Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/09 22:20:52
Subject: Murderous Hurricane - Unlimited Range?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I have an interesting question about the Space Wolf psychic power murderous hurricane. Murderous hurricane reads as follows, "The power is a psychic shooting attack with a range of 18". The target unit takes 3D6 strength 3 hits... Next turn that unit treats all terrain...as both difficult and dangerous."
That seems pretty straight forward until we get to the FAQ that has the following entry:
Q. Does Murderous Hurricane require the power to hit or wound its target to affect them?
A. No, a targeted unit is affected by Murderous Hurricane even if the power fails to hit or wound.
Here is where this all leads. You pass a psychic test for murderous hurricane and target a unit that is 48" away. Because that unit is out of range the shooting attack automatically misses. Is the targeted unit subject to having to take a dangerous terrain test in order to move?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/09 22:28:44
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/09 22:25:42
Subject: Murderous Hurricane - Rules Question
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Oh, good call.
My first thought was no, but that was because of LOS issues; with LOS but not range, that is fun. . .
Time to read!
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/10 00:36:00
Subject: Murderous Hurricane - Unlimited Range?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
No one else has a view on how this should be ruled?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/10 00:38:15
Subject: Murderous Hurricane - Unlimited Range?
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
Well since you can't shoot at anything beyond your weapons range, you can't pull that off.
Sorry, no idea where it says that in the rules, but I know it to be true.
Remember the FAQ says it works even if the power fails to hit or wound. Nothing about if the target is in range.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/10 00:39:14
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/10 00:48:33
Subject: Murderous Hurricane - Unlimited Range?
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
It actually says things out of range miss automatically for shooting, however.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/10 00:48:48
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/10 00:53:50
Subject: Murderous Hurricane - Unlimited Range?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
I believe that section is referencing when part of squad is in range and another part is not in range. So, either he would have to be in a unit that can target someone hojillion inches away and thus automatically miss his psychic shooting attack, or the rule stays that you can't target someone outside of your range in a normal circumstance.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/10 00:56:34
Subject: Murderous Hurricane - Unlimited Range?
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Kevin949 wrote:I believe that section is referencing when part of squad is in range and another part is not in range. So, either he would have to be in a unit that can target someone hojillion inches away and thus automatically miss his psychic shooting attack, or the rule stays that you can't target someone outside of your range in a normal circumstance.
That's just it. If they are out of LOS you are correct.
If the target is in LOS but out of range the shot misses automatically.
I cannot find anything stating otherwise, but neither can I find anything else where this would really matter--it's the FAQ that makes it rediculous.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/10 01:02:12
Subject: Murderous Hurricane - Unlimited Range?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
kirsanth wrote:Kevin949 wrote:I believe that section is referencing when part of squad is in range and another part is not in range. So, either he would have to be in a unit that can target someone hojillion inches away and thus automatically miss his psychic shooting attack, or the rule stays that you can't target someone outside of your range in a normal circumstance.
That's just it. If they are out of LOS you are correct.
If the target is in LOS but out of range the shot misses automatically.
I cannot find anything stating otherwise, but neither can I find anything else where this would really matter--it's the FAQ that makes it rediculous.
I agree, and I'd have to comb over the rule book to find any substantial evidence backing this up but I was always under the impression that if you can't get range on a target at all, with or without LOS, that you couldn't opt to shoot at the unit. Flimsy ruling to say the least. Unless this is actually how it's meant to be played.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/10 01:22:59
Subject: Murderous Hurricane - Unlimited Range?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
When you are shooting, you first declare a target and then check range. If the target is out of range, your shot automatically misses. There is no restriction on selecting a target that is out of range. This is further supported by the rule that if your target is not in range you cant select another target and try again
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/10 14:17:08
Subject: Murderous Hurricane - Unlimited Range?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
I would say that the target is subject to the terrain feature. You did shoot at the unit, and just missed everything. It doesn't make much sense, but that's the way the rule reads.
Kevin949 wrote:kirsanth wrote:Kevin949 wrote:I believe that section is referencing when part of squad is in range and another part is not in range. So, either he would have to be in a unit that can target someone hojillion inches away and thus automatically miss his psychic shooting attack, or the rule stays that you can't target someone outside of your range in a normal circumstance.
That's just it. If they are out of LOS you are correct.
If the target is in LOS but out of range the shot misses automatically.
I cannot find anything stating otherwise, but neither can I find anything else where this would really matter--it's the FAQ that makes it rediculous.
I agree, and I'd have to comb over the rule book to find any substantial evidence backing this up but I was always under the impression that if you can't get range on a target at all, with or without LOS, that you couldn't opt to shoot at the unit. Flimsy ruling to say the least. Unless this is actually how it's meant to be played.
You certainly can opt to shoot at things outside of range. You're still subject to "Gets Hot" and use up a 1 shot weapon (and others) if the target is outside of range, because you do shoot. You just can't hit, even on a 6.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/10 14:39:20
Subject: Murderous Hurricane - Unlimited Range?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
by the faq and raw I suppose it would have to be a yes it affects them, go go pound puppies
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/10 14:44:50
Subject: Murderous Hurricane - Unlimited Range?
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
juraigamer wrote:Well since you can't shoot at anything beyond your weapons range, you can't pull that off.
Sorry, no idea where it says that in the rules, but I know it to be true.
Remember the FAQ says it works even if the power fails to hit or wound. Nothing about if the target is in range.
This is incorrect. You choose your target, then check range. If your weapon is out of range, you simply miss. There is nothing in the rules saying that you cannot choose a target outside of your range. If that were true, then you'd have to premeasure all of your shots.
According to the rules, yes, this would work out. You could sling hurricanes all the way across the board, as long as you had LOS.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/10 15:40:36
Subject: Murderous Hurricane - Unlimited Range?
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
That's a terrible piece of rule writing from GW. There's good reason why ranged weapons with related effects require a wound or at least a hit in order to trigger the related effect.
|
|
 |
 |
|