Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/11 18:55:48
Subject: Submitted to GW, but what does Dakka Think? - GSC questions
|
 |
Shadowy Grot Kommittee Memba
|
gamefaqs@gwplc.com is returning as email address not found. What is the current address for FAQs?
|
"Got you, Yugi! Your Rubric Marines can't fall back because I have declared the tertiary kaptaris ka'tah stance two, after the secondary dacatarai ka'tah last turn!"
"So you think, Kaiba! I declared my Thousand Sons the cult of Duplicity, which means all my psykers have access to the Sorcerous Facade power! Furthermore I will spend 8 Cabal Points to invoke Cabbalistic Focus, causing the rubrics to appear behind your custodes! The Vengeance for the Wronged and Sorcerous Fullisade stratagems along with the Malefic Maelstrom infernal pact evoked earlier in the command phase allows me to double their firepower, letting me wound on 2s and 3s!"
"you think it is you who has gotten me, yugi, but it is I who have gotten you! I declare the ever-vigilant stratagem to attack your rubrics with my custodes' ranged weapons, which with the new codex are now DAMAGE 2!!"
"...which leads you straight into my trap, Kaiba, you see I now declare the stratagem Implacable Automata, reducing all damage from your attacks by 1 and triggering my All is Dust special rule!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/11 19:01:17
Subject: Submitted to GW, but what does Dakka Think? - GSC questions
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
the_scotsman wrote:gamefaqs@gwplc.com is returning as email address not found. What is the current address for FAQs?
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/736188.page#9550607
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/11 20:08:42
Subject: Submitted to GW, but what does Dakka Think? - GSC questions
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
the_scotsman wrote:Here's my favorite question to send to GW for FAQing, because this one leads to some hilarious interactions. BCB, it's one for the signature. The Locus has a rule that is nearly a copy/paste of the rules for heroic intervention, substituting "6 inches" for "3 inches." But that would have been TOO EASY for GWs crack team of rules artisans. They couldn't just copy/paste the functional rule, nononononononoonononononoo, they had to try and type out the new BESPOKE ABILITY "swift intervention" or whatever the feth it's called. And they started the rule "In the charge phase, after your opponent has completed all their charge moves." Not "in your opponent's charge phase." "in the charge phase." And then they popped that right into a codex with a stratagem that allows them to deep strike a unit within 3" that is then not allowed to charge. RAW, right now, the locus can deep strike anywhere over 3" from enemy models, then get into combat with that unit with no overwatch allowed.
Not to be a negative Nancy, but you're incorrect here. If it said "in your charge phase", you'd be right, but "in the charge phase" means it is checked in both charge phases, and then further restricted by "after your opponent has completed all their charge moves", which generally can't happen in your charge phase anyway. It's like how Mortarians Host of Plauges happens in both players Fight phase because it says "At the start of the Fight Phase".
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/02/11 20:09:05
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/11 20:29:55
Subject: Submitted to GW, but what does Dakka Think? - GSC questions
|
 |
Shadowy Grot Kommittee Memba
|
BaconCatBug wrote:the_scotsman wrote:Here's my favorite question to send to GW for FAQing, because this one leads to some hilarious interactions.
BCB, it's one for the signature.
The Locus has a rule that is nearly a copy/paste of the rules for heroic intervention, substituting "6 inches" for "3 inches."
But that would have been TOO EASY for GWs crack team of rules artisans.
They couldn't just copy/paste the functional rule, nononononononoonononononoo, they had to try and type out the new BESPOKE ABILITY "swift intervention" or whatever the feth it's called.
And they started the rule "In the charge phase, after your opponent has completed all their charge moves."
Not "in your opponent's charge phase."
"in the charge phase."
And then they popped that right into a codex with a stratagem that allows them to deep strike a unit within 3" that is then not allowed to charge.
RAW, right now, the locus can deep strike anywhere over 3" from enemy models, then get into combat with that unit with no overwatch allowed.
Not to be a negative Nancy, but you're incorrect here. If it said "in your charge phase", you'd be right, but "in the charge phase" means it is checked in both charge phases, and then further restricted by "after your opponent has completed all their charge moves", which generally can't happen in your charge phase anyway.
It's like how Mortarians Host of Plauges happens in both players Fight phase because it says "At the start of the Fight Phase".
So, if it's my turn, and I choose not to make any charges, my opponent then cannot Heroically Intervene with his characters?
I know that my opponent "generally" (cough cough almost never) makes charge moves in my charge phase, but I can certainly use this ability after he makes all zero of his charges.
(I get that this whole thing is "strict RAW" nonsense anyway, I'm just using it as an opportunity to point out how mind numbingly stupid not having USRs in your game system is. gak like this happens. Prior to the FAQ to regular heroic intervention, you could use it in your charge phase as well.)
|
"Got you, Yugi! Your Rubric Marines can't fall back because I have declared the tertiary kaptaris ka'tah stance two, after the secondary dacatarai ka'tah last turn!"
"So you think, Kaiba! I declared my Thousand Sons the cult of Duplicity, which means all my psykers have access to the Sorcerous Facade power! Furthermore I will spend 8 Cabal Points to invoke Cabbalistic Focus, causing the rubrics to appear behind your custodes! The Vengeance for the Wronged and Sorcerous Fullisade stratagems along with the Malefic Maelstrom infernal pact evoked earlier in the command phase allows me to double their firepower, letting me wound on 2s and 3s!"
"you think it is you who has gotten me, yugi, but it is I who have gotten you! I declare the ever-vigilant stratagem to attack your rubrics with my custodes' ranged weapons, which with the new codex are now DAMAGE 2!!"
"...which leads you straight into my trap, Kaiba, you see I now declare the stratagem Implacable Automata, reducing all damage from your attacks by 1 and triggering my All is Dust special rule!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/11 20:39:18
Subject: Submitted to GW, but what does Dakka Think? - GSC questions
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Making no charge moves still has a point after you make your 0 charge moves. You cannot skip phases or any part of a phase. Game goes to fight phase, enemy goes to step 1 of fight phase. You don't choose any units. Heroic Intervention rule triggers.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/02/11 20:40:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/12 00:47:39
Subject: Submitted to GW, but what does Dakka Think? - GSC questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I read 3# rules as being replace regiment option entirely with Brood Brothers. Brood Brothers is not its regiment. The order from commanders only allows it to order regiments of which GSC units are not as they have no regiment.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/12 00:52:10
Subject: Submitted to GW, but what does Dakka Think? - GSC questions
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
Smirrors wrote:I read 3# rules as being replace regiment option entirely with Brood Brothers. Brood Brothers is not its regiment. The order from commanders only allows it to order regiments of which GSC units are not as they have no regiment.
I fully expect this to get addressed shortly in the codex FAQ. I don't know which way they'll go, but it will be a big source of confusion for people until they make it clear either way!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/12 02:07:03
Subject: Submitted to GW, but what does Dakka Think? - GSC questions
|
 |
Shadowy Grot Kommittee Memba
|
BaconCatBug wrote:Making no charge moves still has a point after you make your 0 charge moves. You cannot skip phases or any part of a phase. Game goes to fight phase, enemy goes to step 1 of fight phase. You don't choose any units. Heroic Intervention rule triggers.
So, as heroic intervention triggers as you say, and is worded identically BUT has the snowflake faq ruling saying it can't be used on your turn, why does Sudden Strike not trigger on my charge ohase?
I looked at these rules side by side. They are identical. Both say "in the charge phase"
The way I see it you can't have it both ways. Either situation A is true or situation B is true.
A: Heroic intervention and sudden strike have two requirements. "In the charge phase" and "after your opponent makes any charge moves." If your opponent DOESN'T make any charge moves in a charge phase, neither rule is usable.
B: "After opponent makes any charge moves" is a timing, not a requirement. Since you can't skip phases, both rules could be used in your charge phase, but gw FAQED heroic intervention to not be usable, changing that rule but not Sudden Strike. Therefore it works as I initially described
|
"Got you, Yugi! Your Rubric Marines can't fall back because I have declared the tertiary kaptaris ka'tah stance two, after the secondary dacatarai ka'tah last turn!"
"So you think, Kaiba! I declared my Thousand Sons the cult of Duplicity, which means all my psykers have access to the Sorcerous Facade power! Furthermore I will spend 8 Cabal Points to invoke Cabbalistic Focus, causing the rubrics to appear behind your custodes! The Vengeance for the Wronged and Sorcerous Fullisade stratagems along with the Malefic Maelstrom infernal pact evoked earlier in the command phase allows me to double their firepower, letting me wound on 2s and 3s!"
"you think it is you who has gotten me, yugi, but it is I who have gotten you! I declare the ever-vigilant stratagem to attack your rubrics with my custodes' ranged weapons, which with the new codex are now DAMAGE 2!!"
"...which leads you straight into my trap, Kaiba, you see I now declare the stratagem Implacable Automata, reducing all damage from your attacks by 1 and triggering my All is Dust special rule!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/12 07:51:32
Subject: Submitted to GW, but what does Dakka Think? - GSC questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
BaconCatBug wrote:Andykp wrote: BaconCatBug wrote:What a website says doesn't matter and what the rules say do. If they want to allow ambush to put your entire army not on the battlefield they need to change the beta rule or change the ambush rule.
Their website is a much better source for rules clarification than this one. They make the game.
Social Media Interns do not "make the game." The game rules are the rulebooks and FAQs, to say otherwise is to court madness.
“They” still are the company. Everything put out represents the opinions of the company, company’s take great lengths to make it clear when this isn’t the case. In this age of engaging gamesworkshop I think the Ymdc rule of only allowing faq and errata as a source needs looking at. Like I said, a post on Warhammer Community has a lot more weight as a rules clarification than anything anyone on here can come up with.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/14 21:07:15
Subject: Submitted to GW, but what does Dakka Think? - GSC questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Assuming Cult Ambush means deployed on the board does the stratagem "They came from below" allow you to move underground and deep strike at the end of your movement phase on Turn 1?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/15 00:20:09
Subject: Submitted to GW, but what does Dakka Think? - GSC questions
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
If you are not using the Matched Play Beta Rule, yes.
|
|
 |
 |
|