| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/13 15:33:29
Subject: Grot Riggers + Immobilised + Squadron
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
Hey guys, just had an interesting point coming up while planning a 1500pt ork footsloggers list.
If I take a squad of 2 killa kanz (number is irrelevant but must be >1), and give them grot riggers (can ignore an immobilised result on a 4+ instead of shooting), what happens? (as in a sqaudron an immobilised result becomes a wrecked result, and you crew stunned are lessened to crew shaken)
I see three possible outcomes:
Pure RAW: The upgrade is null and void, as the vehicle is wrecked before your shooting phase, and therefore cannot make the roll as the vehicle is technically no longer there
Pure house rule: The upgrade works, however the entire squadron cannot move as it waits for the immobilised kan to catch up
Silly option: I immerse the killa kan that was immobilised into a large vat of lime jelly and consume it
What's your thoughts, or am I missing something?
|
DR:80S---G+MB---I+Pw40k08#+D+A+/fWD???R+T(M)DM+
My P&M Log: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/433120.page
Atma01 wrote:
And that is why you hear people yelling FOR THE EMPEROR rather than FOR LOGICAL AND QUANTIFIABLE BASED DECISIONS FOR THE BETTERMENT OF THE MAJORITY!
Phototoxin wrote:Kids go in , they waste tonnes of money on marnus calgar and his landraider, the slaneshi-like GW revel at this lust and short term profit margin pleasure. Meanwhile father time and cunning lord tzeentch whisper 'our games are better AND cheaper' and then players leave for mantic and warmahordes.
daveNYC wrote:The Craftworld guys, who are such stick-in-the-muds that they manage to make the Ultramarines look like an Ibiza nightclub that spiked its Red Bull with LSD. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/13 15:45:18
Subject: Re:Grot Riggers + Immobilised + Squadron
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
|
Squadron rules make your riggers freak out and explode the kan as soon as it takes the immobilizing hit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/13 15:46:18
Subject: Grot Riggers + Immobilised + Squadron
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
RAW if that's the exact text, roll a 4+ and they would ignore it and that one would be unable to shoot next turn
at least how i see it
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/13 15:54:09
Subject: Grot Riggers + Immobilised + Squadron
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Leigen_Zero wrote:can ignore an immobilised result on a 4+ instead of shooting
That is NOT what the grot riggers rule says at all. Firstly, the immobilised result is not ignored - the grots have a chance to fix it in the next turn's shooting phase. Secondly, nothing prohibits you from shooting. A vehicle in a squadron counts immobilisation as wrecked. The damaged vehicle is destroyed before the grots can use their ability. Since a vehicle in a squadron never get's immobilised, having something that can attempt a repair of that damage type in the next turn is not relevant. The only way grot riggers are useful in a squadron is when there is only one vehicle left. Automatically Appended Next Post: jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:RAW if that's the exact text, roll a 4+ and they would ignore it and that one would be unable to shoot next turn at least how i see it It's not even close to the exact text.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/11/13 15:55:57
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/13 16:32:23
Subject: Grot Riggers + Immobilised + Squadron
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
Scott-S6 wrote:Leigen_Zero wrote:can ignore an immobilised result on a 4+ instead of shooting
That is NOT what the grot riggers rule says at all.
Firstly, the immobilised result is not ignored - the grots have a chance to fix it in the next turn's shooting phase.
Secondly, nothing prohibits you from shooting..
I was to be fair paraphrasing, as I am not going to copy rules word for word, the rules however do state that the unit must repair in the ork's shooting phase, and can do nothing until the next ork turn, thus they cannot shoot, and 'repairing' is essentially ignoring the immobilised result inflicted on the vehicle.
However, I am in agreement with you that giving a sqaudron grot riggers means that the upgrade is useless until the unit is down to 1 model.
|
DR:80S---G+MB---I+Pw40k08#+D+A+/fWD???R+T(M)DM+
My P&M Log: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/433120.page
Atma01 wrote:
And that is why you hear people yelling FOR THE EMPEROR rather than FOR LOGICAL AND QUANTIFIABLE BASED DECISIONS FOR THE BETTERMENT OF THE MAJORITY!
Phototoxin wrote:Kids go in , they waste tonnes of money on marnus calgar and his landraider, the slaneshi-like GW revel at this lust and short term profit margin pleasure. Meanwhile father time and cunning lord tzeentch whisper 'our games are better AND cheaper' and then players leave for mantic and warmahordes.
daveNYC wrote:The Craftworld guys, who are such stick-in-the-muds that they manage to make the Ultramarines look like an Ibiza nightclub that spiked its Red Bull with LSD. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/13 17:20:50
Subject: Grot Riggers + Immobilised + Squadron
|
 |
Tzeentch Veteran Marine with Psychic Potential
|
yes the upgrade is useless in a squadron.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/13 18:10:42
Subject: Grot Riggers + Immobilised + Squadron
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Leigen_Zero wrote:'repairing' is essentially ignoring the immobilised result inflicted on the vehicle
No, suffering a result and later being able to remove it is absolutely nothing like being able to ignore it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/13 20:53:59
Subject: Grot Riggers + Immobilised + Squadron
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Leigen_Zero wrote:I was to be fair paraphrasing, as I am not going to copy rules word for word, the rules however do state that the unit must repair in the ork's shooting phase, and can do nothing until the next ork turn,
Sorry, but they don't say that at all.
They simply say that the Ork vehicle can start moving on the following turn. There is nothing that prevents the vehicle from shooting on the turn it uses its Riggers.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|