Switch Theme:

New Space Marine Chapter Tactics Restrictions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sadistic Inquisitorial Excruciator





I'm halfway tempted to add a Sang Priest to 3 Iron Hands TFCs standing in bolstered ruins. Only downside is the guns don't get the 4+++, but still T7 2+/3+/4+++ would be fun for the enemy to remove.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Is there something that prevents the artillery guns from gaining fnp?

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
Death-Dealing Devastator




Bournemouth

quickly reading the artillery section. Nothing in there to deny them FNP. they are models in the unit too.

WH40K
Iron Wardens 11k (Iron Hands Clan Raukaan with Blood Angels Allies)
Guard PDF 1.5k
Hive Fleet Celesta 3.5k
Irontoof Guttasnarks's Warghband 0k in development 
   
Made in us
Sadistic Inquisitorial Excruciator





Right... sorry, but they don't have CT, so only 5+++ on them.
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






Wouldn't "neither" chapter tactics imply you need BOTH models to have chapter tactics?

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

 Desubot wrote:
Wouldn't "neither" chapter tactics imply you need BOTH models to have chapter tactics?


Correct. Per the definition in the new Space Marines Codex, if a model does not have the Chapter Tactics special rule, it is not considered to be a member of that Chapter.

By way of example, Techmarines have the Chapter Tactics special rule, but Servitors do not. From a strict RaW standpoint, there is no such thing as an Ultramarines Chapter Servitor. Presumably, all Servitors are created (or re-created?) equal. Techmarines, on the other hand, go through additional training based on their Chapter of origin. An Ultramarines Techmarine will get the exact same benefit from 'Ultramarines' Servitors as he would if he happened across some 'Salamanders' Servitors. This is because Servitors receive no Chapter specific additional training like a Marine might.

TL: DR; - From a strict RaW standpoint, models without the Chapter Tactics special rule are not defined as belonging to a particular Chapter. This includes non-Marine "people" like Servitors as well as most Artillery and Vehicle models.

If an Ultramarines Techmarine joined a unit of Servitors purchased with a Salamanders Techmarine AFTER the Salamander Techmarine was removed as a casualty, the Ultramarines Techmarine would retain his Chapter Tactics. From a RaW standpoint, there are no other models present from a different Chapter. The Servitors, are in essence, untrained pieces of equipment and are interchangeable between Chapters.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in ca
Frenzied Berserker Terminator





Canada

 Homeskillet wrote:
darkcloak wrote:
Now remember Brothers, we are the Raven Guard! We strike from the shadows!

Well, actually sir, since we let SPQR over there join the squad our cover has been blown. We are surrounded by Orks, the smurf won't stop firing his boltgun and muttering something about his spiritual liege's doctrine, sir.

Hmm. I see. What turn is it?

Turn two, sir.

Retreat.


That. Is. Hilarious. Well played sir.


I thought it ended weakly, but I'm glad someone appreciated it! Ha ha!

On topic (but only to derail)

... oh wait! This only affects models with CTs. So if say, and Inquisitor, joined a unit that unit would still get their CT. I misread it at first at thought the rule was if a unit with CT was joined by an IC with different or no CT that then negates the parent units CT, but... I was wrong.

Honestly I don't know why I'm still typing. I have literally nothing to contribute, I thought I did, but I didn't...

LOL!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/13 02:33:25




Gets along better with animals... Go figure. 
   
Made in au
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot





the down underworld

 Kriswall wrote:
 Desubot wrote:
Wouldn't "neither" chapter tactics imply you need BOTH models to have chapter tactics?


Correct. Per the definition in the new Space Marines Codex, if a model does not have the Chapter Tactics special rule, it is not considered to be a member of that Chapter.

By way of example, Techmarines have the Chapter Tactics special rule, but Servitors do not. From a strict RaW standpoint, there is no such thing as an Ultramarines Chapter Servitor. Presumably, all Servitors are created (or re-created?) equal. Techmarines, on the other hand, go through additional training based on their Chapter of origin. An Ultramarines Techmarine will get the exact same benefit from 'Ultramarines' Servitors as he would if he happened across some 'Salamanders' Servitors. This is because Servitors receive no Chapter specific additional training like a Marine might.

TL: DR; - From a strict RaW standpoint, models without the Chapter Tactics special rule are not defined as belonging to a particular Chapter. This includes non-Marine "people" like Servitors as well as most Artillery and Vehicle models.

If an Ultramarines Techmarine joined a unit of Servitors purchased with a Salamanders Techmarine AFTER the Salamander Techmarine was removed as a casualty, the Ultramarines Techmarine would retain his Chapter Tactics. From a RaW standpoint, there are no other models present from a different Chapter. The Servitors, are in essence, untrained pieces of equipment and are interchangeable between Chapters.


The codex does not define only CT units as coming from a chapter.

It says, when the the rules specifically refer to units by chapter, it is only referring to the units that have the ct rule.

The only issue i see is that, in one sentence it says all units from a chapter can benefit, but then specifies that the special rules only apply to models with CT

"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes... "
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




 casvalremdeikun wrote:
Technically, you could include a BA or SW IC, since they don't have Chapter Tactics. There would be no interaction between these chapters and the Chapter Tactics ability, since they don't actually have Chapter Tactics. So, no, Codex Marines would not lose their Chapter Tactics ability.


It does not say both chapters need to have chapter tactics. So I'd say no you could not do that.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Desubot wrote:
Wouldn't "neither" chapter tactics imply you need BOTH models to have chapter tactics?


I find implications to be very subjective

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/13 05:39:45


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






The new codex introduces a new term in the RAW. This rerm is 'drawm from'. Units with the chapter tactics rule must be drawn from a chapter. Units in the same detachment must be drawn from the same chapter. The only way you end up with a detachment of space marines not drawn from a chapter is if all units in the detachment lack the chapter tactics rule otherwise all the units will be drawn from a chapter.

For example. If I have an allied detachment with a tactical squad drawn from the raven guard and a land raider the land raider, while not having the chapter tactics rule, will be drawn from the raven guard chapter.

Only units with the chapter tactics rule get the benefit of the chapter they are drawn from. So the land raider would not get the benefits of being a raven guard unit.

Another example. If I have a land raider spearhead formation none of the models in the formation wil, from a RAW perspective, be drawn from a chapter.

Now, Boold Angel units do not have the CT rule so they also are, RAW perspective again, not drawn from a chapter. Its only when a unit contains models drawn from more then one chapter that you have a problem. RAW a BA IC in Raven Guard unit does not cause that problem.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/13 07:57:19


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: