Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/09 20:39:58
Subject: Disembarking
|
 |
Cultist of Nurgle with Open Sores
|
How far can a Battlewagon and a Trukk travel and still have boys get out.
What if the Battlewagon has an ard' case?
|
Win/Loss/Draw Since Joining Dakka
17/9/7 - Salamanders
23/6/1 - Chaos Daemons
0/1/0 Dark Angels
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/09 20:44:11
Subject: Re:Disembarking
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
They're standard transport vehicles, transport vehicle rules apply. Page 67 of the small rulebook.
The only difference between a Battlewagon and a Battlewagon with an 'ard case is the former is open-topped, the latter is not. The Orks codex tells you where a Battlewagon with 'ard case's fire points and access points are. Doesn't affect movement, DOES affect disembarking and assaulting in the same turn - in that a Battlewagon with 'ard case (not being open-topped) cannot dislodge its cargo and have them assault in the same turn.
|
DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/09 20:49:47
Subject: Disembarking
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
...IF the BW has moved that turn (you can assault if you have disembarked from a stationary vehicle) before they disembark
Remember the exceptions, they'll get you every time
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/09 21:26:42
Subject: Disembarking
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:...IF the BW has moved that turn (you can assault if you have disembarked from a stationary vehicle) before they disembark
Remember the exceptions, they'll get you every time 
Yes, IF the BW has remained stationary, then even with an 'ard case, they can disembark, move normally, and assault.
But this kind of goes without saying, since I started by referring him to the rules in question.
And I like to avoid spoonfeeding rules wholesale, which is why I didn't include every caveat and addendum of the rules.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/09 21:27:06
DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/10 03:45:35
Subject: Re:Disembarking
|
 |
Cultist of Nurgle with Open Sores
|
Ok thank you for the help, just preping my orks for a tournament and wanted to know how to kit out my BW's
|
Win/Loss/Draw Since Joining Dakka
17/9/7 - Salamanders
23/6/1 - Chaos Daemons
0/1/0 Dark Angels
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/10 03:47:46
Subject: Re:Disembarking
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Oh well if that's all you need to know...
Never ever ever put an 'ard case on your BW.
|
DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/10 06:32:35
Subject: Disembarking
|
 |
Lethal Lhamean
|
and i would reccomend trukks for transport duty anyway.. they are faster, cheaper, do the transport job almost as good as a BW, and ramshackle keeps you "somewhat" functional after getting wrecked.
battlewagons are slow, expensive and imho best used as rammers and gun wagons. (deffrolla, 4x rokkits or big shootas and misc hev weapons)
just my 2 cents.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/10 11:58:20
Subject: Disembarking
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
DarthSpader wrote:and i would reccomend trukks for transport duty anyway.. they are faster, cheaper, do the transport job almost as good as a BW, and ramshackle keeps you "somewhat" functional after getting wrecked.
battlewagons are slow, expensive and imho best used as rammers and gun wagons. (deffrolla, 4x rokkits or big shootas and misc hev weapons)
just my 2 cents.
Except that 1) AV 10 all around gives you a much better chance of getting wrecked than AV 14 front, 2) Trukks are no faster than BW. Both can travel 12" and dislodge their cargo, which is the entire point, 3) ramshackle has just as good a chance of scattering directly back towards your table edge as it does scattering towards the enemy, and a Trukk is more likely to explode and kill your Boyz, and 4) yes, they work as rammers, but I'd love to see you find a situation where you can fire all four Rokkits (and a single BS2 shot is night worthless anyway, Rokkits are overpriced unless they're twin-linked). They're not fast vehicles, they can only move 6" and fire one Rokkit, which is next to useless. Take one Big Shoota to absorb a Weapon Destroyed hit and call it a day. Finally, 5) Battlewagons give you an extra couple of inches with the Deff Rolla on your disembarkation, giving you a slightly longer assault range, and 6) Battlewagons with Deff Rollas are still useful even after they dislodge their cargo, whereas Trukks are now expensive paperweights.
Battlewagons will get your Boyz into combat.
Trukks will get them killed.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/10 11:59:48
DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/10 12:06:55
Subject: Disembarking
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
5) Not true. DR is not part of the hull and is therefore not a legal point to measure frmo. In fact it hinders you disembarking if youleave it "down", as you cannot place models on impassable terrain.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/10 12:10:31
Subject: Disembarking
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:5) Not true. DR is not part of the hull and is therefore not a legal point to measure frmo. In fact it hinders you disembarking if youleave it "down", as you cannot place models on impassable terrain.
This is debated constantly. I consider it part of the hull, since there is absolutely nothing in the codex OR the rulebook to suggest it is not. If a Vindicator's siege shield is viable for drawing LOS for shooting, and therefore part of the hull (and it has to be, or 90% of the time you wouldn't be able to target the Vindicator's front armor) then my Deff Rollas are also part of the hull. They're both upgrades that are not weapons, but also are not turrets (the only thing, IIRC, that the rulebook states is a vestigial or "extra" part that can't be used to draw LOS).
If you can shoot my Deff Rolla (you can), then I can disembark from it.
|
DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/10 12:14:28
Subject: Disembarking
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Except the rulebook on "decorative elements" stating it isnt. It is only debated constantly by those who want it to count as the hull.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/10 12:58:11
Subject: Re:Disembarking
|
 |
Swift Swooping Hawk
|
Nos has it exactly right, by RAW the rolla is most definitely not part of the hull. That being said...check how the TO is going to run it, since we have tried a few different interpretations locally and atm are counting the rolla as part of the hull for our league and tourneys. The rolla is a very orky flavored upgrade, unfortunately the rules for it were perhaps also written by an ork...
Sliggoth
|
Why does my eldar army run three fire prisms? Because the rules wont let me use four in (regular 40k). |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/10 13:08:08
Subject: Disembarking
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Except the rulebook on "decorative elements" stating it isnt. It is only debated constantly by those who want it to count as the hull.
1) It's not a decorative element. That refers to things like antenna, spikes, embellishments, etc. Not actual fixtures of the vehicle, like turrets and weapons. Granted, it specifically says turrets and weapons cannot be used... but says nothing about rams.
2) So next time I play, I can bring my Vindicator, and as long as models are directly in front of it, they can't shoot at it, right? Because by your logic, the siege shield is not part of the hull, therefore cannot be used to draw LOS for shooting... and therefore, since it blocks out entirely the front of the hull of the Vindicator (save for the gun, which we both know can't be used either), anything in front of the Vindicator can't shoot at it.
Wow. Next Space Marine army I put together is totally going to have three Vindicators.
|
DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/10 13:15:06
Subject: Disembarking
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
1) Reread the bazillion threads on this, your argument has been done to death over there and it still isnt right. No, the deff rolla is not part of the hull, RAW. Not getting into it here, there is a HUGE thread on this topic.
2) Who ever shoots the front of a vindicator anyway?
(Yes, this means I am not addressing this arguments, as this is not the right place for it. PLease make a new thread if you want to continue down this road)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/10 13:18:59
Subject: Re:Disembarking
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
And you still haven't presented ANY evidence to support that assertion.
But it doesn't matter, as you're right in that this isn't the place for this discussion.
Anyway, to the Trukk advocate - disregard point #5 if you wish, but the rest of my points regarding BW versus Trukks still stand.
|
DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/10 13:36:03
Subject: Disembarking
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
SH - the point was I dont need to, as this was debated, and my side "proven", in other areas.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/10 13:37:44
Subject: Disembarking
|
 |
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'
|
Honestly only an idoit would consider the deff rollas part of the hull because if you measure corner to corner for your armour facings your gunna be just about all side armour.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/10 13:39:34
Subject: Disembarking
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
General_Chaos wrote:Honestly only an idoit would consider the deff rollas part of the hull because if you measure corner to corner for your armour facings your gunna be just about all side armour.
Personally I'd take the 12 armor in exchange for an extra 2" assault range.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/10 14:08:19
DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/10 14:04:21
Subject: Disembarking
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
SaintHazard wrote:General_Chaos wrote:Honestly only an idoit would consider the deff rollas part of the hull because if you measure corner to corner for your armour facings your gunna be just about all side armour.
Personally I'd take the 13 armor in exchange for an extra 2" assault range.
Considering BW are Side 12....
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/10 14:08:45
Subject: Disembarking
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Gwar! wrote:Considering BW are Side 12....
Yeah that's what I said. >_>
<_<
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/10 14:09:03
DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/10 14:32:11
Subject: Re:Disembarking
|
 |
Wicked Warp Spider
|
Just to kill off the off topic debate.
Page 56, Right column, Vehicles & Measuring Distances.
"<snip>measure to or from their hull (ignore gun barrels, dozer blades, antennas, banners and other decorative elements)"
You will find that when drawing line of sight to a Vindicator, you ignore the shield in front of it, and you will also find that even useful additions such as guns are also treated as decorative. Additionally, the hull of a vehicle or ship is never anything you attach to the object, but rather the object you attach stuff to.
|
I really need to stay away from the 40K forums. |
|
 |
 |
|