Fafnir wrote:
No, not quite. So long as that vehicle is within charging distance, they can charge it. Rage doesn't force you to charge, nor does it force you to charge a specific unit. Only normal movements, run/fleet movements, and consolidation movements must move the unit with Rage closer to the nearest enemy unit.
Of course, if the vehicle is not within charging range, then yeah, you've got a unit of pissed off Tank Busta's sitting around with their thumbs up their asses.
FYI, Grotsnik doesn't have rage...
He has his own special rule.
His rule does force him to charge, and charge the closest unit and he must move in his movement and assault phases. Also he does not need
LOS like rage as it is not closest VISIBLE unit. He has omniscience
Now the question is can he do actions that would slow down or prevent assault? IE: shooting a target far away? Maybe? Maybe not... This rule is one of the rules where it is so unclear
GW has given us a 'spirit' of the rules...
See this in the
FAQ:
Q. Can Grotsnik board a vehicle if doing so will
get him closer to the nearest enemy than if he
moved normally?
A. In the spirit of the rule, if embarking in a
vehicle will not prevent him from charging that
turn and will also get him closer to the nearest
enemy than moving normally that turn, he may
do that. Once aboard, the vehicle must always
move in such a way as to move as fast as possible
towards the closest enemy and allow Grotsnik to
disembark and charge the closest enemy as soon
as possible.
Basically any possible action that would prevent moving towards the closest enemy or assaulting would be against maddok's rule in the spirit... and since
RAW is questionable in many situations, it really is 'spirit' as
RAW prevents him from doing lots of things.
Just be sure not to play it as rage and you will find out all sorts of fun broken game situations