Switch Theme:

2 questions, CSM base attacks and DoW game type  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Beast of Nurgle




East Texas

Two days ago I played the Dawn of War game type for the first time. The rules state "you may deploy up to two troop choices and 1 HQ". My question is, if my HQ unit is in a Non troop squad, can they deploy with him (IE if I have Abaddon in a Termie squad).

and My second question is about CSM base attacks. My wargear includes a bolt pistol and CCW, so if I declare a squad is using pistol/CCW combo instead of bolters, and then I assault a unit, do my base attacks get boosted to two? (disregarding charge and marks)


- Thanks in advance!
   
Made in us
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot






Not 100% on the first one, but as for the second, yes you get the bonus attack for using a pistol and ccw

EDIT: And you can make the bolter vs. pistol/ccw choice on a per phase basis

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/06 01:40:21


- 3000
- 145 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




1. the dawn of war deployment only lets you deploy one choice from the hq slot and upto 2 from the troops slots. you may not deploy any elites, fast attack, or heavy support even if your hq can join that particular unit. so no abaddon may not be deployed with a unit of termies since termies are an elite choice not an hq or troop.

2.you get a +1 attack for charging and another +1 for pistol and ccw and you just add that to your base attacks

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/06 01:46:12


 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







aderdere wrote:Two days ago I played the Dawn of War game type for the first time. The rules state "you may deploy up to two troop choices and 1 HQ". My question is, if my HQ unit is in a Non troop squad, can they deploy with him (IE if I have Abaddon in a Termie squad).

and My second question is about CSM base attacks. My wargear includes a bolt pistol and CCW, so if I declare a squad is using pistol/CCW combo instead of bolters, and then I assault a unit, do my base attacks get boosted to two? (disregarding charge and marks)


- Thanks in advance!
No, you cannot, because an Elites unit is not a Troops or HQ unit.

You do not have to declare you are using it, you are using it anyway.

Your base attacks remain untouched, you simply have a bonus attack for having 2CCW. Yes, pedantic, but important.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

aderdere wrote:Two days ago I played the Dawn of War game type for the first time. The rules state "you may deploy up to two troop choices and 1 HQ". My question is, if my HQ unit is in a Non troop squad, can they deploy with him (IE if I have Abaddon in a Termie squad).


You can't not place your required HQ on the table. However, to get around this, you could add another HQ and place him instead while abby chills in his ride with his buds.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




um...what?

abby is an IC he can deploy in dawn of war...there isnt anything to prevent him from doing so. he can either be held off the table and move onto the table first turn with or without a unit of termies as dawn of war rules, be held in actual reserve with or without termies and come in as early as turn 2 or deploy on table as normal without termies.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




jurai - you are NOT compelled to deploy ANYTHING in DoW

Note the "may" in the sentence.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

juraigamer wrote:You can't not place your required HQ on the table.

There are no required deployments in DoW, just restrictions.

You can deploy 'up to' two Troops and 'up to' one HQ. You don't have to deploy anything.

 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






lliadon wrote:1. the dawn of war deployment only lets you deploy one choice from the hq slot and upto 2 from the troops slots. you may not deploy any elites, fast attack, or heavy support even if your hq can join that particular unit. so no abaddon may not be deployed with a unit of termies since termies are an elite choice not an hq or troop.


Note that it isn't "choices", it's "units". Important distinction.

e.g. An IG Platoon is a single choice but is lots of units.
A tactical squad with rhino is a single choice but is two units.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




ya thats true...i just use that to help me understand the rules for DoW. should have worded that better. but i did feel that i got the point out there

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/06 18:16:13


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: