Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 09:20:31
Subject: Assault question
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
I've read through the assault phase in the rule book and I'm either missing this, or it's not there. Can two units assault one unit, and if so, how does it work? Hypothetically, can my two separate Trygons assault one Daemon Prince? If so, how does that work exactly? The DP has higher initiative, so he swings first. He has 4 attacks. Does he get 4 attacks against each Trygon (8 total attacks), or just 4 attacks and then he assigns the hits to one of the Trygons?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 09:31:48
Subject: Assault question
|
 |
Leader of the Sept
|
You can cahrge as many units as will fit into a single combat. in the example the DP gets 4 attacks and as far as I can remember can distribute the attacks between the two Trygons because he is in base contact with both of them.
|
Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!
Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 09:45:45
Subject: Assault question
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
what you are looking for is on page 41. Called Multiple combats.
Your example is also clearly answered in the second bullet point under: Attacking
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 09:55:19
Subject: Re:Assault question
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Ah there it is. Thanks. I actually did look at that but only glanced at it. After reading it more carefully, I understand now.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 11:06:45
Subject: Assault question
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
|
What I would be interested in getting some clarification on... is what happens to weapon skill in those situations?
The rules say to that for units with different weapon skill values, to either use the majority, or if there is no majority to use the WS of the highest engaged model. But it does not say if this extends to ICs that have joined the squad.
For example: Imagine you have a Space Marine Captain (ws:6), attached to a command squad consisting of 1 Champion (ws:5) and 1 Veteran (ws:4)... (Everyone else is dead).
And lets imagine the unit gets assaulted by Genestealers (ws:6). What do the Genestealers need to roll to hit in CC?
Do the Champion and the Veteran count as WS:6 also because they are with the captain? Meaning 4+ to hit.
Or do they count as WS:5 because of the champion? And the captain is rolled for separately? Meaning 3+ to hit
Or... Do they count as WS:4 because the original squad consisted of mostly veterans? And if not... does that mean that if 3 HG are killed by power weapons, leaving a champion and a vet. Then by the time it gets to power fists the vet's WS will have increased?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/20 11:07:59
Smarteye wrote:Down the road, not across the street.
A painless alternative would be to add ammonia to bleach in a confined space listening to sad songs and reading a C.S. Goto novel.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 11:21:12
Subject: Assault question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Smackcakes - you are missing that ICs and their Unit are hit seperately in combat.
So in your example you would have to allocate attacks (you may not have choice in some allocations due to being in b2b) and at that point you use the respective weaponskills.
So attacking a WS6 captain you are ONLY attacking the captain and therefore hit on a 4+
Attacking a company champion and one joe bloggs you use the champions WS5 (it is higher and there is no majority) so hit on a 3+
You only ever count the majority at the time you come to determine your "to hit" roll.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 14:34:30
Subject: Re:Assault question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Nos has this correct. In your example, the stealers either attack the IC (WS6) or the squad (WS5).
But, in the case where you have 1 squad with 1 model each at 3 different WS (I don't know a squad this can happen to in-game, but maybe Kroot?), you would take the highest of the 3.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 15:55:00
Subject: Assault question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Actually all you need is 2 equal lower, and a single higher, and you take the higer.
For example 20 WS3, 20WS4 and 1 WS10. You hit them on WS10 because there is no majority.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 16:06:11
Subject: Assault question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Actually all you need is 2 equal lower, and a single higher, and you take the higer.
For example 20 WS3, 20WS4 and 1 WS10. You hit them on WS10 because there is no majority.
Excellent point! I hadn't considered that.
Also, does the rulebook say "majority" or "plurality"?
Example: 5 WS3, 4 WS4, 1 WS5. WS3 has a plurality (more than any other), but not a majority (more than 50%). Do you hit on WS3 or WS5?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 16:11:14
Subject: Assault question
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Grakmar wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:Actually all you need is 2 equal lower, and a single higher, and you take the higer. For example 20 WS3, 20WS4 and 1 WS10. You hit them on WS10 because there is no majority. Excellent point! I hadn't considered that. Also, does the rulebook say "majority" or "plurality"? Example: 5 WS3, 4 WS4, 1 WS5. WS3 has a plurality (more than any other), but not a majority (more than 50%). Do you hit on WS3 or WS5?
"If there is no majority Weapon Skill, use the highest Weapon Skill of the models engaged." So a unit with Five WS3, Four WS4 and One WS5 has no majority and thus you use WS5.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/20 16:12:08
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 17:30:19
Subject: Assault question
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Majority in England includes pluraility. Which is to say, the word 'plurality' has no bearing on things written in english, only american. Took me a while to catch that too. Check Oxford.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/20 17:31:14
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 19:45:41
Subject: Assault question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yep, in English it is a "simple" majority - the most members of a unit. So if you have one more than the rest you are the majority.
Gwar - you americanised shark you!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 21:15:47
Subject: Re:Assault question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
What? Brits don't even know what majority means? Don't they know we got control of the language as part of the War of 1812?
So, is there an explicit rule telling you which English the rules are written in? I see a few instances of "centre", so I would guess British over American (and GW is in England after all. But, does it actually say that explicitly anywhere?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 21:37:30
Subject: Assault question
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
As a (mainly) British writing team is used by a British company that uses a British publisher, it would seem most appropriate to use British as the benchmark unless explicitly stated otherwise.
/shrug
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/21 03:41:50
Subject: Re:Assault question
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Nice rules lawyering lol. Yah what it means when it says if there is no majority is, if there are EQUAL numbers. I.E. Five models with WS 5, and Five Models with WS 4, you use the higher of the two, WS 5. If you have four models with WS 5, and five models with WS 4, then the "majority" of the the models have WS 4, and thus you use WS 4.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/21 03:42:14
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/21 04:00:13
Subject: Assault question
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
Wait so If I join an IC to a five man unit (Making six models) and they are assaulted and take 6 wounds, I can't allocate any to the IC?
|
"So that's a box of lootas/burnas (there's only FIVE complete minis in here, and only four of them what you wanted!), a Dark Elf army book and two pots of paint. That will be your first born." - Kirbinator |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/21 04:09:40
Subject: Assault question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Before the enemy rolls to hit, they have to declare how many attacks go to the squad, and how many go to the IC.
So, if the enemy allocated all attacks on the squad of 5, and get 6 wounds, then you take all 6 saves on the squad, and none on the IC.
If they allocated them on the IC, then the squad takes no saves, and IC takes all 6.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/21 04:11:38
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/21 14:11:29
Subject: Re:Assault question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Here's a step-by-step breakdown:
Start with highest I models
1) Attacker allocates attacks to a specific squad (all attacks at a single I need to be decided together). An IC, even joined with the squad, is treated as seperate. Attacks from one squad do not carry over to another.
2) Roll to hit. If attacking a squad with mixed WS, use the "majority" (in the British sense), if a tie, use the highest WS.
3) Roll to wound. Treat T the same way as WS above.
4) Defender allocates where the wounds go, using same wound allocation as in shooting. An IC still counts as a different squad, so wounds cannot transfer between the two.
5) Roll saves per model and remove casualties as per shooting.
Move on to next I models and repeat 1-5
|
|
|
 |
 |
|