Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/13 03:18:20
Subject: Master of Ordinance and Bring it Down
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
Hello YMDC,
In a recent game, an imperial guard player used the 'Bring It Down' order on a squad with the MoO. The unit successfully received the order and twin-linked against a rhino in LoS of the MoO. The controlling player rolled the stray, and deviated for a total of 2", but the blast marker remained clearly on the rhino. This is where things got strange. The player then said that he wanted to re-roll the stray. This was confusing to me because the target was hit. Apparently, his intent was to catch some nearby squad members under the direct hit blast.
What happens here? Can a twin-linked blast weapon re-roll unless it scores a literal 'hit' on the stray die? Does a 'hit' on the unit count as a 'hit' and stop the twin-linked from occurring, or can the player re-roll for the chance to cover more models with the template?
What's to be done here?
Thanks.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/13 03:29:40
Subject: Master of Ordinance and Bring it Down
|
 |
Yellin' Yoof
|
BRB: If the model has the ability to re-roll its rolls to hit and chooses to do so after firing a blast weapon the player must re-roll the scatter dice and the 2d6.
- So he would have to re-roll everything.
- But if he only had to re-roll the scatter dice, then yes, he could choose to re-roll even if he "Hit" the tank.
Master of Ordinance: If a "Hit" is rolled on the scatter dice, the blast will still scatter 2d6 in the direction of the arrow on the "Hit" symbol. If not it scatters 3d6 - If the MoO has line of sight, then he cqn deduct his ballistic skill.
Hope this Helps,
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/01/13 03:30:52
--- "Oi! I'm Boss Big'un, an' I ap'roov'd dis 'ere message!" ---
Gorskar.da.Lost : "Need more badass minis of unreasonable cavalry" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/13 03:31:00
Subject: Master of Ordinance and Bring it Down
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Correct only a "hit"(as in the symbol) on a t-l blast weapon cannot be re-rolled(BRB page 31+30) Bossbig'un brought up a great point, if that 2" scatter was from a "hit" icon, and only 6" scatter, no reroll would have been allowed. if it was an "Arrow" and only a 6" scatter(with LOS and on 3d6) The IG player was just being stupid, but the whole thing would need re-rolled in either case. It sounds like the IG [player did not understand how his MotO works.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/01/13 03:36:09
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/13 03:42:59
Subject: Master of Ordinance and Bring it Down
|
 |
Yellin' Yoof
|
Yeah... unless you are playing a 2000 pt + "horde" army, then give the MoO a pass. Just my opinion.
|
--- "Oi! I'm Boss Big'un, an' I ap'roov'd dis 'ere message!" ---
Gorskar.da.Lost : "Need more badass minis of unreasonable cavalry" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/13 15:25:25
Subject: Master of Ordinance and Bring it Down
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
BossBig'un wrote:BRB: If the model has the ability to re-roll its rolls to hit and chooses to do so after firing a blast weapon the player must re-roll the scatter dice and the 2d6.
- So he would have to re-roll everything.
Yep, we did that right.
Master of Ordinance: If a "Hit" is rolled on the scatter dice, the blast will still scatter 2d6 in the direction of the arrow on the "Hit" symbol. If not it scatters 3d6 - If the MoO has line of sight, then he cqn deduct his ballistic skill.
We did this right as well.
Kommissar Kel wrote:only a "hit"(as in the symbol) on a t-l blast weapon cannot be re-rolled(BRB page 31+30)
Great. Thank you. This answers my question.
Kommissar Kel wrote:Bossbig'un brought up a great point, if that 2" scatter was from a "hit" icon, and only 6" scatter, no reroll would have been allowed.
Alright. That makes sense and is now clear.
if it was an "Arrow" and only a 6" scatter(with LOS and on 3d6) the whole thing would need re-rolled in either case.
I don't think it needs to be re-rolled. If the MoO had strayed a whole bunch way off the rhino and into a pile of command squad nearby, can't the player choose to NOT re-roll?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/13 15:26:50
Subject: Master of Ordinance and Bring it Down
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Yup.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/13 18:19:00
Subject: Master of Ordinance and Bring it Down
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Kommissar Kel wrote: if it was an "Arrow" and only a 6" scatter(with LOS and on 3d6) The IG player was just being stupid, but the whole thing would need re-rolled in either case.
It sounds like the IG [player did not understand how his MotO works.
This is why you don't drink and post  It doesn't even make sense.
Ignore everything after the comma. Replace it with this new sentence:
If the Guard player choose to re-roll; the whole of the scatter-dice would need to be re-rolled, that is the Scatter die itself and the 2-3 d6(depending on the result of the scatter die).
You were correct the dice would not need to be rerolled, and in this case doing so is fairly stupid(unless you are actually trying for a larger scatter). You have full choice on whether or no you wanted to re-roll.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/13 18:39:06
Subject: Master of Ordinance and Bring it Down
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
out of curiosity, does it say that they may only reroll "missed" rolls to hit?
It's a little fuzzy, but I'd assume that the MoO would always be able to reroll, even if the scatter die rolled a hit, assuming that the template still deviated.
Not that it really matters, but I'm curious to hear from someone who has a rulebook handy.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/13 18:47:57
Subject: Master of Ordinance and Bring it Down
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Twin-linked only allows re-rolls on misses.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/13 18:51:28
Subject: Master of Ordinance and Bring it Down
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yeah, but a "hit" on the scatter die for MoO doesn't mean that the template even remotely hit the target.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/13 19:01:42
Subject: Master of Ordinance and Bring it Down
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Surely, I just meant that the rules themselves do not go into more detail than that.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/13 19:15:48
Subject: Master of Ordinance and Bring it Down
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
Oceanside, CA
|
kirsanth wrote:Twin-linked only allows re-rolls on misses.
He targeted the rhino.
He hit the rhino.
I'd say no re-roll.
-Matt
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/13 19:48:20
Subject: Master of Ordinance and Bring it Down
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
The "hit" symbol signifies a hit(even if it still scatters) only the Arrows are a "miss".
Still hitting the vehicle on a Scatter is not the same as a successful hit, nor is scattering 0 inches.
this is all (poorly) defined in the blast weapon rules.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/13 20:57:17
Subject: Master of Ordinance and Bring it Down
|
 |
Dangerous Outrider
|
kirsanth wrote:Twin-linked only allows re-rolls on misses.
Just out of interest, if you had a weapon that had other effects such as rending and was twin-linked, you may wish to re-roll even successful hits.
In this case, the play would have to re-roll everything, as in theory the MoO is meant to be targeting distant Basilisks and therefore may be rapidly giving new co-ordinates as a bigger threat has been identified.
|
Armies | Space Marines (Void Knights - Own Chapter), Space Wolves & Dark Angels | Imperial Guard Cadian and Kasrikin | Grey Knight/Sisters/Inquisitors | Empire - Hochland | Britanan (Relics) | Mordor & Gondor |
Hello, although I'm a static Zero.
I'm fighting all your wars.
Warning: These miniatures contain lead and should not be chewed or swallowed.
These Miniatures may well be miscast... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/13 20:58:48
Subject: Master of Ordinance and Bring it Down
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
You can play it that way, but it is not allowed by the rules.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/13 23:49:39
Subject: Master of Ordinance and Bring it Down
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
alphaomega wrote:kirsanth wrote:Twin-linked only allows re-rolls on misses.
Just out of interest, if you had a weapon that had other effects such as rending and was twin-linked, you may wish to re-roll even successful hits.
In this case, the play would have to re-roll everything, as in theory the MoO is meant to be targeting distant Basilisks and therefore may be rapidly giving new co-ordinates as a bigger threat has been identified.
Feel free to do that in Friendly games but at tournaments your opponents will request that you follow the actual rules; and they likely will not be as nice about it as we are not(as in they will be even meaner).
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
|