Switch Theme:

Declared charges  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

 JNAProductions wrote:
 alextroy wrote:
Yeesh people. Read the entire rule.

After any Overwatch has been resolved, roll 2D6. Each model in the charging unit can move up to this number of inches – this is their charge distance this turn. The first model you move must finnish within 1" of an enemy model from one of the target units. No models in the charging unit can move within 1" of an enemy unit that was not a target of its charge. If this is impossible, the charge fails and no models in the charging unit move this phase. Once you’ve moved all the models in the charging unit, choose another eligible unit and repeat the above procedure until all eligible units that you want to make charge moves have done so. No unit can be selected to charge more than once in each Charge phase.

In this case, I believe DeathReaper is actually correct. You are required by the sentence I placed in bold italics to make the charge move since choosing not to move does not make the move impossible.
No, that covers charges failing. It does not say that if the charge succeeds, you must move. That's still a can, not a must.
You are given three conditions:
1. How far you can move
2. Where the first model must move to
3. How no model can move

You are then told if it is Impossible to abide by these rules, the charge fails. If you can accomplish these three conditions, it is not impossible. Therefore your charge does not fail and you must move.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 alextroy wrote:
 JNAProductions wrote:
 alextroy wrote:
Yeesh people. Read the entire rule.

After any Overwatch has been resolved, roll 2D6. Each model in the charging unit can move up to this number of inches – this is their charge distance this turn. The first model you move must finnish within 1" of an enemy model from one of the target units. No models in the charging unit can move within 1" of an enemy unit that was not a target of its charge. If this is impossible, the charge fails and no models in the charging unit move this phase. Once you’ve moved all the models in the charging unit, choose another eligible unit and repeat the above procedure until all eligible units that you want to make charge moves have done so. No unit can be selected to charge more than once in each Charge phase.

In this case, I believe DeathReaper is actually correct. You are required by the sentence I placed in bold italics to make the charge move since choosing not to move does not make the move impossible.
No, that covers charges failing. It does not say that if the charge succeeds, you must move. That's still a can, not a must.
You are given three conditions:
1. How far you can move
2. Where the first model must move to
3. How no model can move

You are then told if it is Impossible to abide by these rules, the charge fails. If you can accomplish these three conditions, it is not impossible. Therefore your charge does not fail and you must move.
Except it says models "can" move, and as per the FAQ, that part is optional. Ergo you can choose to not move, thus the movement becomes "impossible". FAQ overrides RaW.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/05/22 14:04:07


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 alextroy wrote:
 JNAProductions wrote:
 alextroy wrote:
Yeesh people. Read the entire rule.

After any Overwatch has been resolved, roll 2D6. Each model in the charging unit can move up to this number of inches – this is their charge distance this turn. The first model you move must finnish within 1" of an enemy model from one of the target units. No models in the charging unit can move within 1" of an enemy unit that was not a target of its charge. If this is impossible, the charge fails and no models in the charging unit move this phase. Once you’ve moved all the models in the charging unit, choose another eligible unit and repeat the above procedure until all eligible units that you want to make charge moves have done so. No unit can be selected to charge more than once in each Charge phase.

In this case, I believe DeathReaper is actually correct. You are required by the sentence I placed in bold italics to make the charge move since choosing not to move does not make the move impossible.
No, that covers charges failing. It does not say that if the charge succeeds, you must move. That's still a can, not a must.
You are given three conditions:
1. How far you can move
2. Where the first model must move to
3. How no model can move

You are then told if it is Impossible to abide by these rules, the charge fails. If you can accomplish these three conditions, it is not impossible. Therefore your charge does not fail and you must move.


There's no "Must" move stated. There's only a "can" move. Also, being told the charge fails if you didn't roll high enough to reach the enemy unit does not mean you automatically have to move if you rolled high enough. It does not state that if you rolled high enough the charge auromatically succeeds. That is faulty logic. You are give the option of moving by dint of them saying you "may" move the models. If you exercise the option to not move the models then you do not get a model within 1" of the enemy and the charge fails.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

Context, gentlemen.

The "can" refers to how far the model may move. It sets the range you may move.
The second sentence states what you must do with the first model you move.
The third sentence places a limitation on that move.
The forth sentence states the conditions and consequence of not being able to complete a legal move.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 alextroy wrote:
Context, gentlemen.

The "can" refers to how far the model may move. It sets the range you may move.
The second sentence states what you must do with the first model you move.
The third sentence places a limitation on that move.
The forth sentence states the conditions and consequence of not being able to complete a legal move.
Context doesn't matter because the FAQ overrides context. It's stupid, but if GW wants to play stupid games, they win stupid prizes.
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

 alextroy wrote:
Context, gentlemen.

The "can" refers to how far the model may move. It sets the range you may move.
The second sentence states what you must do with the first model you move.
The third sentence places a limitation on that move.
The forth sentence states the conditions and consequence of not being able to complete a legal move.
And nowhere does it state you MUST move that first model. If you choose to move it, you're restricted in how you can, but you don't have to.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: