Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/11 05:00:56
Subject: Flickerfields vs. Vindicare
|
 |
Malicious Mandrake
|
Had this question come up the other day in a discussion, thought I would post it here and see what Dakka thought.
Can the Vindicare take out a Flickerfield save?? I realize it would be a wasted shot on anything but a Ravager, but could it?? The vehicle upgrades are listed as wargear, so that falls under the rule for what the Vindicare needs it to be, but you can't allocate wounds to a vehicle, so is it safe?
|
Kabal of Isha's Fall 12000PTs
Best DE advice ever!!!
Dashofpepper wrote:Asking how to make a game out of a match against Dark Eldar is like being in a prison cell surrounded by 10 big horny guys who each outweigh you by 100 pounds and asking "What can I do to make this a good fight?" You're going to get violated, and your best bet is to go willingly to get it over with faster.
And on a totally different topic:
Dashofpepper wrote:Greetings Mephiston! My name is Ghazghkull Thraka, and today you will be made my bitch. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/11 08:40:26
Subject: Flickerfields vs. Vindicare
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, it can take it out - it doesnt need to wound to remove the save
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/11 09:08:53
Subject: Re:Flickerfields vs. Vindicare
|
 |
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan
|
As Nos said, it doesn't require a wound, only a hit.
By the way, the Exitus Rifle can reach armour penetration 12 with any round, thanks to rending and the base S3 of sniper weapons.
|
For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/11 11:16:38
Subject: Re:Flickerfields vs. Vindicare
|
 |
Malicious Mandrake
|
It says that once a wound has been allocated, so I understand it doesn't need to wound the model to take the invul away, but you can't allocate a wound to a vehicle anymore than you can cause one, that is the reason I ask.
|
Kabal of Isha's Fall 12000PTs
Best DE advice ever!!!
Dashofpepper wrote:Asking how to make a game out of a match against Dark Eldar is like being in a prison cell surrounded by 10 big horny guys who each outweigh you by 100 pounds and asking "What can I do to make this a good fight?" You're going to get violated, and your best bet is to go willingly to get it over with faster.
And on a totally different topic:
Dashofpepper wrote:Greetings Mephiston! My name is Ghazghkull Thraka, and today you will be made my bitch. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/11 12:05:03
Subject: Flickerfields vs. Vindicare
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You can allocate the wound, the vehicle just ignores it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/11 12:14:59
Subject: Flickerfields vs. Vindicare
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Yes, it can take it out - it doesnt need to wound to remove the save
Yes it does. The wound needs to be allocated(by the vindicare's player), you cannot allocate a wound unless you have caused one.
The shield breaker round does not remove invulnerable saves on a hit, it removes them on a wound.
GK codex page 53, Shieldbreaker round wrote:When a wound from this round is allocated to a model, that model loses any invulnerable saves granted by items or wargear immediately, and for the rest of the game. Remaining saves(if any) can then be taken.
You cannot Wound a vehicle(only damage one), so you cannot remove a flicker-field.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/11 12:43:48
Subject: Flickerfields vs. Vindicare
|
 |
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:Yes, it can take it out - it doesnt need to wound to remove the save
Yes it does. The wound needs to be allocated(by the vindicare's player), you cannot allocate a wound unless you have caused one.
The shield breaker round does not remove invulnerable saves on a hit, it removes them on a wound.
GK codex page 53, Shieldbreaker round wrote:When a wound from this round is allocated to a model, that model loses any invulnerable saves granted by items or wargear immediately, and for the rest of the game. Remaining saves(if any) can then be taken.
You cannot Wound a vehicle(only damage one), so you cannot remove a flicker-field.
after reading this I am convinced!
I am also not sure that vehicle upgrades are "War Gear" they use to be very different.
of course I dont see why a vindy would ever try to remove a 10 point upgrade instead of just trying to down the tank with a turbo penetrator.
|
Dark Mechanicus and Renegade Iron Hand Dakka Blog
My Dark Mechanicus P&M Blog. Mostly Modeling as I paint very slowly. Lots of kitbashed conversions of marines and a few guard to make up a renegade Iron Hand chapter and Dark Mechanicus Allies. Bionics++ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/11 12:49:37
Subject: Re:Flickerfields vs. Vindicare
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
You need to wound a vehicle to remove it's ++ save.
Remember, there are two ways of wounding a model; when you beat a model's toughness, you have wounded it, and when the model fails it's saving throw, you have wounded it.
The Round is looking for the first type of wounding.
Now, go ahead and waste the shot on my vehicle instead of my 2++ save, which apparently everyone is getting now, but for some reason DE got the crappy version of...
|
Ayn Rand "We can evade reality, but we cannot evade the consequences of evading reality" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/11 13:07:15
Subject: Re:Flickerfields vs. Vindicare
|
 |
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General
|
BuFFo wrote:You need to wound a vehicle to remove it's ++ save.
Remember, there are two ways of wounding a model; when you beat a model's toughness, you have wounded it, and when the model fails it's saving throw, you have wounded it.
The Round is looking for the first type of wounding.
Now, go ahead and waste the shot on my vehicle instead of my 2++ save, which apparently everyone is getting now, but for some reason DE got the crappy version of...
but the rifle has not beaten the vehicles toughness. the vehicle doesnt have a toughness nor can it be wounded.
|
Dark Mechanicus and Renegade Iron Hand Dakka Blog
My Dark Mechanicus P&M Blog. Mostly Modeling as I paint very slowly. Lots of kitbashed conversions of marines and a few guard to make up a renegade Iron Hand chapter and Dark Mechanicus Allies. Bionics++ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/11 13:23:47
Subject: Flickerfields vs. Vindicare
|
 |
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu
|
Well, in regards to this, you can't wound it as it does not have a toughness.
|
Sometimes you've gotta roll the hard six ~ Adm. Adama
Surprise, I just did something horrible to you! ~ Me
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/11 13:48:16
Subject: Re:Flickerfields vs. Vindicare
|
 |
Mounted Kroot Tracker
|
Can the vindicare get rid of a warding stave 2++ save? The save isn't used against shooting attacks, but would that matter at all?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/04/11 13:51:54
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/11 13:49:48
Subject: Flickerfields vs. Vindicare
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I dont see why not - it is still an invulnerable save granted by wargear
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/11 14:49:01
Subject: Flickerfields vs. Vindicare
|
 |
Malicious Mandrake
|
Exergy wrote:after reading this I am convinced!
I am also not sure that vehicle upgrades are "War Gear" they use to be very different.
of course I dont see why a vindy would ever try to remove a 10 point upgrade instead of just trying to down the tank with a turbo penetrator.
It is listed in the page entry and the army list entry for the vehicles as wargear, so RAW it can be affected by the Vindicare if it could cause a wound.
|
Kabal of Isha's Fall 12000PTs
Best DE advice ever!!!
Dashofpepper wrote:Asking how to make a game out of a match against Dark Eldar is like being in a prison cell surrounded by 10 big horny guys who each outweigh you by 100 pounds and asking "What can I do to make this a good fight?" You're going to get violated, and your best bet is to go willingly to get it over with faster.
And on a totally different topic:
Dashofpepper wrote:Greetings Mephiston! My name is Ghazghkull Thraka, and today you will be made my bitch. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/11 15:04:55
Subject: Flickerfields vs. Vindicare
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
A vehicle can never be wounded by shooting, as the rules never allow you to cause a wound to a vehicle, even if it had a toughness value.
|
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/11 15:27:40
Subject: Re:Flickerfields vs. Vindicare
|
 |
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General
|
Oaka wrote:Can the vindicare get rid of a warding stave 2++ save? The save isn't used against shooting attacks, but would that matter at all?
it could remove its invunerables the 5++ from terminator armor if any and the 2++ from the staff, or it could just kill the model with a normal round.
|
Dark Mechanicus and Renegade Iron Hand Dakka Blog
My Dark Mechanicus P&M Blog. Mostly Modeling as I paint very slowly. Lots of kitbashed conversions of marines and a few guard to make up a renegade Iron Hand chapter and Dark Mechanicus Allies. Bionics++ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/11 16:16:57
Subject: Re:Flickerfields vs. Vindicare
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Exergy wrote:Oaka wrote:Can the vindicare get rid of a warding stave 2++ save? The save isn't used against shooting attacks, but would that matter at all?
it could remove its invunerables the 5++ from terminator armor if any and the 2++ from the staff, or it could just kill the model with a normal round.
unless it is a Paladin with a Warding Staff, it kills the Grey night while removing the 2++; so if it were a terminator(or paladin) I would only bother removing the 5++(which would then kill the termy/apply the wound with no armor save).
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/11 16:22:56
Subject: Re:Flickerfields vs. Vindicare
|
 |
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:Exergy wrote:Oaka wrote:Can the vindicare get rid of a warding stave 2++ save? The save isn't used against shooting attacks, but would that matter at all?
it could remove its invunerables the 5++ from terminator armor if any and the 2++ from the staff, or it could just kill the model with a normal round.
unless it is a Paladin with a Warding Staff, it kills the Grey night while removing the 2++; so if it were a terminator(or paladin) I would only bother removing the 5++(which would then kill the termy/apply the wound with no armor save).
The vindy has a round that does 2 wounds, which would do for paladins
from what i have read though, IC can take warding staffs. That would probably be worth it, as one sheild breaker would take away all their invunerables at once.
|
Dark Mechanicus and Renegade Iron Hand Dakka Blog
My Dark Mechanicus P&M Blog. Mostly Modeling as I paint very slowly. Lots of kitbashed conversions of marines and a few guard to make up a renegade Iron Hand chapter and Dark Mechanicus Allies. Bionics++ |
|
 |
 |
|