Switch Theme:

Ordanance Barrage  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Powerful Ushbati





Manhatten, KS


three questions here:

1. Barrage weapons do not ignore area terrain?
2. You have a manticore, it shoots D3 blast. The first scatter one. The second one hits, and the third scatter also hits. The rulebook states that you can place the blast anywhere and they can overlap. This means I can have them partially or even halfway overlapping another one of the blast, correct? Some would say that it can only hit where it originally hit or you can place it on the edge. But the rulebook states they can overlap. Some would interpret that as they overlap when they are on top of each other.


3. Can you assault a unit and end your move within 1" of a unit or model that you are not assaulting?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/02 04:56:32


TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)

TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)

TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




i've always played it as overlap wherever you want.

Dashofpepper wrote: While I was on the dating scene, I actually *didn't* get any sometimes because of size issues, something I'm grateful that my wife has gotten used to


Contact me if you want a sculpture commission! http://louisbrill.deviantart.com/ 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Tomb King wrote:1. Barrage weapons do not ignore area terrain?

For what? Cover? Or LOS?


2. You have a manticore, it shoots D3 blast. The first scatter one. The second one hits, and the third scatter also hits. The rulebook states that you can place the blast anywhere and they can overlap. This means I can have them partially or even halfway overlapping another one of the blast, correct? Some would say that it can only hit where it originally hit or you can place it on the edge. But the rulebook states they can overlap. Some would interpret that as they overlap when they are on top of each other.

There is no 'original hit' for multiple barrages. You place the first marker, and then roll scatter for the others without first placing them. The scatter roll determines whether you place the subsequent markers touching the first one's edge, or whether you can place them how you want... which includes being able to overlap them.


3. Can you assault a unit and end your move within 1" of a unit or model that you are not assaulting?

Yes. Stated explicitly on page 34 'Moving Assaulting Models'...

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




1) I assume you mean "does it ignore cover saves" - the answer is "no". If the blast centre hits area terrain there will always be cover for models in the area terrain

2) Yes, you can overlap as much or as little as you want on a "hit"

3) Yep, as Insaniak said - its in the rules for assaulting, stated explicitly. Change from 4th edition.
   
Made in gb
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator




York, UK

Whoa... I thought all template and blast weapons ignored cover for the purpose of cover saves!

Is this not the case?

I mean, Battle Cannons always wreck my SM scouts hidden in a crater! Boo-Hoo!

[Image removed by Google due to too much awesomeness] 
   
Made in gb
Daemonic Dreadnought





Derby, UK.

no no no.

It will only ignore cover if it says it in the stat line for the gun.

I'm not sure if all templates ignore cover, i'm assuming not but i might be wrong.


Armies:

(Iron Warriors) .......Gallery: Iron Warriors Gallery
.......Gallery: Necron Gallery - Army Sold
.......Gallery: Crimson Fists Gallery - Army Sold

Iron Warriors (8000 points-ish)

 
   
Made in us
Thinking of Joining a Davinite Loge







All "template" weapons ignore cover unless otherwise stated. But blast and large blast weapons have to say that it ignores cover.

IIRC, ordinance barrage makes you take cover from the center of the blast, so if you are in area terrain, you get cover, if you are standing behind you do not unless you have psychic power or something like that which grants cover.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/02 16:21:01


Jidmah wrote:That's why I keep my enemies close and my AOBR rulebook closer.


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Blast /= template

Template (i.e. the teardrop shape) innately ignores cover
Blast ONLY ignroes cover if it specifically states it does
   
Made in gb
Parachuting Bashi Bazouk





Cambridge, UK

With regards to cover saves and blast weapons... well, I'm no expert, but I thought it depends on whether the weapon is Barrage or not? For barrage, cover is calculated with the blast coming from the centre of the template, but for direct fire, it is taken along line of sight...

Could make a difference for a squad behind say, some sandbags... for example, no cover save against an earthshaker indirect fire, but a cover save if you fired directly (say, inside minimum range). For the scouts in a crater, assuming thats area terrain, they'd get the cover save either way (whether cover is taken from the gun barrel or from centre of blast, they're still in area terrain).

