this model can". However, I don't think that means you have to shoot as well, it's just specifying that you can do both if you wish.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/10 06:50:42
Subject: Can the Nightbringer use Gaze while in CC?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
lycio wrote: Anpu-adom wrote:
THAT is a good question.
I don't have my codex at work so I don't have the rule in front of me.
I think that it says 'during' the shooting phase... which would imply that you could run.
It might say, "in addition to .... shooting attack"... which I would read that you can only use Gaze if you choose to do a shooting attack.
Dang... really wish I had my codex.
the quote from the 'dex is "In the shooting phase, in addition to using Powers of the C'tan, this model can". However, I don't think that means you have to shoot as well, it's just specifying that you can do both if you wish.
Yea. It's important not to read into rules. If something is going to be restrictive it will be clearly restrictive and not rely on stretched readings of 'in addition to . . '
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/12 00:56:47
Subject: Can the Nightbringer use Gaze while in CC?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
Can you use it on FMCs then like Flyrants?
|
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/12 01:01:36
Subject: Can the Nightbringer use Gaze while in CC?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
RAW, yes. It's the same as targetting a FMC with Enfeeble or a power of the like.
|
40k:
8th Edtion: 9405 pts - Varantekh Dynasty |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/12 01:07:48
Subject: Can the Nightbringer use Gaze while in CC?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
Oh well that's some flying defense and board control against Flyrants, I'd have to check the odds but I think it's a 10% chance for a 14+ on 3d6, I know 10 is a 50% chance.
Definitely going to use that unit to throw at Flyrants agaisnt my friend.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/12 01:08:18
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/12 01:11:05
Subject: Can the Nightbringer use Gaze while in CC?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Hollismason wrote:Oh well that's some flying defense and board control against Flyrants, I'd have to check the odds but I think it's a 10% chance for a 14+ on 3d6, I know 10 is a 50% chance.
Definitely going to use that unit to throw at Flyrants agaisnt my friend.
I mean, yeah. Throw in the Doom Scythe formation, a LD 9 Hive Tyrant with no invuln? Yeah, it will probably die quickly to a Nightbringer.
|
40k:
8th Edtion: 9405 pts - Varantekh Dynasty |
|
 |
 |
|