| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/27 07:35:31
Subject: a few questions on the new rules.
|
 |
Lethal Lhamean
|
ok having played a few games with the new rules, a couple of questions have come up, and i am unable to locate via a quick read of the errata / faq.
1. skirmishers... they can reform as many times as required, and move in loose formations. however, are there limits on ranks? for example a unit of 5 flamers... can they exisit in a 5 wide single rank, or a 5 deep 1 across rank? (changing from a row to a column)?
2. screamers... it states they can reform as they fly, (wich is also stated in reform and skirimish) but does thier slashing attack work against single, non mounted characters? (like a lone sorcerer) the argument i faced in this case, was that the single character was not "a unit", the final question on this is: can the screamers reform to face the sorcerer, move over it, then reform again at the end of the move?
3. ward saves. if a character has multiple sources of ward save, ie 2 items, one confering a 2+ save, the other item confering a 6+ save, and the character takes a wound, does he combine or stack the ward saves, (like armor) or does he roll each sepeate? (takes 4 wounds, rolls 6+ save, pass 1, then roll his 2+ save for the remaining 3)? or do the ward saves combine to make it a 1+ ward?
4.the blue scribes. they dont list a magic level, but cast random bound spells every turn. since bound spells must now be rolled for just like other spells.... do the scribes add a casting value, or not? do they count as a wizzard? if so can they channel power dice/dispel dice?
sorry if these have been answerd before or are clearly stated in the rules, but i have only read a friends copy briefly, and could not find the apropiate info in errata.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/27 08:12:50
Subject: a few questions on the new rules.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
1. same requirements on ranks as a normal unit. so 5x1, 1x5, 3 in front, 2 in back, etc. you couldn't do 2 in front 3 in back though.
2. yes, a single character is a unit. and yes you can reform, zig-zag, do basically whatever with your screamers
3. they do not combine.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/27 08:18:32
Subject: a few questions on the new rules.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
3) as above - not onluy do ward saves not combine unless they state they do (the Tzeentch mark of chaos, for example) but you can never go below a 2+ save for wards. Automatically Appended Next Post: 4. Blue scribes are hosed under the current rules. They do not have alevel so get no bonuses to casting.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/27 08:18:55
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/27 09:16:44
Subject: a few questions on the new rules.
|
 |
Lethal Lhamean
|
ok so then a character with 2 items that confer ward saves, such as a 6+, then a 2+, along with his armor, and regen gets 4 save rolls/wound????
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/27 09:26:25
Subject: a few questions on the new rules.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Not, that is the exact opposite of what we said. You only get to make *1* ward save, whcihever is your best. You also now, in 8th CHOOSE whether to take a ward or regen, you cannot take both.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/27 10:25:59
Subject: a few questions on the new rules.
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Yep two saving throws max. Things with both a ward and regen must choose wich to use, its in the regeneration rules (page 74)
Altho look out sir works as a 3rd in a way.
|
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2010/08/27 10:29:13
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/27 10:44:10
Subject: a few questions on the new rules.
|
 |
Lethal Lhamean
|
ok thats much better.....i had argued that it was only 1 ward save even if you have multiples, but we couldnt find the answer, diced it off and i lost. so he was making armor, followed by ward, followed by ward...it was ridonkulus.
so clarifying ow the scribes work...
they power siphon like normal, but cant exceed 12 PD. for thier spells, they pick lore, roll random dice, then use pool dice to cast it with no modifier?, and i imagine they dont count as wizard for purpose of power siphon?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/27 10:46:52
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/27 10:51:43
Subject: a few questions on the new rules.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
They are not wizards, as they only cast bound spells. Wizards HAVE to be levels 1 - 4 (or have a special rule otherwise) otherwise they are not a wizard. They dont generate extra power or dispel through channelling.
The multiple ward saves thing is 5th ed, when indeed it was silly - you could easily have a Slann with 4 ward saves of around 4+, meaning wounds just didnt happen....
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/27 13:01:24
Subject: Re:a few questions on the new rules.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
One of the useful thing that the Blue Scribes got out of 8th is the they're casting their bound spell as an innate ability and only have the one spell per turn, they effectively ignore miscasts.
So if you get a decent spell, and have extra dice left, you don't have to worry about anything and can just throw dice.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|