Otherwise, cover is only Always Ignored as a special rule, e.g. the Collosus or Nova Cannon. Am I right, or am I left?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/02 16:27:25


   
Made in gb
Daemonic Dreadnought





Derby, UK.

Basilisks have a min range? I thought the Earthshaker just had a range of 120".

So if it fires indirectly, what is the min range.


Am i right in thinking that it can fire indirectly without LOS or is that a pipe dream?

Armies:

(Iron Warriors) .......Gallery: Iron Warriors Gallery
.......Gallery: Necron Gallery - Army Sold
.......Gallery: Crimson Fists Gallery - Army Sold

Iron Warriors (8000 points-ish)

 
   
Made in gb
Junior Officer with Laspistol




Manchester, UK

One key thing to note, manticores do not fire as a multiple barrage.

Page 32 of the rule book states:

"If a unit has more than one barrage weapon, they all fire together in a salvo, as follows:"

However, the manticore has only one weapon with barrage, so it simply fires multiple independant blasts.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/02 16:35:51


The Tvashtan 422nd "Fire Leopards" - Updated 19/03/11

"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity." - Hanlon's Razor 
   
Made in gb
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator




Ipswich and riyadh saudi arabia

Basilisks have a 36 inch mininmum range and a 120 maximum they can't fire the eartheshaker at targets with in 36

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/02 16:37:47


3000+
2000+
coming soon  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




I'd suggest rereading the Barrage rules, as you're fairly confused.

The entire POINT of Barrage is it lets you fire out of LOS.

You have 3 modes - direct, indirect (no LOS) and indirect (LOS)

Direct - needs LOS, cover is calculated as for every other weapon
Indirect (no LOS) - you dont reduce scatter by your BS, and must be shooting at targets over your minimum range which is clearly written in the COdex. Cover is from the centre of the blast
Indirect (LOS) - best of both worlds. You fire as Barrage, reduce by BS if you scatter, and cover is worked out from the centre of the blast. You also pin at -1

If you're in area terrain, however, barrage does nothing to your cover save, as there is still cover in between you and the centre of the blast.
   
Made in gb
Parachuting Bashi Bazouk





Cambridge, UK

Bassies, like all ordnance barrage (except those that explicitly say "must fire indirectly" like the Collossus and Griffin) can elect to fire directly at targets within LOS, ignoring the minimum range constraint...

(...nosferatu1001 beat me to it)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/02 16:41:26


   
Made in gb
Daemonic Dreadnought





Derby, UK.

sweet. Wish i coudl field Bassies for my IW in normal 40k.

Armies:

(Iron Warriors) .......Gallery: Iron Warriors Gallery
.......Gallery: Necron Gallery - Army Sold
.......Gallery: Crimson Fists Gallery - Army Sold

Iron Warriors (8000 points-ish)

 
   
Made in us
Assault Kommando





Arclaw wrote:Bassies, like all ordnance barrage (except those that explicitly say "must fire indirectly" like the Collossus and Griffin) can elect to fire directly at targets within LOS, ignoring the minimum range constraint...

(...nosferatu1001 beat me to it)


I have heard this before but i can't find the rule. Could you point me to the page please?
   
Made in gb
Fully-charged Electropriest





Pg. 58 - 'ordnance barrage weapons can choose to fire... either directly or as a barrage - declare before you fire. If fired directly at the target, they are treated exactly like normal ordnance weapons (ignoring the minimum range in the weapon's profile).'



“Do not ask me to approach the battle meekly, to creep through the shadows, or to quietly slip on my foes in the dark. I am Rogal Dorn, Imperial Fist, Space Marine, Emperor’s Champion. Let my enemies cower at my advance and tremble at the sight of me.”
-Rogal Dorn
 
   
Made in us
Assault Kommando





thank you

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/02 19:03:38


 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Trickstick wrote:One key thing to note, manticores do not fire as a multiple barrage.

Page 32 of the rule book states:

"If a unit has more than one barrage weapon, they all fire together in a salvo, as follows:"

However, the manticore has only one weapon with barrage, so it simply fires multiple independant blasts.


You are aware that Blasts rule for direct fire says the same thing, right? See Multiple Blasts, page 30. And that neither rule, direct or barrage, actually mentions what to do if you have multiple blasts from a single weapon.
So by the rules, there is no way to resolve multiple blasts from a single weapon. Course, there is at least one FAQ covering it, which says that multiple barrage shots from a single weapon are treated as a multiple barrage................
In other words, if it's barrage, resolve it using the multiple barrage rules, if it's direct fire, resolve it using the multiple blast rules.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in gb
Junior Officer with Laspistol




Manchester, UK

don_mondo wrote:
Trickstick wrote:One key thing to note, manticores do not fire as a multiple barrage.

Page 32 of the rule book states:

"If a unit has more than one barrage weapon, they all fire together in a salvo, as follows:"

However, the manticore has only one weapon with barrage, so it simply fires multiple independant blasts.


You are aware that Blasts rule for direct fire says the same thing, right? See Multiple Blasts, page 30. And that neither rule, direct or barrage, actually mentions what to do if you have multiple blasts from a single weapon.
So by the rules, there is no way to resolve multiple blasts from a single weapon. Course, there is at least one FAQ covering it, which says that multiple barrage shots from a single weapon are treated as a multiple barrage................
In other words, if it's barrage, resolve it using the multiple barrage rules, if it's direct fire, resolve it using the multiple blast rules.


What do you mean? It says:

"If a unit is firing more than one blast weapon... , resolve each shot, one at the time, as described above."

You fire them all seperately, count up the total number of hits, and then work out wounds etc. Are you suggesting that you scatter multiple blasts in a similar way to multiple barrages?

Also, the d3 implies that you simply fire the weapon up to 3 times. There is no specific section detailing multi-shot barrage, but I see no need for one.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/03 00:06:15


The Tvashtan 422nd "Fire Leopards" - Updated 19/03/11

"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity." - Hanlon's Razor 
   
Made in us
Powerful Ushbati





Manhatten, KS

Last question guys for the most part you answered the way I thought you would.

I had someone try to argue that a vehicle firing out of area terrain gives cover it is 2" inside the area terrain. Even if their target is open. Am I right in saying only infantry suffer from the 2" of area terrain rule?

TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)

TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)

TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings 
   
Made in gb
Junior Officer with Laspistol




Manchester, UK

The 2" rule still applies to vehicles. However, distance is measure from the end of the weapons barrel, so it may be possible to be more than 2" into the terrain but still fire out if the end of your barrel is less than 2" away from the edge.

The Tvashtan 422nd "Fire Leopards" - Updated 19/03/11

"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity." - Hanlon's Razor 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




steeds of war wrote: Basilisks have a 36 inch mininmum range and a 120 maximum they can't fire the eartheshaker at targets with in 36
Yes it can if it fires directly. Direct fire negates all minimum range

Dashofpepper wrote: While I was on the dating scene, I actually *didn't* get any sometimes because of size issues, something I'm grateful that my wife has gotten used to


Contact me if you want a sculpture commission! http://louisbrill.deviantart.com/ 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Trickstick wrote:
don_mondo wrote:
Trickstick wrote:One key thing to note, manticores do not fire as a multiple barrage.

Page 32 of the rule book states:

"If a unit has more than one barrage weapon, they all fire together in a salvo, as follows:"

However, the manticore has only one weapon with barrage, so it simply fires multiple independant blasts.


You are aware that Blasts rule for direct fire says the same thing, right? See Multiple Blasts, page 30. And that neither rule, direct or barrage, actually mentions what to do if you have multiple blasts from a single weapon.
So by the rules, there is no way to resolve multiple blasts from a single weapon. Course, there is at least one FAQ covering it, which says that multiple barrage shots from a single weapon are treated as a multiple barrage................
In other words, if it's barrage, resolve it using the multiple barrage rules, if it's direct fire, resolve it using the multiple blast rules.


