Switch Theme:

Grand Master Mordrak - First into the Fray  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant




United States

The rule states "If he deploys via deepstrike, Mordrak and ANY unit he accompanies will automatically arrive in your first turn and will not scatter."
My question is can you take literally any unit? Or is it only limited by deeptriking units?



3000 Pts Astra Militarum
1800pts mess of Blood Angels
?? pts Mechanicus 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






He's not an Independent character. So, the only units that can go with him are either his retinue (ghosts or somesuch) or an IC that attaches to him.

I assume that in order for him to deepstrike, the unit he's going with has to be eligible to deepstrike as well.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/29 07:04:22


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yep, as above.

Mordrak is not an IC, so the only unit that can join him is an IC. In order for someone to be able to deepstrike with him they must be able to deepstrike.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





As stated Mordrak is not an IC, but is unique, and so because of this falls into a special group of characters that includes Mephiston. By himself he cannot join or be joined by any other units. This however all changes when he is joined by a unit of Ghost Knights. He becomes an upgrade character for that unit, and that unit may be joined by other IC's.
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






No, this is wrong. Mordrak does not "change". He is not a unit that always consists of one model, as he can be joined by ghost knights, even if you didn't buy any. Because of this the restriction for an IC not joining him is not in effect.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in gb
Fully-charged Electropriest





Jidmah wrote:No, this is wrong. Mordrak does not "change". He is not a unit that always consists of one model, as he can be joined by ghost knights, even if you didn't buy any. Because of this the restriction for an IC not joining him is not in effect.


He actually does become an upgrade character - his rules say so.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/29 13:07:20




“Do not ask me to approach the battle meekly, to creep through the shadows, or to quietly slip on my foes in the dark. I am Rogal Dorn, Imperial Fist, Space Marine, Emperor’s Champion. Let my enemies cower at my advance and tremble at the sight of me.”
-Rogal Dorn
 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






Which, rules wise, does nothing.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Bush? No, Eldar Ranger




Jidmah wrote:No, this is wrong. Mordrak does not "change". He is not a unit that always consists of one model, as he can be joined by ghost knights, even if you didn't buy any. Because of this the restriction for an IC not joining him is not in effect.



* He is a unit named 'Grand Master Mordrak'
* He is a single model
* He is not an IC
* His rules specifically refer to him as a "single-model unit"

So, he cannot be joined by an IC when he is alone.

* He + Ghostknights are a unit named 'Mordrak and the Ghost Knights'
* He + Ghostknights are not a single model
* His rules specifically mention that he is an "upgrade character" for the unit (and thus he is a part of the unit rather than attached character)

So, he can be joined by an IC when he is with his Ghostknights

The term 'always' refers to the scope of one game. Did the model start the game with other models? Take, for example, a Guardian squad with a Warlock. If the Guardians all die, the warlock is a unit that consists of a single model, but his unit did not "always consist of a single model". Mordrak, however, did not start with other models. So, he did "always consist of a single model".
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






Xarian wrote:The term 'always' refers to the scope of one game. Did the model start the game with other models? Take, for example, a Guardian squad with a Warlock. If the Guardians all die, the warlock is a unit that consists of a single model, but his unit did not "always consist of a single model". Mordrak, however, did not start with other models. So, he did "always consist of a single model".


Everything right so far but, two things. "Did the model start the game with other models?" is the wrong question to ask. Let's stay in the GK codex and take paladins. Paladins can be bought as 1-10 units, if I buy a single paladin, he can still be joined by ICs, because his unit can consist of more than one model, by buying more before the beginning of the game. "Always" is not defined as "scope of one game", so it simply means always as in "scope of any possible game".
Even if you do not start with any Ghost Knights, Grand Master Mordrak might get additional ghost knights when wounded, and thus does not always consist of a single model.

I'd also like to add that he has the "act as upgrade character" clause, simply because the only other characters able to be part of a units are Independent Characters. So all this does is "Mordrak is not an independant character" with all attached rules baggage (can't leave, can't be singled out etc.).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/29 14:14:07


7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Mordrak is a single model unit when not accompanied by Ghost Knights. A small quote from the Ghostly Bodyguard entry proves this. The last sentence of the first paragragh on pg40 of the Grey knights codex under "Ghostly Bodyguard" states:

"Mordrak and the Ghost Knights form a unit, with Mordrak acting as an upgrade character until such point as the Ghost Knights are slain, at which point he reverts to being a single-model unit in his own right."

You cannot revert to, or return to, being something unless you were one to begin with.
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






So? Nothing prevents ICs from joining a single-model-unit.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






Except the rule where it says:
They cannot, however, join vehicle squadrons (see the Vehicles section) and units that always consist of a single model (like most vehicles and monstrous creatures).
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




so it seems pretty clear that an IC can join his unit, can / does that IC gain the alpha strike as well?

I do apologize it does seem to be answered here and within the codex, where it was stated any unit he joins. but I'd like to make sure.
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

bushido wrote:Except the rule where it says:
They cannot, however, join vehicle squadrons (see the Vehicles section) and units that always consist of a single model (like most vehicles and monstrous creatures).


That doesn't even prohibit ICs from joining single-model units...

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






bushido wrote:Except the rule where it says:
They cannot, however, join vehicle squadrons (see the Vehicles section) and units that always consist of a single model (like most vehicles and monstrous creatures).


Sorry to quote ninja you The important part is "always". As Mordraks unit does not always consist of a single model, he may be joined by ICs, even when alone. Mephisto's or Kastellan Crowe's units, for example, can never, ever be more than a single model.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant




United States

The ghosts act as body guard and are hence a single unit. So from what im seeing here is that he and his body guard, as well as only if optioned, a single IC can join?



3000 Pts Astra Militarum
1800pts mess of Blood Angels
?? pts Mechanicus 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Denison, Iowa

By RAW, an Independent Character can join Mordrak, even if he is by himself. Also, RAW, any Independent character that joins with Mordrak before deployment automatically deepstrikes with him on the first turn, even if normally they would not be able to deepstrike. Althouh, the only IC without deepstrike are pretty much limited to Inquisitors without terminator armor.
   
Made in us
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant




United States

so its not limited by DS then?



3000 Pts Astra Militarum
1800pts mess of Blood Angels
?? pts Mechanicus 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






cuda: There's nothing in there to indicate that he grants a unit he's with the ability to deep strike. It looks like it's just: if he's with a unit, and they deploy via deep strike, then his special rules apply. In order to deploy via deep strike, the unit has to have that ability in the first place.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/29 16:34:20


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Denison, Iowa

Until this gets FAQed, no, it is NOT limited to characters with deepstrike. Totally strange and I overlooked that myself. His special rules are more specific than the general rules for deepstrike, and in fact override those in the rulebook. However, I don't see many people attaching an Inquisitor to Mordrak, so this shouldn't come up too often.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





cuda1179 wrote:By RAW, an Independent Character can join Mordrak, even if he is by himself. Also, RAW, any Independent character that joins with Mordrak before deployment automatically deepstrikes with him on the first turn, even if normally they would not be able to deepstrike. Althouh, the only IC without deepstrike are pretty much limited to Inquisitors without terminator armor.


As well as Techmarines.

However, you're wrong that non-DS can be deployed via DS.

"If he deploys via Deep Strike, Mordrak and any unit he accompanies will automatically arrive in your first turn and will not scatter."

In order for you to use FttF, you have to deploy via DS. In order to do that, the entire unit has to be able to DS. "Deploy[s] via Deep Strike" is a condition that must be satisfied, not an effect that occurs.

As for lone Mordrak with an IC, the question is if "Mordrak" and "Mordrak + Ghostly Bodyguard" are two different units, or the same unit with different models.

I also think there is a question about gaining Ghost Knights if you didn't take them in the first place, based on the wording, but there are so many other problems with the codex wording that I'm not surprised.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Denison, Iowa

Whoops!!! I just re-read his special rules. I was totally wrong, and I appologise. I thought it stated that he MUST deepstrike the first turn, not "if he chooses to deepstrike".
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






A Mallus Ordus Inquisitor with Terminator Armor could still be attached

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




A little off topic:

If you were to place Mordrak the GK and another IC inside of a Storm Raven, would the Storm Raven also get Alpha Strike? Since its a Transport?

there doesn't seem to be any red flgs running in my head.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Only Dedicated transport(Rhinos, razorbacks, or Chimeras in the GK codex) ever gain any unit special rules, and that is only Scouts, or Infiltrate(infiltrate only allows for outflanking).

Mordak+Knights+ICs in the Storm raven(up to transport limits of the Storm Raven) can still Deepstrike(because the Storm Raven has that rule), but cannot benefit from FttF.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




errr alright

Thank You!
   
Made in gb
Sneaky Kommando





London

So if Mordrek was joined by an IC and put in a Stormraven with an embarked Dreadnought....Could they use the FTTF if they deepstrike?
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

f74 wrote:So if Mordrek was joined by an IC and put in a Stormraven with an embarked Dreadnought....Could they use the FTTF if they deepstrike?


Read the post two posts above yours.


The answer's "no".

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: