Switch Theme:

Vanguard questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




UK

1). Area Effect lists the special rules that apply. It only lists 2D8, so there's no Marksman or Piercing on it.
2). Not right away you can't. Forced Fatigue is used to go back to models that already activated in a previous Turn.
3). Here's the clarified text (what the ability was trying to say....badly)

"Use this ability during the model’s activation, before or after an action, even if it is Engaged or Knocked-down. Friendly Salamanders (including the Veteran itself) and Fire Elementals are immune to the effects of this attack. All other models within 2" take 2 automatic hits with Piercing (1). Make Armour rolls as normal. This ability can be used once per game."

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/05/07 16:10:29


 
   
Made in cz
Scarab with a Cracked Shell



Prague, Czechia

Matt, many thanks for your response! And I really appreciate that we can get an asnwer from a Mantic representative here.

Wow, I like the update of the Salamander Veteran ability, looks great!
Though, I am still confused by your answer to my first two questions. OK, the range effects on the boosted LB gets no Marksman and Piercing. But is it 3d8 (Marksman, Piercing) on the target plus the area effect on all models (including target) or just an area effect (2", 2d8) on all models in the area, i.e. without the 3d8 on the target the unboosted version provides.

And I have thought that forced fatigue works like this (all in the same round):
1) I activate a model
2) my opponent activates a model (or not if he/she has already finished all his/her activations in this round)
3) I can come back to the model activated in step 1) and force activate it now (or give action to another model, of course)
Do I really get it wrong.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/07 18:36:32


 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




UK

The LB is only 2D8 for the Area Effect. The bit in brackets after Area Effect says how the Area Effect bit works. It can be completely different to the initial attack.

That is how Forced Fatigue works yes. But remember you can fatigue a model in 2 ways:

1. A Fatigue Action - this is done during the models' activation right after its normal actions. It doesn't coast a power to do this. This CANNOT be a repeat of one of the normal actions you make.
2. Forced Fatigue - this is when you go back to an already activated model later in the Round and then pay Power to Force Fatigue it. This CAN be a repeat of an action the model made earlier.
   
Made in cz
Scarab with a Cracked Shell



Prague, Czechia

Matt, many thanks for your additional comments. I am glad you confirmed that I can "force fatigue" the model activated in my previus turn.

Though, I am afraid you did not answer my question about the LB, maybe I did not formulate it clearly enough. The question is whether one still keeps the 3d8 attack on the target in the boosted LB. I try to explain in more detail how I think the boosted LB works:
1) 2 power dice are spent to boost the spell
2) 3d8 (or 4d8 if the caster has a clear view on the target) are rolled to hit the target with Marksman and Piercing (1)
3) area effect (2", 2d8) is resolved, everybody in the area (including the target model) is hit, no Marskman or Piercing
Is the procedure correct? My question is whether the step 2) is there or not in the boosted version.

Sorry to pester you with the follow-up questions but I do not hink I got a clear enough answer on this point. The fact that one uses 2d8 for the area effect has been clear to me all the time ...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/09 10:14:19


 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




UK

The boosted version says that the spell is the same, but gains Area Effect. Area Effect doesn’t replace the 3D8, it adds to it. So yes, step two still exists.
   
Made in cz
Scarab with a Cracked Shell



Prague, Czechia

Good, everything clear now. Thanks for the answers!
   
 
Forum Index » Mantic Miniature Games (Kings of War, etc.)
Go to: