Switch Theme:

Question about bodyguard units taking hits for Characters  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Norn Queen






U02dah4 wrote:
Resolving in a nice sequence of one wound for every point of damage it suffers or one step but 1 1w effect per point of damage. A bit like the charge step is only one step but may contain multiple charges.


The charge "step" you mention is a charge PHASE.

A better analogy would be that a exocrine firing 6 shots is the same as 6 units declaring a charge. 6 shots that all hit and wound, each wound being allocated one at a time dealing 2 damage as a single action. 6 units making say... 9" charge moves and moving 9" as a single move. Not 9 1" moves.


These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
 
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Devastator




 Lance845 wrote:
 Eihnlazer wrote:
I wont argue with you about this here as it doesn't pertain to the OP's question. Just know that I am definitely correct and your interpretation is wrong.

Every bodyguard unit effectively works the same way this edition. They convert wounds dealt to the main target into mortal wounds on the bodyguard. They don't magically change all received damage into one mortal wound.


Actually it's the exact subject of the OPs question. Does the body guard absorb the whole hit or a single damage?

I have seen A LOT of people play it the way you are saying it works. But the rules don't have a wording that says to convert a single damage into a mortal wound. Actually at no point in any of the rules do they mention damage at all. They never say to convert them one at a time. At no point, in any of the rules documents, do they say each damage is applied separately.

Consider it written out this way.

The Hive Tyrant suffers an unsaved wound dealing 6 damage. The Hive Tyrant looses 6 wounds. At this point it is fair to say that qualifier "the Hive Tyrant looses a wound" has been met. Roll a die, 2+. Success. Now, the Hive Tyrant does not loose a wound, the Tyrant guard intercept the HIT, and suffers a mortal wound.

What part of that scenario doesn't follow the step by step rules as laid out by the Tyrant Guards ability?


I'm going with this interpretation for a few reason:

1) It does say that the unit intercepts the hit, not the wound, the hit.
2) the last part of the rule says "The Character does not lose a wound but this unit suffers a mortal wound"

The does not lose a wound part combined with the intercepting the "hit" part seems to me the entire hit is convereted to a single mortal wound on the bodyguard unit, which also makes a lot more sense thematically. Thanks for the vigorous debate, and if anyone finds a specific ruling in an official FAQ somewhere on this I'd be happy to see it. Cheers.

"The Ultramarines are here to save us!"

"Those are the Sons of Orar."

"O R they!" 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: