Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/25 04:07:45
Subject: Vendettas count as being on the ground?
|
 |
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine
|
My friend is claiming that whenever a skimmer unit stops moving it counts as being on the ground. Apparently you take it off its base and place it down.
Meaning basically all skimmers are on the ground? What's the point of a base on a Vendetta if that's how it works? Or any skimmer. I've even read the rule myself and it says nothing like this, yet he refuses to play a game if we don't go his way.
Can I have some help here? Somebody to show me how this works? I'm 90% sure it counts as being in the "air" because of its base.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/25 04:18:11
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/25 04:20:35
Subject: Vendettas count as being on the ground?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
grayspark wrote:My friend is claiming that whenever a skimmer unit stops moving it counts as being on the ground. Apparently you take it off its base and place it down.
Meaning basically all skimmers are on the ground? What's the point of a base on a Vendetta if that's how it works? Or any skimmer. I've even read the rule myself and it says nothing like this, yet he refuses to play a game if we don't go his way.
Your friend is wrong. The only time a skimmer is removed from its base is when it is immobilized or wrecked. See page 71.
He might be mistaking the following quote: "....a skimmer must be set down on the table and left in place at the end of its move - it cannot be left hovering in mid-air!"
This just means you can't hold the skimmer over the table and say "Oh look, it's flying!!!!!". Nowhere does it say that the base can be removed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/25 04:21:25
Subject: Re:Vendettas count as being on the ground?
|
 |
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine
|
He might be mistaking the following quote: "....a skimmer must be set down on the table and left in place at the end of its move - it cannot be left hovering in mid-air!"
This just means you can't hold the skimmer over the table and say "Oh look, it's flying!!!!!". Nowhere does it say that the base can be removed.
See that's the problem.
That's exactly the argument I gave him, and he told me I was twisting the words...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/25 04:26:11
Subject: Re:Vendettas count as being on the ground?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Show him the last sentence on page 71 under "Shooting at Skimmers"
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/25 04:27:57
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/25 04:47:14
Subject: Re:Vendettas count as being on the ground?
|
 |
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine
|
Nungunz wrote:Show him the last sentence on page 71 under "Shooting at Skimmers"
Thanks  That fixed everything.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/25 09:24:15
Subject: Vendettas count as being on the ground?
|
 |
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch
|
Tau Skimmers used to have Landing Gear that allowed them to do just that. Do they still have those?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/25 09:42:09
Subject: Vendettas count as being on the ground?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yep, they can still land.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/25 10:16:06
Subject: Vendettas count as being on the ground?
|
 |
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard
|
TAU vehicles with landing gear can land (and thus be removed from their stand to be placed onto the table.).
No other skimmer has this rule. They don't land, they crash and explode or play "lawn darts".
|
I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.
That is not dead which can eternal lie ...
... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/25 11:42:39
Subject: Vendettas count as being on the ground?
|
 |
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General
|
Thanatos_elNyx wrote:Tau Skimmers used to have Landing Gear that allowed them to do just that. Do they still have those?
in the version of the rules the Tau dex was written for any skimmer that was immobilized was wrecked automatically. Their landing gear prevented that. Rules change and now landing gear does jack.
|
Dark Mechanicus and Renegade Iron Hand Dakka Blog
My Dark Mechanicus P&M Blog. Mostly Modeling as I paint very slowly. Lots of kitbashed conversions of marines and a few guard to make up a renegade Iron Hand chapter and Dark Mechanicus Allies. Bionics++ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/25 13:18:05
Subject: Vendettas count as being on the ground?
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
Landing Gear and Vectored Engines prevent the immobilized result from becoming Destroyed (Wrecked) if moving Flat Out, 5th BRB, pg. 71. Or did I miss a rule change?
Not exactly jack, but they can sometimes see jack's house.
Homer
|
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/25 13:30:01
Subject: Vendettas count as being on the ground?
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Thing is, devilfish/hammerhead/skyray aren't fast so issues with moving flat-out aren't a consideration.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/25 18:31:20
Subject: Vendettas count as being on the ground?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
They can take an upgrade to make them fast.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/25 18:43:01
Subject: Vendettas count as being on the ground?
|
 |
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot
|
Yonush wrote:They can take an upgrade to make them fast.
No, they can take an upgrade to allow them to SHOOT as if they were fast.
|
- 3000
- 145 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/25 18:43:44
Subject: Vendettas count as being on the ground?
|
 |
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan
|
Yonush wrote:They can take an upgrade to make them fast.
No. They can take an upgrade which lets them fire weapons as if they were fast. Not the same thing.
|
For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/25 20:37:32
Subject: Vendettas count as being on the ground?
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
Scott-S6 wrote:Thing is, devilfish/hammerhead/skyray aren't fast so issues with moving flat-out aren't a consideration.
It's always something!
Homer
|
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/25 22:03:36
Subject: Vendettas count as being on the ground?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
chromedog wrote:TAU vehicles with landing gear can land (and thus be removed from their stand to be placed onto the table.).
The rules for landing gear don't actually tell you to remove the base.
The only time the rules tell you to remove a skimmer's base are when the skimmer is Immobilised or Wrecked.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/25 22:16:10
Subject: Vendettas count as being on the ground?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
greyspark; if you are still having trouble with your friend in all this(seems like he is not trying to remove the base, but to gain cover saves from intervening ground level terrain even though his valk is in clear LOS "Above" the terrain); Point him to page 16 of the BRB(All except the "Run" Box-out), Page 60 of the BRB(First 2 sections), and finally page 71(Shooting at skimmers).
All of these selections specify that all shots on the skimmer are measured to and in LOS of the true position of the actual model on it's flight stand; the stand and the base mean almost nothing at all except where otherwise specified.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
|