Switch Theme:

Vanguard questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in cz
Scarab with a Cracked Shell



Prague, Czechia

I am going to play a first Vanguard game tonight. After reading the rules there are quite a few things not completely clear to me but hope to clarify it with my opponent. I would still like to ask here about two points before we play:
- How does it work with the faction specific spells. Do all spellcasters from the faction know the spells automatically even if the spells are not listed in the casters profiles.
- In KoW the player that wins the roll to choose a side starts deploying along one of the longer sides of the battelfield. In Vanguard the battelfield is a square and I do not see it written anywhere that player must choose a side out of two possible ones, not four. Are really all four sides eligible to start deploying with the opponent deploying just opposite to the side chosen by the first player.

I guess we will have more questions after the game ...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/01/09 10:14:01


 
   
Made in de
Fresh-Faced New User





1.You can Exchange 1(!) of your listed spells for a faction specific one or pay 10 Points per extraspell. (same goes for spells of the advanced spellbooks)

2. I dont really know and I don t have the book in at hand. We build the scenery first with 2 tablesides in mind or whatever the scenario calls for( there are cornerdeployments possible in some scenarios)
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User





I read it as any of the 4 sides, if you set up terrain fairly it probably doesn't matter beyond the practicalities of the space you play.
   
Made in cz
Scarab with a Cracked Shell



Prague, Czechia

Thanks for the replies. I also read it that any of the four sides can be chosen to start deployment as far as the scenario does not specify it otherwise. However, I doubt it is the RAI interpretation.
Two more question after playing a game:
- can a walk move be used to engage the enemy
- when a model starts its action as knocked down it can stand up and melee with a model it is engaged with, correct?
   
Made in us
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!





Yes, you can engage with a walk or run. But you only get the free attack if your run meets the charge criteria


It takes a short action to stand up and if you're engaged when you stand up, you can attack.
   
Made in cz
Scarab with a Cracked Shell



Prague, Czechia

 Thatguyoverthere wrote:
Yes, you can engage with a walk or run. But you only get the free attack if your run meets the charge criteria

Thanks. Do I undestand you correctly that charge is possible only with the Run action. In our game we have interpreted the rules that one can engage and attack even with a Walk action provided the two additional conditions for Charge are met.
   
Made in de
Fresh-Faced New User




Yes, if you engage somebody via a walk action you would have to use the models second short action (or a fatigue action if the walk already was the second short action) for a melee attack, which would not get the charge bonus.

But I do not think that the target needs to be out of walking range to be charged, the point is that you spend a long action on a run (can also be a disengage!) to engage another model and meet the other charge criteria to get the free melee and the charge bonus.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/01/10 10:15:35


 
   
Made in cz
Scarab with a Cracked Shell



Prague, Czechia

H0neyBe4r wrote:
Yes, if you engage somebody via a walk action you would have to use the models second short action (or a fatigue action if the walk already was the second short action) for a melee attack, which would not get the charge bonus.

OK, I can see it now, thanks for the clarification.


But I do not think that the target needs to be out of walking range to be charged, the point is that you spend a long action on a run (can also be a disengage!) to engage another model and meet the other charge criteria to get the free melee and the charge bonus.

This is clear. The point (as I see it now) is that Charge is a long action then which is nowhere clearly stated in the rules. The rules speak about a Charge action within the Run action description but it is not quite obvious that Walk (a short action) cannot be used to get the free attack (provided by Charge) as the free attack part says "if the move qualifies as a Charge" which I interpret that the move meets the 2 additional criteria, not necessarily be a Run action as Walk allows to engage too. I have found it quite confusing that Charge is not specified as a separate action different from Walk and Run with a clear description "Charge (long)".

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2019/01/10 11:08:36


 
   
Made in za
Gore Spattered Punk Zombie





South Africa

Al Quds wrote:

- when a model starts its action as knocked down it can stand up and melee with a model it is engaged with, correct?


