| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/08 05:51:15
Subject: drop pod that cant disembark, what happens?
|
 |
Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries
|
so today at the shop a drop pod scattered right next to the table edge and was surrounded by enemy troops, there was no way to disembark
so the dreadnought was 1" away from any enemy model. what happens if you cant disembark from a drop pod as the rules say you must disembark from the drop pod?
After much debate the conclusion at the shop came to be that the dreadnought isn't destroyed and is stuck in the drop pod until he can disembark,also since a drop pod is open top he is able to shoot but can not be shot at as the drop pod is a vehicle that is not destroyed.
this just seems like a whole lot of wrong
any brb page or reference would be awesome
thx dakka
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/08 05:53:00
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/08 05:59:13
Subject: drop pod that cant disembark, what happens?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
General precedent is that a model that must be placed, but can't because of enemies is destroyed.
Examples include disembarking from a wrecked vehicle and failing to fully move onto the table.
The drop-pod rules don't cover it, but the closest equivalent that is covered is being forced to disembark from a wrecked vehicle. Realistically the intended answer is likely that the Dread will be destroyed, but it's not covered in any concrete fashion.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/08 06:04:37
Subject: Re:drop pod that cant disembark, what happens?
|
 |
Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries
|
thanx for the response but the drop pod is not wrecked so that rule would not apply, its more like a rhino that is surrounded by enemy models but is not wrecked or destroyed, even emergency disembark rule seem insufficient Automatically Appended Next Post: have I stumped dakka?
say it ant so Joe....say it ant so....
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/08 06:43:53
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/08 07:00:55
Subject: drop pod that cant disembark, what happens?
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
|
I think you have.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/08 07:08:56
Subject: drop pod that cant disembark, what happens?
|
 |
Mysterious Techpriest
|
It's destroyed. If a model that must be placed on the table cannot be placed on the table, it's removed from play and counts as a casualty.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/08 07:10:50
Subject: drop pod that cant disembark, what happens?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Generally any time a unit is forced to disembark and cannot for any reason the unit inside the transport is destroyed.
There aren't really any exact rules/FAQs to support this exact circumstance, but all related variants destroy the transported units(e.g: Fast transports moving flat out and getting destroyed in the same player turn, Surrounded vehicles getting Wrecked, etc).
As the unit in the Drop-pod must disembark the drop-pod, and cannot, it should be destroyed.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/08 07:21:39
Subject: Re:drop pod that cant disembark, what happens?
|
 |
Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries
|
the thing is is that the rule say must disembark as normal in the codex, so then refer to the brb and it says that if you cannot disembark then the model stays inside the vehicle unless you attempt a emergency disembark, and in this case cant happen
this has to of happened before, sometimes it is so frustrating the glaring holes in gw hammer rules
pretty much basically this is a dice roll situation witch kinda sucks considering the circumstance
this was a game of Dark Eldar vs. Blood Angles and this was game changing basically the blood angles player won the game from this outcome, just wish there was something to cover this more specifically.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Find where it says that a vehicle that isnt destroyed or wrecked has to disembark when its surrounded by enemy troops and cannot disempark further away than 1" from any enemy model,....... I cant
to be more specific the drop pod was surrounded by 3 raiders and or ravengers ( think that's what they are called) it was a lib dread inside and destroyed 2 of them with blood lance while being inside the drop pod, it truly was game changing
|
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2011/04/08 07:47:19
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/08 08:54:26
Subject: drop pod that cant disembark, what happens?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
There isnt a rule saying it, however you have an imperative (must) in conflict with the "cannot" rules
And, as has been said - EVERY time a model cannot make it onto the table when it MUST do so, it gets destroyed.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/08 15:11:54
Subject: drop pod that cant disembark, what happens?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
can't stump dakka with an old question like that ^^ the units destroyed
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/08 16:14:08
Subject: Re:drop pod that cant disembark, what happens?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Agreed. A drop pod is a unique vehicle in that there is no option to remain on board. The transported unit is required as part of the delivery to disembark. "Must". The situation was created such that the unit in question was unable to do so and the rules clearly state that any time a unit is "forced to disembark" and cannot do so, they are removed from play.
The rules are clear for the most part on this one to my read.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/08 16:40:14
Subject: Re:drop pod that cant disembark, what happens?
|
 |
Malicious Mandrake
|
Under the Drop Pod rules, in the SM codex, they must disembark, and once disembarked, no models may reembark.
Sounds like a forced disembarkation to me. Hence, if it can't be place, its destroyed because it couldn't get out of its transport that is no longer a transport.
|
Kabal of Isha's Fall 12000PTs
Best DE advice ever!!!
Dashofpepper wrote:Asking how to make a game out of a match against Dark Eldar is like being in a prison cell surrounded by 10 big horny guys who each outweigh you by 100 pounds and asking "What can I do to make this a good fight?" You're going to get violated, and your best bet is to go willingly to get it over with faster.
And on a totally different topic:
Dashofpepper wrote:Greetings Mephiston! My name is Ghazghkull Thraka, and today you will be made my bitch. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/08 21:01:03
Subject: Re:drop pod that cant disembark, what happens?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Should be a mishap for the Dread.
From GW FAQ:
Q: Does a unit being transported by a vehicle that has
arrived by Deep Stike that turn also count as having
arrived by Deep Strike? (p95)
A: Yes.
Dread counts as deepstriking, can't be placed, so he mishaps.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/09 00:33:55
Subject: drop pod that cant disembark, what happens?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Counts as is not always the same as did.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/09 00:46:27
Subject: Re:drop pod that cant disembark, what happens?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
My vote is for it is destroyed. If you can't force disembark it would seem to me that the unit ought to count as destroyed.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/10 09:39:22
Subject: Re:drop pod that cant disembark, what happens?
|
 |
Flashy Flashgitz
|
I'd say this is why forgeworld made the drop pod for dreads. IMO it sits in the center cavity but drop pods are a bit of a cluster F(*& of the rules anyway. There isn't really a precedent allowing for two models occupying the same spot.
RAW I think it the best logical response would be a deepstrike mishap.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/04/10 09:43:07
7 Armies 30,000+
, , , , , , , |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/10 09:53:30
Subject: drop pod that cant disembark, what happens?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
diebydie wrote:so today at the shop a drop pod scattered right next to the table edge and was surrounded by enemy troops, there was no way to disembark
so the dreadnought was 1" away from any enemy model. what happens if you cant disembark from a drop pod as the rules say you must disembark from the drop pod?
just a ponder don't know for certain, but the drop pod was able to land exactly a inch away from the enemy and was surrounded sounds like a tight fit wouldn't of inertial guidance system rule come into effect instead ? i wasn't there or know what the situation was but i would of thought if there was that many models you wouldn't of been able to of placed the drop pod in the first place in the position it was in any way.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/10 10:00:05
Subject: Re:drop pod that cant disembark, what happens?
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
trichloro wrote:Should be a mishap for the Dread.
From GW FAQ:
Q: Does a unit being transported by a vehicle that has
arrived by Deep Stike that turn also count as having
arrived by Deep Strike? (p95)
A: Yes.
Dread counts as deepstriking, can't be placed, so he mishaps.
But then what happens if you roll anything other than destroyed? Where could the enemy deploy the Dreadnought? How could you put the model back in reserves to deep strike at a later time?
There is no RAW way to solve this problem, IMHO. Either just count it as being destroyed, or leave it embarked in the transport until the first chance it has at disembarking.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/10 12:13:43
Subject: Re:drop pod that cant disembark, what happens?
|
 |
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior
|
Cheexsta wrote:
, or leave it embarked in the transport until the first chance it has at disembarking.
Which has absolutely 0% framework or support to do in the rules for Drop Pods.
The unit is destroyed.
|
I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/10 14:32:31
Subject: Re:drop pod that cant disembark, what happens?
|
 |
Malicious Mandrake
|
Plain and simple the dreadnought is destroyed, because he must disembark from the drop pod due to its special rules, so that means a forced disembarkation, and it states in the disembarkation rules that any models that cannot be place due to the disembarkation rules, i.e. enemy within one inch, cant be placed within 2" of hull, can't maintain unit coherency, is destroyed. So, the dread is destroyed, and that's it.
|
Kabal of Isha's Fall 12000PTs
Best DE advice ever!!!
Dashofpepper wrote:Asking how to make a game out of a match against Dark Eldar is like being in a prison cell surrounded by 10 big horny guys who each outweigh you by 100 pounds and asking "What can I do to make this a good fight?" You're going to get violated, and your best bet is to go willingly to get it over with faster.
And on a totally different topic:
Dashofpepper wrote:Greetings Mephiston! My name is Ghazghkull Thraka, and today you will be made my bitch. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/10 20:07:45
Subject: drop pod that cant disembark, what happens?
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Tandaron wrote:just a ponder don't know for certain, but the drop pod was able to land exactly a inch away from the enemy and was surrounded sounds like a tight fit wouldn't of inertial guidance system rule come into effect instead ? i wasn't there or know what the situation was but i would of thought if there was that many models you wouldn't of been able to of placed the drop pod in the first place in the position it was in any way.
The intertial guidance rule only requires room to place the pod - it does not make any provision for the disembarking models. Why do so many people think that rule is magic wand which means that nothing bad can ever happen to a drop pod or the unit inside?
diebydie wrote:the thing is is that the rule say must disembark as normal in the codex, so then refer to the brb and it says that if you cannot disembark then the model stays inside the vehicle unless you attempt a emergency disembark
The rules say no such thing. You are referring to the 1st paragraph of P67 which covers voluntary disembarking. This does not apply in the case of the dreadnaught as it MUST disembark, there is no option to remain on board. The only guidance we have for what to do when models are forced to disembark says "any models that cannot disembark are destroyed".
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/11 06:01:05
Subject: drop pod that cant disembark, what happens?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
dread is dead if it cannot deploy from droppod.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/11 06:13:19
Subject: drop pod that cant disembark, what happens?
|
 |
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot
|
Also throwing in a vote for destroyed.
If your opponent REALLY whines about it, allow the pod to land, but doors don't open until there is space to deploy the unit inside. Nothing can shoot out, and doesn't count as open topped until the unit inside deploys (which MUST happen as soon as possible). I would never allow it to be played this way, but it's an option.
|
- 3000
- 145 |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|