| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/25 23:40:34
Subject: Termies and sweeping advance
|
 |
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller
|
I'll make one thing clear first- I understand that terminators can't sweeping advance- but here me out. The reasoning behind no sweeping advance for termies is big+slow, therefore can't catch other unit. But what happens if that unit is another group of termies?
|
Brb learning to play.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/25 23:42:53
Subject: Termies and sweeping advance
|
 |
Ship's Officer
|
Doesn't matter. They still cannot sweep, because the rules say they cannot.
Most people will tell you this, so hopefully before I get ninja'd:
Fluff != Rules (The "!=" means "not equal to")
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/25 23:48:50
Subject: Termies and sweeping advance
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Xca|iber wrote:Doesn't matter. They still cannot sweep, because the rules say they cannot.
Most people will tell you this, so hopefully before I get ninja'd:
Fluff != Rules (The "!=" means "not equal to")
Indeed. Rules say no SA, it means SA.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/26 07:36:34
Subject: Termies and sweeping advance
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Mozzyfuzzy wrote:I'll make one thing clear first- I understand that terminators can't sweeping advance- but here me out. The reasoning behind no sweeping advance for termies is big+slow, therefore can't catch other unit. But what happens if that unit is another group of termies?
This forum is about clarifying the rules, not changing them. This Proposed Rules forum is the place for this sort of thing.
|
There's just an acre of you fellas, isn't there? |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/26 13:42:07
Subject: Termies and sweeping advance
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
He wasnt proposing a rule, he was applying realism.
Realism =/= fluff =/= rules
therefore
realism =/= rules
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/26 14:18:33
Subject: Termies and sweeping advance
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
There is one place where fluff counts and that’s if the model is named as a type of X in it. GW has a habit of not naming what a special character is and then giving it a rule it could not otherwise use. For example Phoenix lords that are only mention as exarches in the fluff, trying to use exarch powers.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/26 14:19:10
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/26 17:18:11
Subject: Termies and sweeping advance
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Tri wrote:There is one place where fluff counts and that’s if the model is named as a type of X in it. GW has a habit of not naming what a special character is and then giving it a rule it could not otherwise use. For example Phoenix lords that are only mention as exarches in the fluff, trying to use exarch powers.
Actually, RaW the PL can't use Exarch powers.
Sucks I know, but thems the breaks.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/26 20:17:06
Subject: Termies and sweeping advance
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
Gwar! wrote:Tri wrote:There is one place where fluff counts and that’s if the model is named as a type of X in it. GW has a habit of not naming what a special character is and then giving it a rule it could not otherwise use. For example Phoenix lords that are only mention as exarches in the fluff, trying to use exarch powers.
Actually, RaW the PL can't use Exarch powers.
Sucks I know, but thems the breaks.
I would agree if GW could right the rules correctly but they have a habit of failing and putting it in the fluff. For example SW ATSKNF "Units which include Thrall-Servitors, Fenrisian Wolves and Cyberwolves are still subject to this rule, providing that the unit caontains at least one Space Marine" ... Now we all know from the fluff that SW are SM but If you just go from RAW then these units can never use ATSKNF.
Some times you need the fluff to tell you what something is because GW is thick like that.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/26 20:19:33
Subject: Re:Termies and sweeping advance
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
You don't need fluff you only need to look at the special rules for each SW unit. Those units that should have ATSKNF have it listed under their special rules section.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/26 20:20:02
Subject: Termies and sweeping advance
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Yes, you are correct. Those units cannot ever use ATSKNF RAW. What seems to be the problem?
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/26 20:23:16
Subject: Termies and sweeping advance
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
Gwar! wrote:Yes, you are correct. Those units cannot ever use ATSKNF RAW. What seems to be the problem?
With you nothing ... With GW i would like completed rule sets.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/26 21:03:08
Subject: Termies and sweeping advance
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
There is 1 instance where it is debatable. In the Deamonhunter codex, it states that their terminators may only consolidate and will not be able to "advance".
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/26 21:03:42
Subject: Termies and sweeping advance
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
jy2 wrote:There is 1 instance where it is debatable. In the Deamonhunter codex, it states that their terminators may only consolidate and will not be able to "advance".
Not debatable at all.
The phrase "may only consolidate" is pretty clear.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|