Poll |
 |
|
 |
Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/06 06:21:10
Subject: Can a mawloc use a terror from the deep and be in close combat as a result?
|
 |
Raging Ravener
Great Falls, MT
|
If a mawloc deepstrikes into a group of terminators(or other non vehicle models), and the ones who survive the large blast move out of the way, can they end up in base contact and thus in close combat?
Personally I think yes because rules are permissive, and the enemy units only have permission to move MORE than the MINIMUM required distance to avoid the template if the unit is in CC and would come into contact with other enemy models.
The Mawloc can also deliberately deepstrike into a unit a models for terror form the deep, and it makes sense fluff-wise that a mawloc bursting out fo the gorund in the middle of a squad of terminators would attack and be attacked.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/06 06:24:55
Subject: Can a mawloc use a terror from the deep and be in close combat as a result?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
IIRC you can only fight in CC if someone has launched an assault.
no assault, no CC.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/06 07:19:44
Subject: Can a mawloc use a terror from the deep and be in close combat as a result?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The minimum distance being "not within 1"", as you are required to move and moving outside of making an assault move requires you to be outside of 1"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/06 09:53:33
Subject: Can a mawloc use a terror from the deep and be in close combat as a result?
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
I don't really understand the question - you are told to move all surviving models out from under the blast marker. Models that cannot be moved out from under the blast marker are destroyed.
How does anyone end up in B2B with the mawloc?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/06 14:10:57
Subject: Can a mawloc use a terror from the deep and be in close combat as a result?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents
|
Scott-S6 wrote:I don't really understand the question - you are told to move all surviving models out from under the blast marker. Models that cannot be moved out from under the blast marker are destroyed.
How does anyone end up in B2B with the mawloc?
This.
No model can end up in base contact.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/06 14:23:19
Subject: Can a mawloc use a terror from the deep and be in close combat as a result?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
what's the dimension of the oval base? just longest and widest point? For some reason I was thinking it was smaller than a large blast marker?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/06 14:41:14
Subject: Can a mawloc use a terror from the deep and be in close combat as a result?
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Being in base to base does not mean you are in an assault.
Also, that is the strangest interpretation of a permissive ruleset I have seen.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/06 14:45:32
Subject: Can a mawloc use a terror from the deep and be in close combat as a result?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
PS fluffwise sure as hell aren't the rules
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/06 15:08:33
Subject: Can a mawloc use a terror from the deep and be in close combat as a result?
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
The Mawloc rule is creating an exception. It says to move the models just enough to clear the template and then replace the template with the Mawloc. The only two other limits are that they avoid impassable terrain and not be within 1" of units they were not in CC with before replacing the template.
Homer
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/06 15:09:04
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/06 16:08:06
Subject: Re:Can a mawloc use a terror from the deep and be in close combat as a result?
|
 |
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker
United States of America
|
No no and NO!
If it comes up from the ground and you end up in the middle of a squad even if that squad is in close combat you have to move either the opponents models or the Mawloc so that everyone is at least 1" away. Coming up and being in btb is not possible because in the rulebook it says a unit that is not engaged in close combat must remain 1" away from other enemy models. The Mawloc comes up from deepstrike during the movement phase and so is not, and can not, initiate an assault in the movement phase.
|
The God Emperor Guides my blade! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/07 04:22:07
Subject: Can a mawloc use a terror from the deep and be in close combat as a result?
|
 |
Khorne Rhino Driver with Destroyer
|
If it was possible it would also effectivly end your turn as your assualting you could not move nor shoot with your army.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/07 18:48:47
Subject: Can a mawloc use a terror from the deep and be in close combat as a result?
|
 |
Deadly Dark Eldar Warrior
|
Agreed with above, a Mawloc will not be put into an assault with an independent squad it comes up beneath. This does bring up something interesting though to me. What happens if the Mawloc comes up underneath two units in CC? According to Terror from the Deep, this is perfectly possible. However, how would one resolve said issue?
|
1500pt Hellion Dark Eldar - 12W/10L/3D |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/07 19:46:31
Subject: Can a mawloc use a terror from the deep and be in close combat as a result?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
vishra wrote: What happens if the Mawloc comes up underneath two units in CC? According to Terror from the Deep, this is perfectly possible. However, how would one resolve said issue?
That's explained in the Terror rule... you move them out of the way, keeping them in base contact where possible.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/07 19:46:52
Subject: Can a mawloc use a terror from the deep and be in close combat as a result?
|
 |
Alluring Mounted Daemonette
|
place both units one inch from the mawloc, still in base to base with one another?
can you even attack your own squad like that? I'm pretty sure, just like deepstrike, if the Mawloc comes into contact with impassable terrain or a friendly unit, the mawloc moves until it is one inch from both. Is this technically a shooting attack...because then it couldn't target the unit in CC
|
The Daemonic Alliance Infinite Points
Nightbringer's Darkness 3000 Points
Titan's Knights of the Round: 4000 points
"Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought." JFK |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/07 19:48:56
Subject: Can a mawloc use a terror from the deep and be in close combat as a result?
|
 |
Arch Magos w/ 4 Meg of RAM
|
Scott-S6 wrote:How does anyone end up in B2B with the mawloc?
the mawloc base is larger than the blast template in its long dimention
|
Godforge custom 3d printing / professional level casting masters and design:
https://www.etsy.com/shop/GodForge |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/07 20:01:22
Subject: Can a mawloc use a terror from the deep and be in close combat as a result?
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
can you even attack your own squad like that? I'm pretty sure, just like deepstrike, if the Mawloc comes into contact with impassable terrain or a friendly unit, the mawloc moves until it is one inch from both. Is this technically a shooting attack...because then it couldn't target the unit in CC.
I'm not sure I follow. Mawlocs do not function like Trygons or mycetic spores or drop pods and do not themselves move to avoid things. I suggest taking a look at the Mawloc rules, because your questions are covered there pretty clearly.
But no its not a shooting attack, impassible terrain should trigger mishaps as usual (although the wording for mawloc leaves the door open for avoiding this if he's also over models) and yes if a mawloc scatters onto friendly models they get hit just like enemy models. Automatically Appended Next Post: the mawloc base is larger than the blast template in its long dimention
Incorrect. Trygon base is 120 mm at its longest. A 5" blast template should be 127 mm in diameter. There should be room to fit the mawloc with mm's to spare. That is assuming your template is the correct size (which considering gw whippy sticks were an inch off its not out of the realm of possibilities).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/07 20:10:37
snoogums: "Just because something is not relavant doesn't mean it goes away completely."
Iorek: "Snoogums, you're right. Your arguments are irrelevant, and they sure as heck aren't going away." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/07 21:11:29
Subject: Can a mawloc use a terror from the deep and be in close combat as a result?
|
 |
Arch Magos w/ 4 Meg of RAM
|
winterman wrote:
Automatically Appended Next Post:
the mawloc base is larger than the blast template in its long dimention
Incorrect. Trygon base is 120 mm at its longest. A 5" blast template should be 127 mm in diameter. There should be room to fit the mawloc with mm's to spare. That is assuming your template is the correct size (which considering gw whippy sticks were an inch off its not out of the realm of possibilities).
my blast templates are the slightest bit smaller than the base, so... yeah.
|
Godforge custom 3d printing / professional level casting masters and design:
https://www.etsy.com/shop/GodForge |
|
 |
 |
|