Switch Theme:

Necrons cut down with sweeping advance question.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I did a search on the forums and couldn't find anything. A friend recently started playing Necron, and we were wondering if they get a will be back roll after being cut down by sweeping advance?
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




The search is notoriously bad... but I think we have Necrons and Sweeping Advance on the first page. ;-)

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/347357.page
   
Made in us
Cultist of Nurgle with Open Sores







yeah as the post says.

the rule with sweeping advance says that the necrons are removed from play. which means they didn't take wounds to get knocked down. its the same as if a wolf priest hits you with JOTWW. you cant get a WBB since it says remove from play not wound taken sadly.

Army:
Havenican sector:
Amory IV legion 2750 points (100% painted)

Sons of Plague 2600 (95% painted)

HoverBoy wrote:
Skaven either devastate the enemy, or explode in spectacular shows of selfdestruction. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Actually they do get WBB from JoTWW, it's in the errata. But he is correct, and I was correct in my original argument with said friend, I just needed some other references. Thanks for the help.
   
Made in us
Cultist of Nurgle with Open Sores







Yeah just checked the GW erratta there is no entry concerning JOTWW
http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m1490294a_FAQ_Necrons_2009.pdf

unless they put out a new one but i doubt it since this is the official GW one.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
here is a copy of the erratta since the GW website sucks for navigating if you have any other rules needed to clarify.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/02/25 07:31:45


Army:
Havenican sector:
Amory IV legion 2750 points (100% painted)

Sons of Plague 2600 (95% painted)

HoverBoy wrote:
Skaven either devastate the enemy, or explode in spectacular shows of selfdestruction. 
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





Oregon, USA

I think it's in the SW errata under JOTWW, but I could be wrong...

The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
 
   
Made in gb
Fully-charged Electropriest





There's nothing in the Space Wolf FAQ about JotWW and WBB. The only relevant question is about cover saves, which aren't allowed because the power doesn't cause wounds - I would imagine the same logic extends to WBB.

There is a bit about Celestine and WBB and other such abilities and Last Laugh, which also has the 'remove from play' language and against which WBB etc. ARE used. You might be thinking of that.

Either way we have two conflicting rulings which seem to be completely arbitrary - you can't take a cover save because no wounds are caused (suggesting WBB can't be used) but you can WBB from Last Laugh (suggesting it can).



“Do not ask me to approach the battle meekly, to creep through the shadows, or to quietly slip on my foes in the dark. I am Rogal Dorn, Imperial Fist, Space Marine, Emperor’s Champion. Let my enemies cower at my advance and tremble at the sight of me.”
-Rogal Dorn
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You dont need to cause wounds to invoke WBB; WBB is invoked when you are "removed as a casualy"

Last Laugh removes as a casualty
JotWW removes from play
   
Made in gb
Fully-charged Electropriest





Good catch - quite a fine distinction since Last Laugh says 'removed from play as a casualty' but I'm willing to believe it.



“Do not ask me to approach the battle meekly, to creep through the shadows, or to quietly slip on my foes in the dark. I am Rogal Dorn, Imperial Fist, Space Marine, Emperor’s Champion. Let my enemies cower at my advance and tremble at the sight of me.”
-Rogal Dorn
 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

however, the WBB rules say that SA doesn't allow it, IIRC.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




GT _ nope, it doesnt

However, the 4th ed SA used WBB as an EXAMPLE of a rule tha tcannot save the unit. When they created 5th ed ALL they did was remove the example - it is word for word identical in the actual rule to 4th ed

Which is why it is *hilarious* when people tried to claim you got WBB from SA in 5th ed, because SA was "different to 4th ed SA"
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: