Switch Theme:

Placing an independant char in within a unit but not With that unit...  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor





OK keep with me on this one.

Would the rules allow me to deploy a big mek with a SAG and then surround him by a unit of Grots but not actually have him in that unit. So any shots coming in would give him a cover save and any unit assualting would assault the grots first allowing my Big Mek to urrr leg it?



 
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

Techincally yes, so long as none of the grots were within 2 inches or closer then that is completely viable. However one stray lascannon shot and... (possibly) poof goes the mek.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets





Berkeley, CA

Yeah, tactically it makes more sense to let the grot entourage take the shots and deploy far enough away from the table edges to avoid flankers.

Let us know how the SAG works out. I ran two for a while.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/02 02:16:41


Paul Cornelius
Thundering Jove 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Problem here is if he is not part of the unit you can direct shots at him. I'd rather have a BM with 30 albative wounds than a 2 wound BM surrounded by a cover save that can get killled if he fails that save and it is from a Lascannon or MM.

Save the points and put him in terrain if all you are going for is the cover save.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: