| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/10 03:36:26
Subject: The Green Tide Apoc Formation
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Hi all,
Can the green tide apoc formation take any nobs in it, or is it literally 100+ boyz and one warboss? I know that pictures != rules, but the pics by the formation show a number of 10 man squads each led by a nob in the formation. I figured I might have missed something in the wording of it or something.
If you can actually take nobs in it, the formation might not be a total train wreck. If its just 100 normal boyz and a warboss, a single sentinel, assaulting the formation from the side opposite the warboss, could take the entire mob out of the game.
Has there been any clarification on this? I somehow have a feeling that you're not allowed to take nobz in it but thought I'd ask just to be sure :S
-Tyr
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/10 03:47:54
Subject: The Green Tide Apoc Formation
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
The uge Mob has all the Same options as a normal Boyz mob excepting Unit size and the mixture or Slugga+Choppa, or Shoota.
So yes you can have a Nob(but only 1).
Also for an extra 100+ points you can give the whole mob Stikkbombs, and then be able to kill the Sentinel(so long as it is not armored)
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/10 03:50:33
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/10 14:30:40
Subject: The Green Tide Apoc Formation
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Ahh, gotcha.
Wow... what an intimidating to look at, yet completely terrible formation. Why the hell would anyone take that thing?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/10 14:44:38
Subject: The Green Tide Apoc Formation
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Because it's the best possible way to tie up multiple units in a single turn? Think about it, with 2" between models, you can span those 100 Orks over a good portion of the board. It can also Waagh! every turn thanks to the formation special rules. Imagine assaulting your enemy's entire front line on turn 1!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/10 14:45:36
Subject: The Green Tide Apoc Formation
|
 |
Rogue Daemonhunter fueled by Chaos
|
Add mad doc grotsnick. Now they all haveFNP.
Also, apoc has a small space between the armies. they're great for a turn two charge. They also stay fearless for a very long time, and become much better if you play that only troops can score.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/10 14:47:22
Subject: The Green Tide Apoc Formation
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
For an extra 80 points you can get a big mek with KFF to follow them around giving em a 5+ cover too
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/10 14:49:00
Subject: The Green Tide Apoc Formation
|
 |
Rogue Daemonhunter fueled by Chaos
|
And it's apoc. Throw in AobR warbosses with cybork bodies, attack squigs, power klaws, and hate.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/10 14:55:33
Subject: The Green Tide Apoc Formation
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Oh, no doubt if you're not facing any walkers, its a great unit. The problem being that if there's even a single walker, like say a SM Dreadnought, that can assault the thing away from the warboss the whole unit is tied down.
Combine that with the lack of maneuverability and size (you're almost always going to be rolling for difficult terrain) and the sheer cost and... yeesh.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/10 15:02:29
Subject: The Green Tide Apoc Formation
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Well, you can have 1 Nob in the squad too.
Yeah, there are definitely ways to tie it down for awhile but overall it's not a bad formation. It's definitely intimidating, to say the least, and also will do a good job of protecting your other units since you can force your opponent to draw LoS through that unit for a long time.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/10 15:14:30
Subject: The Green Tide Apoc Formation
|
 |
Rogue Daemonhunter fueled by Chaos
|
A different way to think of it is that it can tie up a whole lot of dreadnoughts...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/10 15:17:10
Subject: The Green Tide Apoc Formation
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Polonius wrote:A different way to think of it is that it can tie up a whole lot of dreadnoughts... And still potentially be a gigantic wall of blocking models that other models have to engage to get through to the other side of the board that can't be shot if tied up with a Dread.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/10 15:18:28
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/10 15:58:51
Subject: The Green Tide Apoc Formation
|
 |
Rogue Daemonhunter fueled by Chaos
|
A clever player can do a lot of good with the unit, is the take home here.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/10 15:58:59
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/10 16:48:49
Subject: The Green Tide Apoc Formation
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Tyr wrote:Combine that with the lack of maneuverability and size (you're almost always going to be rolling for difficult terrain) and the sheer cost and... yeesh.
Check out the Stampede rule again; they get move through cover(meaning they are not likely to move much slower than 5") so no real net loss there.
Add in, as was said, that you can add any number of ICs(This is APOC after all, so Stuff the FOC); along with the most Basic tide is 675+Warboss+possibly 10 Special Weapons and it is not that expensive(just look at what 20-30 Orks can do, they are almost the rivals of Super-heavies in sheer Kill-ability in regular 40k to begin with), and the fact that it is an Apoc game so you still haven't even spent 1/4th your points on this massive wall of green.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/10 16:51:19
Subject: The Green Tide Apoc Formation
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:Tyr wrote:Combine that with the lack of maneuverability and size (you're almost always going to be rolling for difficult terrain) and the sheer cost and... yeesh.
Check out the Stampede rule again; they get move through cover(meaning they are not likely to move much slower than 5") so no real net loss there.
Add in, as was said, that you can add any number of ICs(This is APOC after all, so Stuff the FOC); along with the most Basic tide is 675+Warboss+possibly 10 Special Weapons and it is not that expensive(just look at what 20-30 Orks can do, they are almost the rivals of Super-heavies in sheer Kill-ability in regular 40k to begin with), and the fact that it is an Apoc game so you still haven't even spent 1/4th your points on this massive wall of green.
I always forget that the force org chart goes out the window in apoc. Good point about the special characters and independant characters. Can just stick an extra warboss or big mek or 5 with claws in there or something. Good point!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/10 17:16:44
Subject: The Green Tide Apoc Formation
|
 |
Alluring Mounted Daemonette
|
if you can only take one nob then why is there a picture of ten nobs in the formation in the Apoc book?
|
The Daemonic Alliance Infinite Points
Nightbringer's Darkness 3000 Points
Titan's Knights of the Round: 4000 points
"Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought." JFK |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/10 17:18:44
Subject: The Green Tide Apoc Formation
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Shenra wrote:if you can only take one nob then why is there a picture of ten nobs in the formation in the Apoc book?
Because GW prefers to copy and paste multiple pictures of the same unit/models instead of actually painting the formations.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/13 07:31:55
Subject: The Green Tide Apoc Formation
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
During an apocalypse game with my mate I had him dig up all his boyz the day before. He brought 500. at our best estimate. It is a devastating formation. Had he gone with the beard lengthening suggestions above, mad doc and mek my friends and I would have shoved him out the nearest airlock. It was still rape city without all the extras.
|
The USS Orinoco was a Federation Danube-class runabout that was in service with Starfleet in the late 24th century, attached to Deep Space 9. It was outfitted with a sensor pod.
http://orinoco.imgur.com/ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/15 22:12:48
Subject: The Green Tide Apoc Formation
|
 |
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer
|
Question, it states in the Uge Mob's WAAAGH rule that when the rest of the Ork army calls a WAAAGH their waaagh moves go up to 2D6.. . .
So if you have ghazghkull thraka. . . does that mean this mob gets an automatic 12 inch fleet move, then a charge on top of that?
|
"There are five possible operations for any army. If you can fight, fight; if you cannot fight, defend; if you cannot defend, flee; if you cannot flee, surrender; if you cannot surrender, die. " Sima Yi
DS:90SGM+B--IPw40k09#+D++A+++/sWD-R+T(S)DM+
_██_
(ಠ_ృ) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/16 00:06:18
Subject: The Green Tide Apoc Formation
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Anidem wrote:Question, it states in the Uge Mob's WAAAGH rule that when the rest of the Ork army calls a WAAAGH their waaagh moves go up to 2D6.. . .
So if you have ghazghkull thraka. . . does that mean this mob gets an automatic 12 inch fleet move, then a charge on top of that?
We pretty much house ruled that situation as 6 + 1D6. Seemed simple enough.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|