| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/24 20:42:25
Subject: Pile in question....
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents
|
When piling a unit into close combat after assaults, must they stay 1" away from other units not in the assault?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/24 20:48:36
Subject: Pile in question....
|
 |
[ARTICLE MOD]
Fixture of Dakka
|
Page 11, "A model may not move within 1" of an enemy model unless assaulting."
Piling in is not assaulting, therefore, I believe the answer is that you cannot do this.
The main reason for that rule is so that you keep the distinction between those fighting and those not fighting clear. The 1" rule exists so that you can tell who is fighting and who is not. Violating that during a pile-in is counter-productive.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/24 20:51:01
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/24 20:48:36
Subject: Re:Pile in question....
|
 |
Swift Swooping Hawk
|
Pile-in! specifies that the 6" move folllows the same rules as moving assaulting units, which are allowed to pass within 1" of enemy models.
The additional clauses are that the 6" move is not slowed by difficult terrain, and may not contact enemy units that are not currently involved in the assault.
So i'd say you can pile-in! and be within 1" of unengaged enemy units, as long as you do not reach B2B with those unengaged units.
|
WLD: 221 / 6 / 5
5 Dragons 2011: 2nd Overall
DT:80+S++G++M+B+I+Pw40k96++D++A++/mR+++T(T)DM+
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/24 20:52:12
Subject: Re:Pile in question....
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
dayve110 wrote:So i'd say you can pile-in! and be within 1" of unengaged enemy units, as long as you do not reach B2B with those unengaged units.
Spot on.
You can move within 1", you just can't engage new units.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/24 20:54:15
Subject: Pile in question....
|
 |
[ARTICLE MOD]
Fixture of Dakka
|
Are you asking about the final position of the model, or where it might go during the movement?
I think that you'd be allowed to move within 1" of enemy models, as long as you don't end up within 1" when your move was complete. That satisfies both the 'move as if assaulting', while also keeping a correct game state at the end of the move (i.e. no one not in assault is within an inch of anyone else)
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/24 21:05:13
Subject: Pile in question....
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Redbeard wrote:...while also keeping a correct game state at the end of the move (i.e. no one not in assault is within an inch of anyone else)
There is no such requirement. The rules normally prevent you from moving within 1" of enemy models. There is no rule preventing a model from being within 1" of enemy models, however. So if the 1" movement restriction is removed for whatever reason, finishing your movement within 1" of an enemy is not a problem.
The assault rules only prohibit moving into base contact with an enemy that is not being assaulted.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/24 23:06:26
Subject: Pile in question....
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Insaniak has it spot on.
The assault rules couldnt care less about ending up within 1" of a unit not being assaulted. they only care about base contact.
This is an EXPLICIT change from 4th ed, when the old "unassaultable formation" was possible.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|