Yes, but that is not usually the case because "Down but not out" causes fatigue in addition to getting knocked down.


Resurrectionists
Nightstalkers
Dwarfs  
   
Made in de
Fresh-Faced New User





Actually there are quite a few instances when you can attack after standing up (read not beeing also fatiqued)
"Smash", "Pound" and the "Hammer"-spell knock you down without fatiqueing you. Plus you can spend a power to get rid of the fatique at the end of the round.


but it's a really nice pointer to "Down but not out" also fatigueing you. We played that wrong for quite some time, in our first games...
   
Made in cz
Scarab with a Cracked Shell



Prague, Czechia

I have one more question to pose:
What does it exactly mean that a model that killed an enemy may make a free follow-up move of 3” into its front arc. Eg. is a pivot on the spot OK. I thought so but if one pivots the model by let's say 45°, then it will not be completely in the fromt arc, i.e within the front arc of the model defined prior to making the follow-up move. Thus, the question is does the whole model has to stay in this front arc or is it sufficient if just the center of the model is located there. Of course, one can move the model slightly to the front and then pivot it to stay fully within the front arc. Do I also understand the rule correctly that it is not just walking straight ahead by max 3" but one can make as many pivots as one wishes during the follow-up move as far as the model stays within the front arc.
   
Made in at
Snotty Snotling





Check the picture.

the furthermost point of the base after movement must of course be within the 3"
[Thumb - ilustrate.png]

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/01/14 13:49:23


 
   
Made in cz
Scarab with a Cracked Shell



Prague, Czechia

 Schmendrick wrote:
Check the picture. the furthermost point of the base after movement must of course be within the 3"

Hmm, are you sure that pivots are not allowed. I do not see it written anywhere in the follow-up move rules. There, it is just written that normal move rules are to be followed and those do include pivots. Do also note that with a cavalry model you may still go in a slightly backward direction to stay within the front arc when one draws a picture similar to the one you made.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2019/01/14 14:27:48


 
   
Made in at
Snotty Snotling





Al Quds wrote:

Hmm, are you sure, pivots are not allowed. I do not see it written anywhere in the follow-up move rules. There, it is just written that normal move rules are to be followed and those do include pivots. Do also note that with a cavalry model you may still go in a slightly backward direction to stay within the front arc when one draws a picture similar to the one you made.


then i will be sure to give this a thorough reading today in the night!
   
Made in at
Snotty Snotling





after checking the writing, I think do not really get what you mean:

The follow up move is like a normal move (which INCLUDES pivot), but only max. 3" and not into the rear arc. and the pivot is included in the painting i made?
   
Made in cz
Scarab with a Cracked Shell



Prague, Czechia

First of all a normal move includes as many pivots (which are quite confusingly called "turns" without specifying how to perform them, I guess the KoW pivot is ment, though some may argue that a model can be turned along a front corner too) as one wishes which is not clear from your picture. Thus, one can move to stay within 3" not necessarily along a straight line and turn/pivot as one likes. One can go even slightly backwards provided the follow-up move is performed by a cavalry model.

Secondly, turning/pivoting a square model on the spot is not allowed as far as the angle is not a multiple of 90°.

I just wanted my interpreteation confirmed. Your picture is fine but does not show that the final facing of the model may be any one wishes and the folow-up moves can go any path long up to 3", not only a straight one (as your picture suggests).
   
Made in at
Snotty Snotling





All right, I think I mainly got you.
I interpret it as: as many pivots as you like, pivot point on every model is the center, and move in a not-necessarily-straith-line but the line has a max. length of 3".

To the thing with "cavalry backwards" i cannot say anything
   
Made in us
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!





Do forced fatigue actions count as activations for things like brace wearing off or regenerate triggering? I wasn't able to suss it out from the rule book.
   
 
Forum Index » Mantic Miniature Games (Kings of War, etc.)
Go to: