Switch Theme:

Tyrannid Prime Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis






Home Base: Prosper, TX (Dallas)

So I've started a pretty decent thread it seems on Nidz and their tactics and I have a question for you guys:

If you have a squad of 2 Carnifexes and 2 Primes (Equipped Identically) join the squad. How many wound groups is this? Is it 2 (i.e. the identical primes count as a single group even though they are IC's joining a unit) or is it 3?

Best Painted (2015 Adepticon 40k Champs)

They Shall Know Fear - Adepticon 40k TT Champion (2012 & 2013) & 40k TT Best Sport (2014), 40k TT Best Tactician (2015 & 2016) 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

Hulksmash wrote:So I've started a pretty decent thread it seems on Nidz and their tactics and I have a question for you guys:

If you have a squad of 2 Carnifexes and 2 Primes (Equipped Identically) join the squad. How many wound groups is this? Is it 2 (i.e. the identical primes count as a single group even though they are IC's joining a unit) or is it 3?


If they are identically equipped, they count as the same wound group.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

It would be 2 wound groups since there are no differentiating characteristics between the primes. If one prime had even slightly different upgrades, however, it would then be 3 wound groups.

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

The wound groups are divided by unit as well, however.

So they do not need to be different.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

I was referencing responses from:

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/319461.page

as well which is essentially the same question but for SM.

Edit: I might be interpreting your response wrong Kirsanth, from it I am under the impression you would treat them as 3 groups regardless of equipment

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/01 20:51:15


Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in us
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor





Wouldn't it be two groups for shooting and three groups for close combat? That is my call on it barring any special rule I don't know about Tyranid Primes.
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Correct.

The rules relate to units of identical models, page 25.

"The player must allocate one wound to each model in the target unit."

"Having allocated the wounds, all of the models in the unit that are identical in gaming terms".

ICs are treated as seperate units for CC.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/01 21:56:18


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




It seems like they would need to be separately equipped when joined to the same unit because of the following points.
I have not found anything that would conflict with either of these points in the Main Rule Book.

In the character section it lays out that the character becomes part of the unit, not a separate unit along-side.
› (Wh40k5.MRB, pg49, §1 ¶1):
"Independent characters that have joined a unit are considered part of that unit... If the unit they have joined is hit, the controlling player can choose to allocate hits against the characters just like the other members of the unit."

This part describes how to differentiate between models in the unit.
› (Wh40k5.MRB, pg25, §1 ¶1):
"... identical in gaming terms... By this we mean they have the same profile of characteristics, the same special rules and the same weapons and wargear."
The remainder of the section goes on to describe how to allocate wounds to units with multiple model types.

   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

That was how I read it too Bel, they are the same unit once they are joined to a unit for the purposes of wound allocation.

For them to be otherwise would require some argument about units remaining individual units while joined to other units...but I guess it really depends how you read the 'unit' statement.

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in us
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis






Home Base: Prosper, TX (Dallas)

I generally read it the other Calypso2ts but I'm cool with it the other way. I'll just give the guy dual boneswords and save 5pts. Just curious as it came up in the Tactica thread

Best Painted (2015 Adepticon 40k Champs)

They Shall Know Fear - Adepticon 40k TT Champion (2012 & 2013) & 40k TT Best Sport (2014), 40k TT Best Tactician (2015 & 2016) 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Brother Ramses wrote:Wouldn't it be two groups for shooting and three groups for close combat? That is my call on it barring any special rule I don't know about Tyranid Primes.
To clarify, this is what I meant as correct--as I read it.

I had originally read it as being 3 groups all the time, but that is not really founded in the text--IC are treated as any other member of the unit for shooting.

More reading.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/01 23:28:29


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yep.

3 units when in CC, as usual for ICs and units.

When shooting IF identically equipped they are 2 wound groups for allocation purposes. This is because the unit is a SINGLE unit for targetting (my, thats familiar sounding) purposes and the ICs "are identical in game terms"

Being an IC doesnt stop you being identical in game terms
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




No GW still hasn't figured out how stupid it is and they can't be in Myectic Spores yet- oh wait.

Yeah my thought process is what has been outlined here a few times. 2 for shooting, 3 for assault with all the IC stuff about targeting and base-to-base and all that good stuff.
   
Made in jp
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer






Somewhere in south-central England.

I've been playing this game for seven years and it still surprises me how complicated and difficult the details are in some areas of the rules.

I'm writing a load of fiction. My latest story starts here... This is the index of all the stories...

We're not very big on official rules. Rules lead to people looking for loopholes. What's here is about it. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: