Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/13 20:44:35
Subject: Transformation of Kadon: still character enough to be challenged?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Hey guys. The question is pretty much what is on the tin: Is a wizard that uses Transformation of Kadon to turn into some sort of beast still a character that can be challenged out by other characters and champs in melee?
It doesn't really say it trades character status for monster, though it does point it out is now "technically a monster" it is only in reference to allowing it to remain with whatever unit the caster was joined to at the time of casting. At any rate, it doesn't seem that monstrous status and character status are mutually exclusive, seeing as how a character on a monster model is still a model that can be challenged in whole, and monstrous infantry characters like Doombulls can be challenged.
I suppose a follow up is: If Monsters can't be characters, does that mean Gaulrauch and Kholek can't be challenged? Hadn't really thought about that till just now.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/13 20:52:34
Subject: Re:Transformation of Kadon: still character enough to be challenged?
|
 |
Stoic Grail Knight
Houston, Texas
|
I would say it is still a character...
Greater daemons are classed as monsters, and characters.
|
Daemons-
Bretonnia-
Orcs n' Goblins- |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/14 09:00:32
Subject: Transformation of Kadon: still character enough to be challenged?
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
Oceanside, CA
|
Character, is not a unit type. It's a special rule that applies to a model. Just like monsterous infantry can be characters and wizards (see ogre book), nothing says you lose the character rules just because you are (or become) a monster.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 02:50:39
Subject: Transformation of Kadon: still character enough to be challenged?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
HawaiiMatt wrote:Character, is not a unit type. It's a special rule that applies to a model. Just like monsterous infantry can be characters and wizards (see ogre book), nothing says you lose the character rules just because you are (or become) a monster.
Actually Characters are a unit type:
BRB pg 96 wrote:Character Models: Characters are a special type of unit that can either operate on their own, or join another unit from the same side.
But you are correct about everything else:
Warhammer Fantasy V1.3 FAQ wrote:Q: If a model is transformed, for example by the Transformation
of Kadon or Sivejir’s Hex Scroll, do their special rules stop working
along with their magic items and equipment?(Reference)
A: No
So a character that is or becomes a monster can issue and accept challenges as I understand it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/15 02:51:07
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 03:26:13
Subject: Transformation of Kadon: still character enough to be challenged?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
And more importantly, is obligated to accept a challenge if he can't get out of base contact. So if that 50x50 base dragon is in a unit of 20x20 base models, such as Empire troops or say Ungors, he has to be moved off to the side, and so to avoid the challenge he has to be in a unit at least three deep, assuming you can shunt a model that is stuck on the side of a unit to the back of the side...
Come to think of it, I have no idea what happens then. There isn't anyone to go in front of him, because he must be at the side, so can he just line his butt up with the back of the unit and hope that takes his front out of base contact? Seems unlikely and silly, but that's the only way I can see him being able to avoid being in combat to avoid a challenge.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 08:34:57
Subject: Transformation of Kadon: still character enough to be challenged?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I dont see that happening, as that isnt a legal position for the model to take - you are either IN the unit, or off to the side and at the front.
Looks like you would be stuck, unless anyone else can find allowance for odd sized models?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/18 06:59:08
Subject: Transformation of Kadon: still character enough to be challenged?
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Wehrkind wrote:And more importantly, is obligated to accept a challenge if he can't get out of base contact.
Page ref please.
AFAIK avoiding a challenge is done by simply sending a unit champ to his doom.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/18 09:01:55
Subject: Transformation of Kadon: still character enough to be challenged?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Presumably "and there is no other model capable of accepting a challenge in the unit" was implicitly tagged on there
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/18 18:42:18
Subject: Transformation of Kadon: still character enough to be challenged?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
*L* Right, sorry! I was thinking in terms of there not being someone else to take the shot in the face, just having rank and file with them, so the character can't refuse by simply going to the back of the unit like a normal coward. Er, skaven... er... character.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|