Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/26 23:01:29
Subject: BS 5 Wave Serpents?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Ghaz wrote:And again, the RAW requires the listed units to have an Exarch. Where do the restrictions say that you can't take dedicated transports as an option for the units?
The rule requires every unit in the formation to take an exarch
A wave serpent is a unit, and I'd in the formation. It must therefore take an exarch. It cannot do so.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/27 05:50:39
Subject: Re:BS 5 Wave Serpents?
|
 |
Ancient Venerable Dark Angels Dreadnought
|
the formation tells you what units you can take. These units then can take Exarchs as upgrades (and have to in this formation). Saying that a unit cannot take a wave serpent as an upgrade is the same as saying that you can't upgrade an exarch with a different weapon. Formations specifically state if they forbid you to take transports otherwise they are an eligible upgrade as much as a Scorpion's Claw. Can wraithguard take wave serpents in the Wraith Host formation?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/27 06:04:23
Subject: Re:BS 5 Wave Serpents?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
bullyboy wrote:a dedicated transport is an upgrade for a unit, it is not bought from a different slot. It absolutely will gain the +1 BS. The exarch point is not necessary as the parent unit will take the upgrade, along with the dedicated transport. Except "Each unit in this formation must include an Exarch." a WS is most certainly a unit, and if it does not include an Exarch, then you can not use it in that formation. nosferatu1001 wrote: Ghaz wrote:And again, the RAW requires the listed units to have an Exarch. Where do the restrictions say that you can't take dedicated transports as an option for the units?
The rule requires every unit in the formation to take an exarch A wave serpent is a unit, and I'd in the formation. It must therefore take an exarch. It cannot do so. 100% this
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/27 06:04:54
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/27 06:31:51
Subject: Re:BS 5 Wave Serpents?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
bullyboy wrote:the formation tells you what units you can take. These units then can take Exarchs as upgrades (and have to in this formation). Saying that a unit cannot take a wave serpent as an upgrade is the same as saying that you can't upgrade an exarch with a different weapon. Formations specifically state if they forbid you to take transports otherwise they are an eligible upgrade as much as a Scorpion's Claw. Can wraithguard take wave serpents in the Wraith Host formation?
Dedicated transports aren't an extension of a unit, as they can leave the unit that they are assigned to turn one and then operate independently, and ferry other units. They count as a separate unit, of the same type as the original unit that purchased it, that doesn't use up a slot on the foc.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/27 12:38:32
Subject: BS 5 Wave Serpents?
|
 |
Bush? No, Eldar Ranger
|
I was under the understanding that dedicated transports are an extended upgrade for the unit. They are purchased with the troops, start with the troops, but then can leave afterwards. Being a dedicated transport for A unit with an Exarch would fulfill that "unit" (both the Aspect and there accompanying Wave Serpent) as a unit with an Exarch.
|
School's out, the War Machine rolls once more
6000 pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/27 12:48:14
Subject: Re:BS 5 Wave Serpents?
|
 |
World-Weary Pathfinder
|
Dedicated transports are the same unit classification (Troop, elite, etc) as the unit for which they are purchased. No unit other than the one they were purchased with may start the game embarked on them. But otherwise they have no restrictions/ties to their unit. You could deploy a unit of guardians on one side of the table, and their wave serpent on the opposite side of the table. You could start a unit of fire dragons next to the WS and turn one load them in and drive them around.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/27 12:51:02
Subject: Re:BS 5 Wave Serpents?
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
Actually it would not .... It is a unit that is tied to another unit( an add on unit if you will ) but it is very much a unit. Being a unit in this formation requires it to take an exarch, something that the WS does not have the option to do. RAW it is a catch 22 and can never be a part of the formation. HIWPI I would let them take the WS but I think that the intention is for the unit of footsloggers to gain +1 not their DT.
|
Now, we like big books. (And we cannot lie. You other readers can’t deny, a book flops open with an itty-bitty font, and a map that’s in your face, you get—sorry! Sorry!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/27 16:06:02
Subject: Re:BS 5 Wave Serpents?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
OIIIIIIO wrote:Actually it would not .... It is a unit that is tied to another unit( an add on unit if you will ) but it is very much a unit. Being a unit in this formation requires it to take an exarch, something that the WS does not have the option to do. RAW it is a catch 22 and can never be a part of the formation. HIWPI I would let them take the WS but I think that the intention is for the unit of footsloggers to gain +1 not their DT.
^^^This. This is what I was saying in my earlier post. It is clearly RAI, HIWPI and HYSPI (how you should play it).
All other interpretations either lead you to give +1BS to the Serpent for no justified reason, or to not be able to take the serpent at all.
Of course, the simplest solution is to field only Spiders, Hawks or Spears and don't bother with Serpents. If you have to field footsloggers in a transport, go with Falcons
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/27 20:51:02
Subject: BS 5 Wave Serpents?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You can't say that every unit in the formation gets the same bonus(including waveserpents) but aren't needs to meet the same requirements. They can take a wave serpent, but it shouldn't get the bonus. Hell, waveserpents aren't piloted by aspect warriors, why would they get the bonus?
|
|
|
 |
 |
|