Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/22 23:54:23
Subject: Tank shocking from reserve question....
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents
|
From the new FAQ:
Q: Can a vehicle that is moving on from reserves perform
a tank shock? (p68)
A: Yes it can, declare the distance it is going to move
along with its direction and move the tank onto the board
that many inches, measuring from the board edge as for a
normal from reserve. The tank shock is performed as
usual. However, if the tank is forced to stop for any reason
before the entire vehicle is on the board then the vehicle,
and any embarked units, count as destroyed and are
removed from play.
Just to make sure I have this right....you can tank shock from reserves as normal, but if you're forced to stop for an reason before being entirely on the board, you're counted as destroyed.
When tank shocking, you stop 1" away from an enemy vehicle to resolve attacks - meaning that if I have a vehicle on the board edge, the enemy vehicle is stopping 1" away from me (completely off the board) to resolve its attack - meaning that its counted as destroyed, correct?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/22 23:59:22
Subject: Tank shocking from reserve question....
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
It appears that way, yes. The "for any reason" seems to sign the death warrant.
|
What harm can it do to find out? It's a question that left bruises down the centuries, even more than "It can't hurt if I only take one" and "It's all right if you only do it standing up." Terry Pratchett, Making Money
"Can a magician kill a man by magic?" Lord Wellington asked Strange. Strange frowned. He seemed to dislike the question. "I suppose a magician might," he admitted, "but a gentleman never could." Susanna Clarke Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell
DA:70+S+G+M++B++I++Pw40k94-D+++A+++/mWD160R++T(m)DM+
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/23 00:02:13
Subject: Tank shocking from reserve question....
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Correct, I assume you are referring to pg 68 which states
'If the tank accidentally moves into contact with a friendly model or comes to within 1" of an enemy vehicle, it immediately stops moving'
For ramming I do not see any 1" provision, so I guess if you want to come onto the board and might be close to a vehicle, Ram it to get all the way on...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/23 00:28:17
Subject: Tank shocking from reserve question....
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Dashofpepper wrote:
Just to make sure I have this right....you can tank shock from reserves as normal, but if you're forced to stop for an reason before being entirely on the board, you're counted as destroyed.
When tank shocking, you stop 1" away from an enemy vehicle to resolve attacks - meaning that if I have a vehicle on the board edge, the enemy vehicle is stopping 1" away from me (completely off the board) to resolve its attack - meaning that its counted as destroyed, correct?
If you're tank shocking (not ramming) then you stop 1" away from any enemy vehicle you encounter. However, if you're ramming, then you just hit the vehicle (and if it explodes) you keep on moving.
So no, if a tank wants to ram a vehicle when moving onto the board it would not be auto-destroyed unless it fails to explode the enemy vehicle is ramming and has to stop partially off the table.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/23 01:43:59
Subject: Tank shocking from reserve question....
|
 |
Araqiel
Yellow Submarine
|
How do you determine the distance for the ram coming in on the board edge? I dont think it's going to be much for a lot of cases. If you are risking destroying your own vehicle then it better be worth it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/23 02:05:15
Subject: Tank shocking from reserve question....
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Choose the location on the board 'edge,' then pivot and tank shock/ram as the directions dictate. This should let you have fairly good control over the distance.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/23 09:03:19
Subject: Tank shocking from reserve question....
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Remember you can do what eldar do all the time, which is nominate a point on the board well away from where the vehicle you want to ram is actually located. If you do it well you should be able to ram at a fairly acute angle, potentially also getting all the way on AND moving a further distance.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/23 15:08:21
Subject: Tank shocking from reserve question....
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Remember you can do what eldar do all the time, which is nominate a point on the board well away from where the vehicle you want to ram is actually located. If you do it well you should be able to ram at a fairly acute angle, potentially also getting all the way on AND moving a further distance.
If you're an eldar skimmer, you can simply fly over the model blocking the board edge. But if the whole table edge is blocked, I'm not sure how you are getting the ability to tank shock?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/23 15:14:30
Subject: Tank shocking from reserve question....
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
It is in the new rulebook FAQ. They suggest that tank shocking onto the board is okay to do.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/23 15:19:25
Subject: Tank shocking from reserve question....
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
calypso2ts wrote:It is in the new rulebook FAQ. They suggest that tank shocking onto the board is okay to do.
Well, it's not clearcut. They say tank shocking onto the board is okay. But, then go on to say that if the vehicle has to stop for any reason when part of it is off the board, it's destroyed.
Problem:
I have a squad of infantry 2" from the board edge. You want to bring in your Land Raider from reserves right where that squad is, so you declare that it's coming on at full speed and tank shocking them.
You move your Land Raider a little bit onto the board, but get 1" away from my squad. Now, you have to stop and let me do my moral checks, death or glory, etc.
At that moment, part of your Land Raider is off the board, and you've had to stop. So, BAM, your Land Raider is destroyed.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/23 15:30:18
Subject: Tank shocking from reserve question....
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You dont stop 1" away - you declare the direction and "if an enemy is reached" you resolve TS, etc. Doesnt say the tank "stops" anywhere, unless you elect to DoG AND it succeeds.
Dash - because you are just "off" the board when you move on from reserves, and can thus fulfill the tank shock requirements (pivot in place, etc) - the FAQ just confirmed this was possible.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/23 16:01:08
Subject: Tank shocking from reserve question....
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Grakmar wrote:
Well, it's not clearcut...
You move your Land Raider a little bit onto the board, but get 1" away from my squad. Now, you have to stop and let me do my moral checks...
errr..what? Is a moral check when you look it up on the ten commandments or something?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/23 16:01:36
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/23 19:55:51
Subject: Tank shocking from reserve question....
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
This actually clears up a debate from a while ago as well then about vehicles coming in from reserves and not making it onto the board all the way. As according to this and contradictory to some people, .000001" is not "on" the board. At least, it clears it up in one scenario anyway (because I know no one would apply this to any other scenario of a vehicle not making it all the way onto the board for one reason or another).
closing can of worms now.
|
|
 |
 |
|