Switch Theme:

Dark Eldar  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Rotting Sorcerer of Nurgle






Jacksonville, NC

Howdy all,

had a few questions about some dark eldar... I played as them before, but its been a while and I'm rusty. The guy I faced was a real D-bag, so I didn't ask him to look at the dex as he was constantly arguing rules with me...

1) The list the guy ran consisted of 11 raiders, 3 ravagers, 80 wyches, plus 2 HQ's both with 9 wych retinues... is this even legal?

2) The agonizer - the guy told he that its a power weapon that wounds on a roll to HIT of 4+... that doesn't sound right to me

3) webway portal - are you able to block off exiting it? he told me it counts as a board edge and he can do anything right out of it

Thanks in advance, I want to be more prepared next time I face him (I won 17 kp's to 13, but it was rough)

Check out my P&M Blog!
Check out my YouTube channel, Heretic Wargaming USA: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCLiPUI3zwSxPiHzWjFQKcNA
Latest Tourney results:
1st Place Special Mission tourney 12/15/18 (Battlereps)
2nd Place ITC tourney 08/20/18 ( Battlerep)
3rd Place ITC Tourney 06/08/18(Battlereps
   
Made in us
Legendary Dogfighter




Garden Grove, CA

I think the list is legal if and only if he took the following. 3 warrior squads with raiders, 6 groups of 10 wyches with a raider for troops and the Wych HQ's with a retinue with a raider each.

So 3+6+2=11.

The agonizer is like a poisoned PW. Only without the rerolls.

I don't know about the WWP.

"Do not practice until you get it right, practice until you can not get it wrong." In other words, stop effing up.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Agoniser always wounds on a 4+, but not on the to hit. The raiders looks fine, as pointed out above - all elites, all troops etc. However couldnt be 80 wytches, only 60, plus 30 warriors.

The WWP IS a board edge, and as such if you place models within 1" of it on all side infantry etc could not enter using it, only jump packs etc which move "over" your models could do.
   
Made in au
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard






Newcastle, OZ

Since it looked like all of his infantry units were on skimmer vehicles, they can still come through webway portals that you have 'blocked' anyway.

Just like jump infantry or jetbikes.

He needs to read the rules on agonisers though. He still has to roll to wound after hitting you.

Rest of list looks legal.

I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.

That is not dead which can eternal lie ...

... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
 
   
Made in us
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer



Alabama

1 If everything was embarked in raiders, only 60 wyches, and up to 30 warriors.

This was obviously a wych army, so 2 hq's, wych archite and wych dracite can have wych retinues up to 9 models if mounted in a raider.

3 ravagers is pretty standard in most DE armies as it's usually a much better choice than the other options DE have for heavies.

2 The Agoniser has to roll to hit before rolling to wound where it's an auto wound on a 4+. It's still a power weapon and can glance a vehicle on a roll of 6.

3 is accurate. Can't destroy it either. Whoever he had deploy it though couldn't move or shoot the turn it set up the portal. You basically have to kill the person carrying it to prevent it from being deployed. Nobody else can pick it up, so anything "in the warp" waiting to be deployed via the portal is destroyed when the model carrying it is killed.

Check the Dakka FAQ v.4 http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/237519.page) It answers some of these questions. It has really helped answer some questions we've had in our games.

   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight



Buffalo NY, USA

The agonizer issue sounds like he wasn't communicating right, the to hit roll is based on WS which might have very well been a 4+. But the equipment it self has no such rule mandating it hit on a 4+.

The 80 Wyches part sounds like another communitcation issue. Did you get that number because at some point before or during the game he said something like "I can has 80 Wyches in my army"? If so then 60 Wyches in a Wych army plus 18 Wyches total for the retinues and technically speaking 2 Wych Archite\Dracite HQ's gives him 80 Wyches. We're still short three Raiders by my math though so he had to have had Raider Squads taken as Elite choices for him to field 11 Raiders. Honestley so much is under rated from that codex that it pains me to see spam lists like this.

ComputerGeek01 is more then just a name 
   
Made in us
Executing Exarch






Odenton, MD

All of that is correct and legal.

1. You can take more wyches than can fit on a raider provided they don't get on said boat. Example 10 marines and a Razorback. But honestly that list is crap.

2. Yes agonisers are PW and always wound on a 4+, think thats bad wait till the new codex and they count as posioned so you can reroll.

3. Yup it counts as a board edge so skimmers can fly right over you. On a side note just kill the portal holder before he deploys it and he will lose the game.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Actually you can have 140 wyches and 2 Wych Lords; but no raiders in that setup.

Also OP: Based on unupgraded models 98 Wyches(no syberites or special weapons, just base wyches) comes out to 1176 points; 11 raiders is 605 points; assuming the 2 Wych lords are the lower of the 2 choices thats 90 points adding 1 webway portal and 1 agonzer the Army cost(at minimum mind you) 1941 points. So I further assume that you were playing a 2000 point game that is not much room for upgrades along with the whole having too many Wyches, and too many raiders.

In short you seem to have gotten cheated very badly.


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Clthomps wrote:1. You can take more wyches than can fit on a raider provided they don't get on said boat. Example 10 marines and a Razorback. But honestly that list is crap.
No, you cannot.

Page 9, Codex Dark Eldar (2nd Printing):
If the squad has ten or less models they can be mounted on a Raider...

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer




Alabama

Before the game begins he must also declare what is going to come through the Webway portal. If you kill the model then those units he declared are destroyed.
   
Made in us
Rotting Sorcerer of Nurgle






Jacksonville, NC

Sigmatron wrote:Before the game begins he must also declare what is going to come through the Webway portal. If you kill the model then those units he declared are destroyed.


He never declared what was coming through, only that everything was in reserves but some warrior raiders.

So my question for the agonizer, it DOES wound when you HIT on a 4+? Or is it roll to hit, and just wounds everything on a 4+ (like poisoned)? The first one seemed bogus to me, seeing as he charged me with a lord and sybarite each with an agonizer with the reroll to hit drug and killed 9 marines on the charge before even rolling to wound (same with my mephiston)...

Check out my P&M Blog!
Check out my YouTube channel, Heretic Wargaming USA: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCLiPUI3zwSxPiHzWjFQKcNA
Latest Tourney results:
1st Place Special Mission tourney 12/15/18 (Battlereps)
2nd Place ITC tourney 08/20/18 ( Battlerep)
3rd Place ITC Tourney 06/08/18(Battlereps
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh




He hits normally and then rolls to wound. He wounds on a 4+ regardless of the toughness of the target.
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




Sigmatron wrote:So my question for the agonizer, it DOES wound when you HIT on a 4+? Or is it roll to hit, and just wounds everything on a 4+ (like poisoned)? The first one seemed bogus to me.


That's because the first one is bogus. What's he going to do with hits on 3+ if the wounding mechanic is a 4+ on the hit roll?

Did the guy roll for the Wyche drugs at setup, BTW? The drughead squads have random drugs. It's a pretty old codex, many parts are badly worded and many players only play it by rules their sister's ex-boyfriend told them about. You know, the guy who knew the owner of the local games store? He told him how it works, honest!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/07 05:02:12


 
   
Made in us
Rotting Sorcerer of Nurgle






Jacksonville, NC

Spetulhu wrote:
Sigmatron wrote:So my question for the agonizer, it DOES wound when you HIT on a 4+? Or is it roll to hit, and just wounds everything on a 4+ (like poisoned)? The first one seemed bogus to me.


That's because the first one is bogus. What's he going to do with hits on 3+ if the wounding mechanic is a 4+ on the hit roll?

Did the guy roll for the Wyche drugs at setup, BTW? The drughead squads have random drugs. It's a pretty old codex, many parts are badly worded and many players only play it by rules their sister's ex-boyfriend told them about. You know, the guy who knew the owner of the local games store? He told him how it works, honest!


He rolled for the drugs before the game (I didn't watch him roll). He also read the agonizer rule verbatim from the book... it sounded fishy, I know old rending rended off the "to hit" roll, so perhaps either he has the first DE printed dex, or he read it wrong? I'm surprised I won that game honestly, with how he said agonizer worked I lost 3-4 marines per combat just against that one weapon, lost meph in 1 combat (after I swung and he made half his invuns)...

But, then again, this same guy said that his Goblet of Spite allowed his grenades to hit on 3+ vs my dreads... and he also told me my guy got immobilized off a 4 result from a glance and had me roll off against him @_@ needless to say, he did some pretty fishy things.

Check out my P&M Blog!
Check out my YouTube channel, Heretic Wargaming USA: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCLiPUI3zwSxPiHzWjFQKcNA
Latest Tourney results:
1st Place Special Mission tourney 12/15/18 (Battlereps)
2nd Place ITC tourney 08/20/18 ( Battlerep)
3rd Place ITC Tourney 06/08/18(Battlereps
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You didnt watch him roll? Another mistake. DId they all coincidentally get great results on the drug chart?

Agonisers wound on a 4+, regardless of S vs T. They do not work off the "to hit". If the codex does not say "second edition" on the cover he is using the wrong version
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






Zid wrote:
But, then again, this same guy said that his Goblet of Spite allowed his grenades to hit on 3+ vs my dreads... and he also told me my guy got immobilized off a 4 result from a glance and had me roll off against him @_@ needless to say, he did some pretty fishy things.


Goblet of spite is actually far far more epically horrible than that.

Any models in the same unit, and any units with a model in base contact with the unit Succubus hit on a 3+ in CC - now matter what.

And they say they need a new codex! Bah =)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/07 08:24:16


"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
Made in us
Rotting Sorcerer of Nurgle






Jacksonville, NC

ChrisCP wrote:
Zid wrote:
But, then again, this same guy said that his Goblet of Spite allowed his grenades to hit on 3+ vs my dreads... and he also told me my guy got immobilized off a 4 result from a glance and had me roll off against him @_@ needless to say, he did some pretty fishy things.


Goblet of spite is actually far far more epically horrible than that.

Any models in the same unit, and any units with a model in base contact with the unit Succubus hit on a 3+ in CC - now matter what.

And they say they need a new codex! Bah =)


Wish I knew that, maybe my dreads woulda killed a few more!

Check out my P&M Blog!
Check out my YouTube channel, Heretic Wargaming USA: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCLiPUI3zwSxPiHzWjFQKcNA
Latest Tourney results:
1st Place Special Mission tourney 12/15/18 (Battlereps)
2nd Place ITC tourney 08/20/18 ( Battlerep)
3rd Place ITC Tourney 06/08/18(Battlereps
   
Made in us
Rotting Sorcerer of Nurgle






Jacksonville, NC

So me and this same guy got into a scuff today, he insists he has the new codex (says second edition on the front cover) and had my friend read the rules for agonizer from his book... is there an erata or anything to this? seems pretty off the cuff to me and I refuse to play the guy because, as it lies, its pretty OP

Check out my P&M Blog!
Check out my YouTube channel, Heretic Wargaming USA: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCLiPUI3zwSxPiHzWjFQKcNA
Latest Tourney results:
1st Place Special Mission tourney 12/15/18 (Battlereps)
2nd Place ITC tourney 08/20/18 ( Battlerep)
3rd Place ITC Tourney 06/08/18(Battlereps
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






It's just a poisoned power weapon, keep in mind DE have no PF or the like, and nothing above STR4 in CC.
What's some of the cheese you're feeling pressured by?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/13 07:39:06


"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

Zid wrote:So me and this same guy got into a scuff today, he insists he has the new codex (says second edition on the front cover) and had my friend read the rules for agonizer from his book... is there an erata or anything to this? seems pretty off the cuff to me and I refuse to play the guy because, as it lies, its pretty OP

Now you understand why Dark Eldar are not uncommon on tournament circuits. They're one of the only armies that have CC weapons that wound on a 4+ and ignore armor regardless of toughness - AND hit at initiative.

At least power fists hit last.

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Zid wrote:
ChrisCP wrote:
Zid wrote:
But, then again, this same guy said that his Goblet of Spite allowed his grenades to hit on 3+ vs my dreads... and he also told me my guy got immobilized off a 4 result from a glance and had me roll off against him @_@ needless to say, he did some pretty fishy things.


Goblet of spite is actually far far more epically horrible than that.

Any models in the same unit, and any units with a model in base contact with the unit Succubus hit on a 3+ in CC - now matter what.

And they say they need a new codex! Bah =)


Wish I knew that, maybe my dreads woulda killed a few more!


Not quite, this is how they used to work, and what the fluff would suggest, but is no longer valid.

This is because GW FAQd that any wargear only effects enemies when it specifically states that enemies may benefit from it, which the goblet of spite does not do.

So only the unit bearing the goblet, and any friendly units in base contact with that unit get the benefits.


Regarding the Agoniser issue, I totally understand where your opponent is coming from, the trouble phrase is:

roll to hit as normal, but don't roll to wound. Instead hits cause 1 wound on a D6 roll of 4+ regardless of Strength/Toughness


Your opponent is getting hung up on the phrase "don't roll to wound" and assuming that means that the 4+ must be on the hit roll, cause if you don't roll to wound there's no other roll to take it from.

In actuality the fact that it doesn't specify "on a To-Hit roll of 4+" but rather "on a D6 roll of 4+" means it is instructing you to roll a new D6 and perform a fresh roll, this roll simply isn't a To-Wound roll and doesn't follow the normal To-Wound rules at all, it is an entirely standalone D6 test.

He's not intentionally cheating you, the DE Codex is so horribly out of date and most of it doesn't make sense in 5th Edition, his interpretation has merit, but is incorrect. Good luck convincing him of his error.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer



Alabama

It is covered in Dakka FAQ in the latest version, but that's assuming they will abide by it. There is not an official GW errata that clarifies.

The rule reads, "roll to hit as normal, but don't roll to wound. Instead, hits cause 1 wound on a d6 roll of 4+ regardless of strength/toughness."

Roll to hit as normal = WS to WS. If you miss, you miss. If you hit, roll a D6. On a 4+ it auto wounds like a poisoned weapon. This second roll is commonly referred to as a Wound roll. Not hard to understand, even though GW had a brain fart said not to roll to wound.
   
Made in eu
Imperial Agent Provocateur




Scotland

I had the same issue with an Eversor assassin a few weeks ago. He's got almost the same rule with the neuro-gauntlet IIRC.

The "don't roll to wound" is basically an old way of saying.

Always wounds on a 4+ regardless of strength or toughness

Right?

Innocence Prooves Nothing


I am Blue/Black
Take The Magic Dual Colour Test - Beta today!
<small>Created with Rum and Monkey's Personality Test Generator.</small>

I'm both selfish and rational. I'm scheming, secretive and manipulative; I use knowledge as a tool for personal gain, and in turn obtaining more knowledge. At best, I am mysterious and stealthy; at worst, I am distrustful and opportunistic.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

Emmkay wrote:I had the same issue with an Eversor assassin a few weeks ago. He's got almost the same rule with the neuro-gauntlet IIRC.

The "don't roll to wound" is basically an old way of saying.

Always wounds on a 4+ regardless of strength or toughness

Right?

Yup.

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






Drunkspleen wrote:

Not quite, this is how they used to work, and what the fluff would suggest, but is no longer valid.

This is because GW FAQd that any wargear only effects enemies when it specifically states that enemies may benefit from it, which the goblet of spite does not do.

So only the unit bearing the goblet, and any friendly units in base contact with that unit get the benefits.


"Q. Am I able to gain the benefits of any of my opponent’s wargear or special rules, such as Teleport Homers, Chaos Icons, Tyranid Synapse, Necron Resurrection Orbs etc?
A. In most occasions this is clear, as the rules use the words ‘friendly’ or ‘own’ to indicate your units, and ‘enemy’ for the opponent’s. On the other hand, some rules clearly specify that they affect ‘friend and foe’. A few rules are, however, slightly ambiguous as they don’t clearly specify this distinction. As a general principle, we recommend that you cannot use or gain the benefits from any of the wargear or special rules of your opponent’s army, unless specifically stated in the rule itself (‘friend or foe’) or in an official FAQ."

So you're say that due this piece of text the penalty for using a goblet of spite is negated? When the rule itself is quite unambigious that any unit in base contact with the 'bus unit hits on a 3+ reguardless of ofther factors? (say FAQ's )

"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






ChrisCP wrote:
Drunkspleen wrote:

Not quite, this is how they used to work, and what the fluff would suggest, but is no longer valid.

This is because GW FAQd that any wargear only effects enemies when it specifically states that enemies may benefit from it, which the goblet of spite does not do.

So only the unit bearing the goblet, and any friendly units in base contact with that unit get the benefits.


"Q. Am I able to gain the benefits of any of my opponent’s wargear or special rules, such as Teleport Homers, Chaos Icons, Tyranid Synapse, Necron Resurrection Orbs etc?
A. In most occasions this is clear, as the rules use the words ‘friendly’ or ‘own’ to indicate your units, and ‘enemy’ for the opponent’s. On the other hand, some rules clearly specify that they affect ‘friend and foe’. A few rules are, however, slightly ambiguous as they don’t clearly specify this distinction. As a general principle, we recommend that you cannot use or gain the benefits from any of the wargear or special rules of your opponent’s army, unless specifically stated in the rule itself (‘friend or foe’) or in an official FAQ."

So you're say that due this piece of text the penalty for using a goblet of spite is negated? When the rule itself is quite unambigious that any unit in base contact with the 'bus unit hits on a 3+ reguardless of ofther factors? (say FAQ's )


hit on a 3+ regardless of other factors doesn't mean you can ignore FAQs, FAQs are not an in game factor, they are a supplement explaining how the rules should work.

The wording on the goblet says that "any units with a model in base contact with the succubus and/or his unit" are effected by it, this lacks the specificity called for in the FAQ "you cannot use or gain the benefits from any of the wargear or special rules of your opponent's army, unless specifically stated in the rule itself ('friend or foe') or in an official FAQ.". (emphasis mine)

There's no more reason in my mind to believe any unit means both friends and foes than there is to believe "If Terminators wish to teleport into the battlefield via deep strike and choose to do so within 6[inches] of a model carrying the homer, then they won't scatter" is indicative of both friend and foe Terminator units.

So yes I believe that what was once a disadvantage of the Goblet is no longer relevant, in summary:

"You take the good, you take the bad, you take them both and there you have the facts of life"

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






I like your argument dear sir (some friends my not) 3+ 2+ to hit and wound away~!

"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: