| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/19 23:54:18
Subject: Obliterators destroyed if only moving 1" onto the board?
|
 |
Pulsating Possessed Chaos Marine
|
I was playing a game casually Monday running some obliterators and rolled their difficult terrain move coming on to the board. I rolled a 1 and a 1. 1 inches could not completely put the base on the board but more than 75% fit on. Are they destroyed?
|
Chaos daemons 1850
Chaos Marines 1850
2250+
2500++ (Wraithwing)
I moved so starting from scratch. These were the armies I had, rebuilding my Chaos. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/19 23:55:35
Subject: Obliterators destroyed if only moving 1" onto the board?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes. See the BRB FAQ
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/20 00:08:25
Subject: Obliterators destroyed if only moving 1" onto the board?
|
 |
Pulsating Possessed Chaos Marine
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Yes. See the BRB FAQ
Well, looks like DSing obliterators are the best option in that mission.
|
Chaos daemons 1850
Chaos Marines 1850
2250+
2500++ (Wraithwing)
I moved so starting from scratch. These were the armies I had, rebuilding my Chaos. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/20 00:09:17
Subject: Obliterators destroyed if only moving 1" onto the board?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It's a 1 / 36 chance of dying, vs a 1/1 chance of not turning up first turn.
"Best" is hideously relative, especially in an icon-less army
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/20 00:09:36
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/20 00:18:35
Subject: Obliterators destroyed if only moving 1" onto the board?
|
 |
Pulsating Possessed Chaos Marine
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:It's a 1 / 36 chance of dying, vs a 1/1 chance of not turning up first turn.
"Best" is hideously relative, especially in an icon-less army
Good point, I just seem to be cursed lately. 3/17 games Ive played with them the past year this has hit me.
|
Chaos daemons 1850
Chaos Marines 1850
2250+
2500++ (Wraithwing)
I moved so starting from scratch. These were the armies I had, rebuilding my Chaos. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/20 00:20:01
Subject: Obliterators destroyed if only moving 1" onto the board?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
If you run 3 squads then that ups the odds of at least 1 per game quite high.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/20 00:27:17
Subject: Obliterators destroyed if only moving 1" onto the board?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
With 3 squads you have about 8% probability of one the squads not making it.
3/17 is 17.6%, so assuming 3 squad its unlucky but still probably within one standard deviation. (I'm not a real math nerd so I couldn't be bothered to work it out.)
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/03/20 00:30:39
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/20 05:22:50
Subject: Obliterators destroyed if only moving 1" onto the board?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Q: What happens when a unit arrives from reserves but is
unable to completely move onto the board? (p94)
A: The unit is destroyed and removed from pla
I don't like the idea of extrapolating this to Slow and Purposeful.
I will endeavor to find it, but I believe there is a rule in the BRB that disallows the use of a USR that will not let a unit move fully onto the table.
It's been a while since I've looked for it, so I could be wrong.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/20 05:25:07
Subject: Re:Obliterators destroyed if only moving 1" onto the board?
|
 |
Space Marine Scout with Sniper Rifle
|
Aren't you glad I'm a generous TO and let them live with opponents permission? lol
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/20 05:35:23
Subject: Obliterators destroyed if only moving 1" onto the board?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Kyvik wrote:
Q: What happens when a unit arrives from reserves but is
unable to completely move onto the board? (p94)
A: The unit is destroyed and removed from pla
I don't like the idea of extrapolating this to Slow and Purposeful.
I will endeavor to find it, but I believe there is a rule in the BRB that disallows the use of a USR that will not let a unit move fully onto the table.
It's been a while since I've looked for it, so I could be wrong.
No, that does not apply in this case.
BRB p.94 - Arriving from Reserves:
"If the unit has a specific rule forcing it to move in a specific direction (such as 'rage', for example) or that could stop it from moving, the rule is ignored in the phase it arrives from Reserves."
SnP does not force the unit to move in a certain direction nor does it stop it from moving.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/20 06:09:42
Subject: Obliterators destroyed if only moving 1" onto the board?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
jy2 wrote:Kyvik wrote:
Q: What happens when a unit arrives from reserves but is
unable to completely move onto the board? (p94)
A: The unit is destroyed and removed from pla
I don't like the idea of extrapolating this to Slow and Purposeful.
I will endeavor to find it, but I believe there is a rule in the BRB that disallows the use of a USR that will not let a unit move fully onto the table.
It's been a while since I've looked for it, so I could be wrong.
No, that does not apply in this case.
BRB p.94 - Arriving from Reserves:
"If the unit has a specific rule forcing it to move in a specific direction (such as 'rage', for example) or that could stop it from moving, the rule is ignored in the phase it arrives from Reserves."
SnP does not force the unit to move in a certain direction nor does it stop it from moving.
the way it sounds from the OP was that he was running on from reserves...if thats the case then rolling snake eyes for SnP will cause the unit to be destroyed
but let me take this a little further...in DoW it states that units other than your 1 HQ and your 2 troops that are not held in reserves are to enter the game by moving in from their own table edge just like moving in from reserves. would that then cause the unit to be destroyed if it rolled snake eyes on SnP?
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/03/20 06:13:47
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/20 12:52:48
Subject: Obliterators destroyed if only moving 1" onto the board?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
The op was a SnP move.
I don't think you can run on from reserves. You first have to perform a normal move (which can include not moving) before you can run. And when you move onto the board you have to make it all the way on with your normal move.
The FAQ quoted does not allow for any exceptions. If a model does not move all the way onto the board, it is destroyed.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/20 12:53:58
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/20 14:28:18
Subject: Obliterators destroyed if only moving 1" onto the board?
|
 |
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator
Talladega, AL
|
How large is a land raider exactly?
|
I ONLY NEED A 2 TO SAVE! .... ....
WDL
Space Marine Bike Army - 15/1/6
:tyranid: 3500 pts
~2500 pts
~2250 pts
~5000-6000 pts
GENERATION 10: The first time you see this, copy and paste it into your sig and add 1 to the number after generation. Consider it a social experiment. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/20 17:37:27
Subject: Obliterators destroyed if only moving 1" onto the board?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Just over 6", but it can fit onto the table in less if you angle it.
Back to the original question, Oblits technically (RAW) die if you roll 1,1 trying to move them onto the board. IME most players are happy to allow them to move on, however, extrapolating it as RAI covered under the rule Jy2 quoted.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/20 18:47:41
Subject: Re:Obliterators destroyed if only moving 1" onto the board?
|
 |
Pulsating Possessed Chaos Marine
|
Katfish! wrote:Aren't you glad I'm a generous TO and let them live with opponents permission? lol
Lol definitely. Thinking back, I might have have won that game without them. My dice were on fire!
|
Chaos daemons 1850
Chaos Marines 1850
2250+
2500++ (Wraithwing)
I moved so starting from scratch. These were the armies I had, rebuilding my Chaos. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|