What do you mean? It says:

"If a unit is firing more than one blast weapon... , resolve each shot, one at the time, as described above."

You fire them all seperately, count up the total number of hits, and then work out wounds etc. Are you suggesting that you scatter multiple blasts in a similar way to multiple barrages?

Also, the d3 implies that you simply fire the weapon up to 3 times. There is no specific section detailing multi-shot barrage, but I see no need for one.


Exactly, "if a unit is firing more than one blast weapon". So is the Manticore firing more than one blast weapon? No, it's firing one weapon with multiple (d3) blasts. So how is a thunderfire cannon with multiple blasts from a single weapon resolved? Or an Executioner Cannon with 3 blasts from a single weapon? Do we use multiple blast rules or multiple barrage rules? Why? Both deal with units that fire more than one blast marker, right? So what makes you choose one set of the rules over the other?
BTW, these are leading questions, and now I'll answer them. You use whichever set of rules the weapon in question fires by. If Barrage, you use multiple barrage, if direct fire, you use multiple blasts. As I stated earlier, we do have one FAQ (Eldar Reaper launcher thingie) to look to for an example.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in gb
Junior Officer with Laspistol




Manchester, UK

Dang it, you are right. I concede the point good sir.

The Tvashtan 422nd "Fire Leopards" - Updated 19/03/11

"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity." - Hanlon's Razor 
   
Made in us
Powerful Ushbati





Manhatten, KS

It even says, Ordnance Barrage D3 Large blast for a manticore!

TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)

TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)

TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings 
   
Made in gb
Junior Officer with Laspistol




Manchester, UK

Yes, but confusion can arise when the rules don't really cover single models firing multiple templates.

The Tvashtan 422nd "Fire Leopards" - Updated 19/03/11

"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity." - Hanlon's Razor 
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






Trickstick wrote:the rules don't really cover single models firing multiple templates.


I disagree with this notion. The rules actually cover things like 'Blast 2' quite happily.

"When firing a blast weapon, models do not roll to hit, instead just pick one" Page 30
"ROLL TO HIT - To determine if the firing models have hit their target, roll a D6 for each shot that is in range." Page 17
"Some weapons... fire multiple shots. ...the number of shots a weapon fires is noted after its type. For example, a multi-laser fires three shots in each Shooting phase so its type is noted as Heavy 3." Page 27

So if firing a Grotzooka one simply replaces each roll to hit with the instructions for firing blast weapons. This because rolling to hit is actually an individual process (strictly speaking one shouold be rolling die one at a time except for scatter, LD tests or other two die tests =P ), so one has two shots, for each of them the roll to hit is replace by the blast actions - simple.

"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
Made in ca
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord






Page 30 explicitly says that you resolve each Blast shot independantly. The "touch the side" only applies to Barrage weapons. That one is a bit ambiguous though. Strict wording says that it only applies if more than one weapon is firing. However the rule is meant for Multiple Barrage markers and (at least to me) seems to indicate that it was also meant for Barrages that is one weapon, but have multiple shots. Take it with a grain of salt and be prepared if someone wants to go RAW.

Gwar! wrote:Huh, I had no idea Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines posted on Dakka. Hi Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can I have an Autograph!


Kanluwen wrote:
Hell, I'm not that bothered by the Stormraven. Why? Because, as it stands right now, it's "limited use".When it's shoehorned in to the Codex: Space Marines, then yeah. I'll be irked.


When I'm editing alot, you know I have a gakload of homework to (not) do. 
   
Made in gb
Junior Officer with Laspistol




Manchester, UK

Ok, so I should have said:

"Yes, but confusion can arise when the rules don't really cover single models firing multiple barrage templates."

The Tvashtan 422nd "Fire Leopards" - Updated 19/03/11

"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity." - Hanlon's Razor 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: