Switch Theme:

NEW FAQ'd rerolls...  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Daemonic Dreadnought





Eye of Terror

Maybe this is because I lived in Las Vegas for a few years, but DIE is the singular, and DICE is the plural. In common usage, 'reroll a single dice' would be self-contradictory unless one was referring to the set, i.e. all the dice in the roll.

I agree the stratagem is likely intended to refer to a single die, but I recognize it says something different. I have been allowing opponents to reroll both.

   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 techsoldaten wrote:
Maybe this is because I lived in Las Vegas for a few years, but DIE is the singular, and DICE is the plural. In common usage, 'reroll a single dice' would be self-contradictory unless one was referring to the set, i.e. all the dice in the roll.

I agree the stratagem is likely intended to refer to a single die, but I recognize it says something different. I have been allowing opponents to reroll both.
This is a case where common vernacular has outpaced the official definition. Look at all the pissing and moaning about using "they" instead of "his or her" (and that's ignoring the SJW nonsense too and just focusing on the grammar arguments). The MtG community has been arguing about that one for DECADES.

We have two options, one is to accept that GW mean the common usage of the word "dice" to refer to a single die as well as multiple, or that the stratagem is literally broken and can never do anything.

Then again, given GW's track record with that...
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut



Glasgow

The problem i's unlike mtg GW rarely define their terms causing confusion.


I don't see why the strategy is broken if dice mean's plural it still works perfectly. It just takes you back to the rerolls section and let's you reroll a charge.

The real question is should the strategy have been worded

You may reroll a single die
You may reroll a single dice roll

Eithe way you've altered it's wording

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/07/29 12:19:20


 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

U02dah4 wrote:
The problem i's unlike mtg GW rarely define their terms causing confusion.


I don't see why the strategy is broken if dice mean's plural it still works perfectly. It just takes you back to the rerolls section and let's you reroll a charge.

The real question is should the strategy have been worded

You may reroll a single die
You may reroll a single dice roll

Eithe way you've altered it's wording


Games Workshop is british and they never, ever use the word 'die'. So when they want to identify a single die, they say 'single dice'.

The stratagem only allows you to re-roll a single dice, and that's it.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




 yakface wrote:
U02dah4 wrote:
The problem i's unlike mtg GW rarely define their terms causing confusion.


I don't see why the strategy is broken if dice mean's plural it still works perfectly. It just takes you back to the rerolls section and let's you reroll a charge.

The real question is should the strategy have been worded

You may reroll a single die
You may reroll a single dice roll

Eithe way you've altered it's wording


Games Workshop is british and they never, ever use the word 'die'. So when they want to identify a single die, they say 'single dice'.

The stratagem only allows you to re-roll a single dice, and that's it.



We do use the term die - just GW doesn't but then they actually say why in the rulebook etc.
Think my original question is answered so thanks to everyone.

Now obvious that if you the general 'reroll' given by some abilities means you HAVE to reroll all the dice (like in the Wulfen reroll of charge distance) as where the command point will let you roll just one of a set... Which is cool.

   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Most dictionaries today have 'dice' as an acceptable singular instead of 'die', so it's not just Games Workshop but an evolution of the English language.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Daemonic Dreadnought





Eye of Terror

 BaconCatBug wrote:
This is a case where common vernacular has outpaced the official definition. Look at all the pissing and moaning about using "they" instead of "his or her" (and that's ignoring the SJW nonsense too and just focusing on the grammar arguments). The MtG community has been arguing about that one for DECADES.

We have two options, one is to accept that GW mean the common usage of the word "dice" to refer to a single die as well as multiple, or that the stratagem is literally broken and can never do anything.

Then again, given GW's track record with that...
I'm willing to accept the common vernacular has changed, but not to reject the jargon related to games of dice in favor of it. If other table games use DIE and DICE, GW should clarify how they are using it.

Now that I am off my high horse, again, I think GW did intend this to mean a single die, but I would not fault someone for wanting to reroll all their dice. Have been doing it.

   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

'Tools of War', pg. 176:

If a rule requires you to roll a D3, roll a dice and halve the total.

'Advancing', pg. 177:

Roll a dice and add the result to the Move characteristics of all models in the unit for that Movement phase.

'Number of Attacks', pg. 179:

You roll one dice for each attack being made.


'Number of Attacks', pg. 183:

You roll one dice for each close combat attack being made.


'Transport', pg. 183:

... before the transport model is removed, you must then roll one dice for each model you just set up on the battlefield.

I do believe GW has been quite clear as to their terminology, in both this edition and editions past.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: