| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/12 11:24:27
Subject: Dark Eldar rules query
|
 |
Andy Chambers
|
Just a quick question to see what dakka thinks:
Can I join an independant character to a unit of mandrakes?
I dont really see any reason why I couldnt, as the mandrakes are "deployed", and I can attach an independant character to them during deployment. The squad is represented by the 3 mandrake markers as normal etc.. but when the squad is revealed the IC is played there too normally.
Thoughts?
|
"Dire Avengers are even great in close combat, I mean, an Exarch with a Diresword can even take down a Carnifex!!"
EUROCHEESE - You can smell it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/12 12:02:48
Subject: Dark Eldar rules query
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Can you place the IC in coherency with them, as required? No, because you cannot measure to them.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/12 13:30:22
Subject: Dark Eldar rules query
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
No, you cannot, for the reasons Nos has pointed out.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/12 15:31:12
Subject: Re:Dark Eldar rules query
|
 |
Andy Chambers
|
I can measure to the markers which "represent the actual location of the mandrake squad". So could I have the IC on the board next to a marker?
Or can you think of any way in which an IC could join a squad of mandrakes?
|
"Dire Avengers are even great in close combat, I mean, an Exarch with a Diresword can even take down a Carnifex!!"
EUROCHEESE - You can smell it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/12 15:33:38
Subject: Re:Dark Eldar rules query
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Jabbdo wrote:I can measure to the markers which "represent the actual location of the mandrake squad". So could I have the IC on the board next to a marker?
Or can you think of any way in which an IC could join a squad of mandrakes?
No, there isn't any way. being able to measure to a marker isn't enough, you have to measure to the actual squad.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/12 15:37:00
Subject: Re:Dark Eldar rules query
|
 |
Andy Chambers
|
ok, fair enough. Thanks for clarifying.
|
"Dire Avengers are even great in close combat, I mean, an Exarch with a Diresword can even take down a Carnifex!!"
EUROCHEESE - You can smell it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/12 18:43:11
Subject: Dark Eldar rules query
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Essentially marker /= UNIT, and you can only be in coherency with a unit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/12 21:23:49
Subject: Dark Eldar rules query
|
 |
Lethal Lhamean
|
once the mandrakes are revealed you can join an IC with them normally, by moving into unit coherency with them, but as for joining an IC before this, gotta say no.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/12 23:22:57
Subject: Re:Dark Eldar rules query
|
 |
Wicked Warp Spider
|
It should be noted that if you do manage to join an IC to a unit of Mandrakes before turn 1, then the Mandrakes can not deploy with their special rule since the IC does not have that special rule.
|
I really need to stay away from the 40K forums. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/13 21:01:51
Subject: Re:Dark Eldar rules query
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Mahtamori wrote:It should be noted that if you do manage to join an IC to a unit of Mandrakes before turn 1, then the Mandrakes can not deploy with their special rule since the IC does not have that special rule.
Except that you can't join an IC with them like that.
Independent characters join a unit one of four ways ( IIRC):
1) Deploy in coherency with the unit during deployment.
2) Deploy in a transport with a unit.
3) Join the IC to the unit in reserve, and they come in together when they come in from reserve.
4) Join the IC to the unit after they're both deployed, in the subsequent Movement phase.
None of these allow for "joining an IC to a unit before turn 1." (Emphasis mine)
It can't really be done.
|
DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|