Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/01 04:38:13
Subject: Scout combat squads must choose same deployment option?
|
 |
Long-Range Ultramarine Land Speeder Pilot
|
If I have a 10-man SM scout squad broken into combat squads. What are my deployment options?
Obviously I can
1. Setup normally as two independent units.
2. Infiltrate during the deployment phase as two separate units
But can I do any of the following?
3. Deploy one combat squad as normal and outflank the other?
4. Outflank both, but come in different sides?
5. Outflank with one, and come on from my edge per normal reserves?
When both outflank, do I make one roll for both to determine which side they enter, or a separate roll for each?
In short, I'm a bit fuzzy on how combat squads interact with deployment (especially outflank, though the same could work for deepstriking units).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/01 04:42:52
Subject: Scout combat squads must choose same deployment option?
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
They combat squad during deployment, not before. So they show up at the same time in the same place, regardless--as I understand it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/01 04:43:12
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/01 04:56:53
Subject: Scout combat squads must choose same deployment option?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
You would have to either deploy both, or keep both in Reserve. Since they don't split until they are deployed, there is no way to keep one combat squad in Reserve.
Since the decision to outflank is made on deployment, rather then when they are placed in Reserve, you could choose to outflank with one or both of the combat squads. Whether you make the outflank roll for the unit as a whole, or separately for each combat squad depends on how you interpret the process. There's arguments for it working either way, going by previous similar discussions.
Personally, I would roll for them separately.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/01 05:02:08
Subject: Scout combat squads must choose same deployment option?
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Ohhh. . . Never caught that or seen it played that way, insaniak. Units must be in reserve to outflank, as I read it. Or do you mean that you could ouflank each combat squad from one unit seperartely? (which I have still never seen happen nor read as possible, but could be viable)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/01 05:02:58
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/01 05:05:31
Subject: Scout combat squads must choose same deployment option?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
kirsanth wrote:Never caught that or seen it played that way, insaniak. Units must be in reserve to outflank, as I read it.
Or do you mean that you could ouflank each combat squad from one unit seperartely? (which I have still never seen happen nor read as possible, but could be viable)
The original squad is kept in reserve as one unit. When they deploy, they can split into combat squads.
As the decision to outflank is made as they deploy, they can choose to outflank as separate combat squads. So you could outflank with both of them, move both of them on from your board edge as normal, or outflank with one and move the other on from your board edge.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/01 05:51:30
Subject: Scout combat squads must choose same deployment option?
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
It makes sense now that I read it. . .your explanation was pretty much what I was asking in the second question.
Nice nice. More to read!
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/01 08:12:57
Subject: Scout combat squads must choose same deployment option?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
insaniak wrote:kirsanth wrote:Never caught that or seen it played that way, insaniak. Units must be in reserve to outflank, as I read it.
Or do you mean that you could ouflank each combat squad from one unit seperartely? (which I have still never seen happen nor read as possible, but could be viable)
The original squad is kept in reserve as one unit. When they deploy, they can split into combat squads.
As the decision to outflank is made as they deploy, they can choose to outflank as separate combat squads. So you could outflank with both of them, move both of them on from your board edge as normal, or outflank with one and move the other on from your board edge.
This is untrue(The Bolded part); the decision to outflank is made in the Deployment phase; same with the decision to Deepstrike per page 94 of the BRB, preparing reserves, fifth paragraph.
For combat squading scouts, outflanking; you put the 10 scouts in reserve as if they were one unit, declare they are outflanking, roll for reserves as if they were one unit, roll for table edge as if they were one unit, then have them enter in 2 units from the proscribed(same, as dictated by the roll) table edge. Even if you roll a 5-6 for Table edge the Combat squads come in from the same edge(the edge you choose for the available unit) because they do not split into 2 squads until you deploy them(they do not have to be in single-squad-coherency upon deployment though).
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/01 12:50:28
Subject: Scout combat squads must choose same deployment option?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:This is untrue(The Bolded part); the decision to outflank is made in the Deployment phase; same with the decision to Deepstrike per page 94 of the BRB, preparing reserves, fifth paragraph.
Hmm... I checked the Outflank entry, and going by the wording there, didn't bother double checking the Reserves rules as well.
It does mention having to declare that you're outflanking when you prepare your reserves, but I don't see that it actually changes anything, to be honest. All you do when you are preparing your reserves is declare which units will be outflanking. When it comes time to deploy them, you refer to the outflanking rules, which handle it from there.
So I still see no problem with declaring that you intend to split the squad when they deploy, in order to have one outflank and the other arrive normally. They still wind up being deployed at the same time, which satisfies the Combat Squad rule.
For combat squading scouts, outflanking; you put the 10 scouts in reserve as if they were one unit, declare they are outflanking, roll for reserves as if they were one unit, roll for table edge as if they were one unit, then have them enter in 2 units from the proscribed(same, as dictated by the roll) table edge.
This is where the interpretation I referred to earlier kicks in. While you definitely roll for Reserves as one unit, the rules are not clear as to whether you roll for outflank as one unit or two. The roll is a part of the deployment process, so since the rules don't tell us exactly how it interacts with Combat Squads, it's left up to the player to decide whether they split first or you roll first.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/01 12:54:55
Subject: Scout combat squads must choose same deployment option?
|
 |
Martial Arts Fiday
|
They really need to state that the decision is made when the army is deployed, not when the actual unit is deployed, since it is not deployed if Reserved.
Silly GW.
|
"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"
-Nobody Ever
Proverbs 18:2
"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.
warboss wrote:
GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up. 
Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.
EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.
Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/01 13:03:46
Subject: Scout combat squads must choose same deployment option?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
SlaveToDorkness wrote:They really need to state that the decision is made when the army is deployed, not when the actual unit is deployed, since it is not deployed if Reserved.
"Once all of the units have been rolled for, the player picks any one of the units arriving and deploys it, moving it onto the table as described later."
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/01 13:06:48
Subject: Scout combat squads must choose same deployment option?
|
 |
Martial Arts Fiday
|
Yes, but the also say "Deployed" when disembarking from vehicles. Typical GW use of terms.
I meant they should make a Deployment Phase at the start of the game and that's when you declare Combat Squads and their disposition, along with other things like Reserves and Outflanking.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/01 13:07:02
"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"
-Nobody Ever
Proverbs 18:2
"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.
warboss wrote:
GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up. 
Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.
EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.
Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/01 14:53:30
Subject: Scout combat squads must choose same deployment option?
|
 |
Long-Range Ultramarine Land Speeder Pilot
|
Hmm... okay I'll buy that they must either be in reserves or on the table. Though it sounds like it could go either way on the some outflank and some not outflank (or roll separately or together).
I guess add it to the list of things to clarify before the game starts?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/01 15:48:50
Subject: Scout combat squads must choose same deployment option?
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
insaniak wrote:kirsanth wrote:Never caught that or seen it played that way, insaniak. Units must be in reserve to outflank, as I read it.
Or do you mean that you could ouflank each combat squad from one unit seperartely? (which I have still never seen happen nor read as possible, but could be viable)
The original squad is kept in reserve as one unit. When they deploy, they can split into combat squads.
As the decision to outflank is made as they deploy, they can choose to outflank as separate combat squads. So you could outflank with both of them, move both of them on from your board edge as normal, or outflank with one and move the other on from your board edge.
No, no, no, no, no................... The decision to Outflank has to be made when they are placed into Reserves. So either both combat squads will outflank (as you have declared that the unit is outflnaking when you placed it into reserves) or neither will outflank.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/01 16:01:42
Subject: Re:Scout combat squads must choose same deployment option?
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
I read it the following way:
1. if you declare reserves you declare the whole unit to outflank or not.
if you outflank:
you roll for the whole unit if they arrive.
if they arrive: NOW you decide to combat squad them and roll the side separately, because they have become 2 units now.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/01 21:22:24
Subject: Scout combat squads must choose same deployment option?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
don_mondo wrote: The decision to Outflank has to be made when they are placed into Reserves. So either both combat squads will outflank (as you have declared that the unit is outflnaking when you placed it into reserves) or neither will outflank.
The decision to outflank is made when they are placed in reserve... but nothing actually happens until they deploy. So what is stopping you from declaring that one combat squad will outflank and one will not?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/02 02:24:56
Subject: Scout combat squads must choose same deployment option?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Insaniak you make a good Point, Combat Squadded scouts can never outflank, here's why;
The Decision to outflank was made for a squad of 10 Scouts. When those scouts become available for deployment(via Outflank), another decision is then made to combat squad those scouts, so now you have 2 units of 5 scouts, which didn't exist when reserves were prepared and therefore could not have been decided to be outflanking.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/02 03:07:41
Subject: Scout combat squads must choose same deployment option?
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
insaniak wrote:don_mondo wrote: The decision to Outflank has to be made when they are placed into Reserves. So either both combat squads will outflank (as you have declared that the unit is outflnaking when you placed it into reserves) or neither will outflank.
The decision to outflank is made when they are placed in reserve... but nothing actually happens until they deploy. So what is stopping you from declaring that one combat squad will outflank and one will not?
The fact that you already declared that all of the models in the original unit are outflanking, perhaps? Just because you split them into two combaty squads, it does not change the earlier statement made for BOTH combat squad units. Unit 1 is going to Outflank. After making reserves roll, you split them, so now you have unit 1a and unit 1b, both of which were declared to be outflanking when originally placed in reserves. After all, it's not like you could say that these 5 models are going to outflank and these 5 aren't when you made the declaration, now is it?
Unless you like Kel's answer better...........
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/02 03:15:29
Subject: Scout combat squads must choose same deployment option?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
don_mondo wrote:The fact that you already declared that all of the models in the original unit are outflanking, perhaps?
Except I didn't. I declared that the squad is going to break into combat squads when it deploys, and one of those squads is going to outflank.
All that happens when the unit goes into reserve is that you declare how they are going to be deployed. You don't have to split them at that point, so you don't break the combat squads rule. You simply declare your intention as to how the unit is going to deploy.
After all, it's not like you could say that these 5 models are going to outflank and these 5 aren't when you made the declaration, now is it?
Why not? You know that the unit has the ability to split when they are deployed. You know that the unit has the ability to outflank. So there is nothing stopping you from declaring that when the unit deploys, it is doing so as two separate units, and one or both of those units are going to outflank.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/02 03:45:16
Subject: Scout combat squads must choose same deployment option?
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Except that you've already said. This unti (10 models) is going to outflank. So if you split them, they're still all obligated, all 10 of them, to outflank. Sorry, that's my read on it and nothing you say is going to change my mind, so we can end this now or go around and around for 3 or 4 pages.
The other possible solution is that since you've already declared that the 10-man unit is outflanking, they cannot be split into combat squads as they are all obligated to outflank as a 10-man unit, since you already declared they were doing so. Once you've declared a unit is entering using a special rule, you cannot change how that unit enters the table, even if it is split into multiple units through another rule. At that point, both of the (sub) units are still bound by the choice you amde for the original unit during deployment.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/02 03:53:18
Subject: Scout combat squads must choose same deployment option?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
don_mondo wrote:Except that you've already said. This unti (10 models) is going to outflank.
Except, as I just said, I'm not saying that the 10-man unit is outflanking. I'm saying that the 10-man squad is going to split into combat squads when it deploys, and one of those combat squads is going to outflank. Repeating that I'm saying something I'm not doesn't invalidate my argument.
The outflank declaration is a declaration of how you intend to deploy them. If you're intending to deploy them as combat squads, why can you not declare that one of those combat squads is going to outflank?
Sorry, that's my read on it and nothing you say is going to change my mind, so we can end this now or go around and around for 3 or 4 pages.
Or you could explain why you think my interpretation is incorrect... That's kind of what the forum is for.
The other possible solution is that since you've already declared that the 10-man unit is outflanking, they cannot be split into combat squads as they are all obligated to outflank as a 10-man unit, since you already declared they were doing so.
That would be correct if you declare that the 10-man squad is outflanking.
What I'm saying, again, is that there is no reason that you can't declare that the squad is going to split, and how the two squads are going to deploy.
Both the Combat Squads rule and the Outflank rule are rules that apply when the unit deploys. The Preparing Reserves requirement doesn't ask you to change when that happens... it just asks you to declare ahead of time how the units in reserve are going to deploy.
So if you are going to deploy as separate combat squads with one of them outflanking, declaring that you are doing so satisfies the requirements of the rules for Preparing Reserves.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/02 05:01:01
Subject: Scout combat squads must choose same deployment option?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Insaniak; If you are declaring when the Models are deployed that your 10 man unit of scouts will be combat squadding it is already to late to declare which ones will be arriving in which manner(normally or outflanking). the Timing is Clear for both rules; you declare outflankers at the Preparing reserves step(prior to the game proper); you declare combat squadding at deployment(which in the case of a model in reserve is not until they are available). you had declared that a 10 man Scout squad would be held in reserve, and arriving via Outflank. Lets say that unit becomes available in turn 3; When you go to deploy that unit you decide to combat squad them. Now you have 2 separate units that are entering play; and neither of those individual units were declared as outflankers because neither of those units are the unit you initially placed in reserve, prepared to outflank(they are 2 Smaller units and are not identically comprised).
I could relent to Don_Mondo's Reading with the Unit outflanking now consisting of portions a, and b; and both outflanking. But, A split with one outflanking and the other coming in as normal is right out. With the Combat squad a and b theory you still have the whole of the squad prepared to outflank, outflanking; your option to send in one combat squad by regular means breaks the outflank rule. If you prepare a unit to outflank that unit must outflank; If unit sub-a and sub-b are no longer the unit then neither can outflank, If unit sub-a and sub-b are both still the unit, then both must outflank.
I should have finished reading your post before I posted this; I now see the crux of your argument, and its failings.
In the section for preparing reserves it tells you When this decision is made(when placing the unit into reserves). The last line is, and I quote: "This decision may not be changed later." Once you decide a unit will arrive by Deepstrike or Outflank that unit is locked into that decision.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/02 05:05:22
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/02 05:38:04
Subject: Scout combat squads must choose same deployment option?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:Insaniak; If you are declaring when the Models are deployed that your 10 man unit of scouts will be combat squadding it is already to late to declare which ones will be arriving in which manner(normally or outflanking).
Indeed it would be. I was talking about declaring what they're doing when you place them in reserves, not when they are deployed.
the Timing is Clear for both rules; you declare outflankers at the Preparing reserves step(prior to the game proper); you declare combat squadding at deployment(which in the case of a model in reserve is not until they are available).
Deployment is where the decision is actually made to combat squad them, yes. And actually, after another look at the specific wording of the combat squad rule, it does potentially break my argument... I had remembered it as simply saying that the squad splits on deployment, rather than that you decide to split them on deployment.
So the argument that you declare when placing them in reserve that you are intending to split them on deployment runs into shaky ground, since you're not supposed to be deciding to do that yet.
In the section for preparing reserves it tells you When this decision is made(when placing the unit into reserves). The last line is, and I quote: "This decision may not be changed later." Once you decide a unit will arrive by Deepstrike or Outflank that unit is locked into that decision.
I wasn't arguing that you change your declaration. I was arguing that what you do at the Preparing Reserves step is nothing more than declare how the unit will be deploying, and that there was no real reason that this couldn't include declaring that the unit would be Combat Squadding at this point... since it doesn't affect when that actually happens. It's merely a declaration of intent.
I'm going to have to back down, though, on the basis of the combat squad decision being made on deployment. So at the point when you place them in reserves, you haven't 'officially' decided whether or not to split them... so if they're going to outflank, the entire squad will have to do so, although they would still be able to split as they come on.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/02 14:53:32
Subject: Scout combat squads must choose same deployment option?
|
 |
Long-Range Ultramarine Land Speeder Pilot
|
So that means there is a single roll for the whole squad and then they can enter separately on the chosen table edge?
What if you roll the "table edge of your choice", may you deploy one combat squad on one side and the other on the other side? Since each combat squad would be entering from a side of your choice.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/02 14:54:02
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/02 15:04:22
Subject: Scout combat squads must choose same deployment option?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
At the time you make the single roll you only have one unit, so you must nominate an edge at this point - both arrive from it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/02 17:47:51
Subject: Scout combat squads must choose same deployment option?
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
insaniak wrote:
Sorry, that's my read on it and nothing you say is going to change my mind, so we can end this now or go around and around for 3 or 4 pages.
Or you could explain why you think my interpretation is incorrect... That's kind of what the forum is for.
I already have, a couple of times.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/02 18:29:02
Subject: Scout combat squads must choose same deployment option?
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
The way I read the rules is that you cannot combat squad them until they have been deployed. Therefore they cannot be split up unless they have made their move onto the table already. Just like drop podding in, you drop in, deploy out of the drop pod, then combat squad the unit. Therefore they have already made their move onto the table and can now be squaded. It is also clear that you cannot declare them squaded until you are on the table, therefore you cannot squad them in reserves prior to deploying them either. My personal judgment of the rules is that you cannot do what you are trying to do as it clearly does not follow clearly written rules and would be completely illegal.
|
Victory is not the most important outcome. Enjoyment and excitement is the best outcome, victory is sweeter when it was fun. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/02 20:33:01
Subject: Re:Scout combat squads must choose same deployment option?
|
 |
Infiltrating Oniwaban
|
I think this is one of the most misplayed parts of 40k since it's so easy to confuse the deployment phase with the deployment of the unit. I know I screw it up all the time. It would be much simpler if organizing your reserves counted as the deployment of those units going into reserve.
|
The Imperial Navy, A Galatic Force for Good. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/02 20:54:14
Subject: Scout combat squads must choose same deployment option?
|
 |
Troubled By Non-Compliant Worlds
Houston, TX
|
@insaniak: You do not declare combat squads until they are deployed, not when they are placed in reserves. So the process is as what Don_mondo described.
Thus you declare that the entire 10 man squad with outflank, combat squading does not erase the declaration to outflank for the 2 new units- also as don_mondo stated. The split for combat squads happens when they are placed on the table and all the outflank mechanics happen before they hit the table.
@ Kel: Where do the rules tell us that the declaration of outflank is removed from the 2 combat squad, or one of the squads?
|
DS:70S++G+MB+++I+Pw40k01#-D++++A++/mWD279R+T(D)DM+
>Three engineering students were gathered together discussing who must have designed the human body.
>One said, "It was a mechanical engineer. Just look at all the joints."
>Another said, "No, it was an electrical engineer. The nervous system has many thousands of electrical connections."
>The last one said, "No, actually it had to have been a civil engineer.
>Who else would run a toxic waste pipeline through a recreational area.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/02 21:00:56
Subject: Scout combat squads must choose same deployment option?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:At the time you make the single roll you only have one unit, so you must nominate an edge at this point - both arrive from it.
You make the roll to determine table edge when the unit arrives from reserve.
You make the decision to split into combat squads when the unit arrives from reserve.
There is no rule that says which of these you have to do first.
hisdudeness wrote:@insaniak: You do not declare combat squads until they are deployed, not when they are placed in reserves. So the process is as what Don_mondo described.
Yeah, we've already covered that...
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/09/02 21:04:14
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/02 21:05:13
Subject: Scout combat squads must choose same deployment option?
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
insaniak wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:At the time you make the single roll you only have one unit, so you must nominate an edge at this point - both arrive from it.
You make the roll to determine table edge when the unit arrives from reserve.
You make the decision to split into combat squads when the unit arrives from reserve.
There is no rule that says which of these you have to do first.
hisdudeness wrote:@insaniak: You do not declare combat squads until they are deployed, not when they are placed in reserves. So the process is as what Don_mondo described.
Yeah, we've already covered that...
Fine, yours is wrong because mine is right. How's that?
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
|