Switch Theme:

Same Psychic Power Multiple times in a Single Turn  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




Assuming your psyker can use multiple powers per turn, and he is not using more that one shooting psychic attack per turn. Can he use or try for the same power more then once a turn?

I get into arguments about this all the time, I am a bit surprised it has not made it into any FAQ.
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

Yes.

Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


It made it into the GW's CSM FAQ, and the answer there is: yes it is okay to use the same power more than once per turn as long as it isn't a psychic shooting attack.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

yakface wrote:
It made it into the GW's CSM FAQ, and the answer there is: yes it is okay to use the same power more than once per turn as long as it isn't a psychic shooting attack.



Was there a caveat against it in a different edition that would require the Eldar codex to point out that Eldrad may even use a power that he's already used that turn?

WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




So why do people freak out if Mephiston makes multiple attempts at his powers?
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

I_like_u wrote:So why do people freak out if Mephiston makes multiple attempts at his powers?



Because Mephiston is a powerful unit and people are afraid of him being more powerful then they thought?


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




Much Thanks, I was afraid they may have had a valid rules based reason for their disagreement.

   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





A valid reason can still be wrong.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

puma713 wrote:
yakface wrote:
It made it into the GW's CSM FAQ, and the answer there is: yes it is okay to use the same power more than once per turn as long as it isn't a psychic shooting attack.



Was there a caveat against it in a different edition that would require the Eldar codex to point out that Eldrad may even use a power that he's already used that turn?


Yeah, the Eldar codex specifically denies Eldar psykers from using the same power more than once per turn...but that's a codex specific rule (which is why Eldrad's rule is needed).


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine





Tigard Oregon

Wait, i am confused.

I dont see how this can be used to an advantage.

Can you use Gate of Infinity more then once and hop over to your enemies forces or something?

 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Stubby wrote:Wait, i am confused.

I dont see how this can be used to an advantage.

Can you use Gate of Infinity more then once and hop over to your enemies forces or something?


Its only relevant with some powers. Gate of Infinity could not be used twice in the same phase because Deep Striking (which GoI does) counts as movement and a model cannot voluntarily be moved more than once in the movement phase phase.

In fact, I don't think any of the powers in the basic SM codex can be used more than once to gain any further benefit.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in se
Powerful Pegasus Knight





Of course, you COULD use it again if the power would fail or be dispelled. That might be the reason.

But very few actually buy the +1 power/turn thingie...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/01/11 07:29:50


If I use -><- I'm not mocking you, it's a reflex from using the " silly" icon on every other forum.
However, if I use this -><- I might just mock you.
Rats with hats: 3k
: 750p
Karash (at the home page of SATW) on the subject of America's fear of nudity:

which gets even weirder, seeing how you americans tend to use [the F-word] more often in various meanings than a smurf would use "smurf".


Nearly a quote except the censorship.  
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




Stubby wrote:Wait, i am confused.

I dont see how this can be used to an advantage.

Can you use Gate of Infinity more then once and hop over to your enemies forces or something?


If you failed your psychic check (or got hooded, etc) and you had the ability to use multiple powers per turn you try for the same power again.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/01/11 14:25:26


 
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Ahriman can cast Gift of Chaos three times.
   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

Two tries with a force weapon?

 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Now there's an idea.
   
Made in us
Furious Fire Dragon





yakface wrote:
It made it into the GW's CSM FAQ, and the answer there is: yes it is okay to use the same power more than once per turn as long as it isn't a psychic shooting attack.


People have jumped all up in my BLANK for trying to use such rulings as precedence across Codex's. So they can use the same power multiple times, if they are Ahriman.

Homer

The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Homer S wrote:
yakface wrote:
It made it into the GW's CSM FAQ, and the answer there is: yes it is okay to use the same power more than once per turn as long as it isn't a psychic shooting attack.


People have jumped all up in my BLANK for trying to use such rulings as precedence across Codex's. So they can use the same power multiple times, if they are Ahriman.

Homer


The exact same thing happens to me virtually everytime. People try to bully and guilty you for do something that is clearly within the rules of the game. Many times merely bringing up the matter tends to zero your comp score.

Any possibility of getting this added to INAT FAQ for BA or psykers in general?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/01/11 21:04:55


 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Homer S wrote:
People have jumped all up in my BLANK for trying to use such rulings as precedence across Codex's. So they can use the same power multiple times, if they are Ahriman.

Homer



Its one thing if a ruling in a codex FAQ is ruling AGAINST the printed word of the rules (like the Shadows in the Warp ruling against Tyranids affecting embarked psykers). In those cases there certainly isn't any reason to assume that one ruling takes precedence over the general rules.

However in this case, there is NO restriction in the rulebook about using a non-shooting attack psychic power more than once, so that ruling is as good as gold. Because nobody has any evidence as to why you can't use a non-psychic shooting attack more than once, why wouldn't the reasoning behind that ruling apply?


I_like_u wrote:

The exact same thing happens to me virtually everytime. People try to bully and guilty you for do something that is clearly within the rules of the game. Many times merely bringing up the matter tends to zero your comp score.

Any possibility of getting this added to INAT FAQ for BA or psykers in general?



Already there, my friend! RB.50C.01 for the general psyker question, and a specific question for the Blood Angel 'might of heroes' as its the only power that has the potential to 'stack' abilities on each other.



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: