Switch Theme:

Electrodisplacement and Perils  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





It's during the turn of the player with the psyker. So, you're right technically, but if it's simultaneous there's probably not a player out there would would choose to not resolve the power first.
   
Made in us
Clousseau





East Bay, Ca, US

Audustum wrote:
 Marmatag wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Removing as a causally requires removing the model
I'm in the you MUST resolve, and must therefore only refer be as a casualty after the power is resolved.

It's another part of the poorly thought out psyker rules.


It's not poorly thought out. A power can resolve, if there's no legal target, it still earns you the credit for manifesting a power, but it doesn't do anything.

Like a chain of fast effects in Magic. If you cast Giant Growth on your Mons Goblin Raiders, and in response, I cast Lightning Bolt on them, they are removed, Giant Growth has no effect because the Mons Goblin Raiders are no longer a legal target, as casualties are removed immediately.

You still spent the mana, you still cast Giant Growth, but it doesn't do anything. You can't give +3/+3 to a dead creature. It's just not possible.

You would need to argue that there is simultaneous resolution of the power and the perils, and therefore the order would be up to the caster of the spell. While that is certainly a possible outcome, I haven't found anything to support it in the rules.


If it was simultaneous, wouldn't the rules for sequencing take over? In that case, whoever's turn it is should decide the order of events.

Assuming that they're simultaneous yes. But perils happens in between, followed by deny the witch (as DTW has to happen afterwords, because perils can alter the warp dice available.

Really the question is - can you move a dead unit across the board or not? How do you place units in coherency with a dead unit?

 Galas wrote:
I remember when Marmatag was a nooby, all shiney and full of joy. How playing the unbalanced mess of Warhammer40k in a ultra-competitive meta has changed you

Bharring wrote:
He'll actually *change his mind* in the presence of sufficient/sufficiently defended information. Heretic.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You cannot resolve the power. You are instructed to, and have no option but to, move the psyker model. If the psyker model is not there, you cannot complete this step. The game halts

Magic actually has a decent stack concept. Don't try to apply tha to 40k
   
Made in us
Clousseau





East Bay, Ca, US

nosferatu1001 wrote:
You cannot resolve the power. You are instructed to, and have no option but to, move the psyker model. If the psyker model is not there, you cannot complete this step. The game halts

Magic actually has a decent stack concept. Don't try to apply tha to 40k


Actually what you're arguing is exactly what i'm arguing.

Magic has a decent stack concept, but it's really just a LIFO queue. This is another queue, but with a pre-ordained sequence. Whether it's LIFO or FIFO doesn't matter because the target of the action / spell doesn't exist when it comes time to resolve, so the power manifests with no effect, basically the same as a spell fizzling in magic.

 Galas wrote:
I remember when Marmatag was a nooby, all shiney and full of joy. How playing the unbalanced mess of Warhammer40k in a ultra-competitive meta has changed you

Bharring wrote:
He'll actually *change his mind* in the presence of sufficient/sufficiently defended information. Heretic.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: