Switch Theme:

Wyches and Haemunculi Fleet Query  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Deadly Dire Avenger




Cambridge, England

I am a new DE player and was diligently reading dashofpepper's articles on Dark Eldar on here. I noticed he was using a Wych cult led by a Haemonculus combination.

My question is do the Wyches grant the Haemonculus Fleet when it is joined to the unit?

If not, I'm confused as to how best create synergy between these two as although the Haemonculus can give a Pain Token to the unit, and therefore FNP, surely it slows it down?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/02 23:11:53


...And you shall know us by the trail of dead. 
   
Made in gb
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord






fluffywyvern wrote:I am a new DE player and was diligently reading dashofpepper's articles on Dark Eldar on here. I noticed he was using a Wych cult led by a Haemonculus combination.

My question is do the Wyches grant the Haemonculus Fleet when it is joined to the unit?

If not, I'm confused as to how best create synergy between these two as although the Haemonculus can give a Pain Token to the unit, and therefore FNP, surely it slows it down?



The Haemy slows the Wyches down as he lacks Fleet. i.e. if the Wyches run with a Haemy in the unit they cannot assault.

I think the general idea is to detatch the Haemy on turn 1 and the pain token gets left on the Wyches following "sharing the pain".

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/02 23:13:56



Games Workshop Delenda Est.

Users on ignore- 53.

If you break apart my or anyone else's posts line by line I will not read them. 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

When the wyches disembark from their transport, the haemonculi is not required to get out with them. The wyches can take the pain token with them.

   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Grimtuff wrote:
fluffywyvern wrote:I am a new DE player and was diligently reading dashofpepper's articles on Dark Eldar on here. I noticed he was using a Wych cult led by a Haemonculus combination.

My question is do the Wyches grant the Haemonculus Fleet when it is joined to the unit?

If not, I'm confused as to how best create synergy between these two as although the Haemonculus can give a Pain Token to the unit, and therefore FNP, surely it slows it down?



The Haemy slows the Wyches down as he lacks Fleet. i.e. if the Wyches run with a Haemy in the unit they cannot assault.

I think the general idea is to detatch the Haemy on turn 1 and the pain token gets left on the Wyches following "sharing the pain".


This, although it's worth mentioning that you won't ALWAYS have to Fleet.
   
Made in us
Hellacious Havoc





Brooklyn, N.Y.

If wyches disembark but the Haem stays in the transport, can the wyches still fleet or would they be still within 2" at end of movement phase?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/07 16:48:16


   
Made in us
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer






Whoops. I cheated last week. Didn't notice that Hammies don't have fleet. That seriously changes my mind on getting Hammies for my Wyche squads. I wanted to field 4 squads of 9 wyches with a hammie in raiders. But, that sounds like it sucks now since they lose fleet due to the Hammie not having it. I hate the idea of leaving the Hammie in the Raider and the Wyches just jumping out. Oh well...


Playing chess doesn't require skill, it just requires you to be good at chess...

...that would be a skill 
   
Made in us
Hellacious Havoc





Brooklyn, N.Y.

Kurce, they are still very affective but take finess to use. I always use the haem inside the wyches unit but lately ive gotten differnt rulings as to my question above.

   
Made in es
Fresh-Faced New User




WeeDawgNYC, thats exactly what I asked here:

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/374478.page

Could be nice if everyone write his point of view.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




WeeDawgNYC wrote:If wyches disembark but the Haem stays in the transport, can the wyches still fleet or would they be still within 2" at end of movement phase?


If the raider moved, then they are still within 2" by definition. This means they cannot Run (you dont FLEET anymore!) as they would move out of coherency.
However, like a lot of wonky IC rules (such as you not being able to move within 2" of a unit you cannot join. So, no hiding farseers behind wriathlords....) people tend to gloss over this.

Or you disembark the haemi from the other side, and therefore more than 2" away
   
Made in us
Hellacious Havoc





Brooklyn, N.Y.

nosferatu1001 wrote:
WeeDawgNYC wrote:If wyches disembark but the Haem stays in the transport, can the wyches still fleet or would they be still within 2" at end of movement phase?


If the raider moved, then they are still within 2" by definition. This means they cannot Run (you dont FLEET anymore!) as they would move out of coherency.
However, like a lot of wonky IC rules (such as you not being able to move within 2" of a unit you cannot join. So, no hiding farseers behind wriathlords....) people tend to gloss over this.

Or you disembark the haemi from the other side, and therefore more than 2" away


THANK YOU!!!!!

   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User





The rules for independant characters embarking and disembarking (p.67 BRB) seem to imply that they can separate by disembarking the unit from the transport, but it falls short of actually spelling out weather they remain attached or not when one leaves the transport and the other stays on board. RAW they appear to still be attached.

The solution would be that the Haemy can leave the transport before it moves, and then he can move on his own leaving him detached from the unit. Or he can disembark at the same time as the Wyches but more than 2 inches away from them, also leaving the unit at the end of the movement phase.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/07 18:14:33


 
   
Made in ca
Wicked Wych With a Whip






I think you can only embark or disembark a vehicle once per turn, so if you get the Haemi out before moving, you can't get the Wyches out after it moves.

   
Made in us
Hellacious Havoc





Brooklyn, N.Y.

Foo I dont think thats correct. a UNIT cant disembar/embark in the same turn, thats what your referring to.

   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

A unit and an IC can disembark separately from a transport. BRB page 67 top right.

This is going on in another thread right now.
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/374478.page

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Hellacious Havoc





Brooklyn, N.Y.

time wizard wrote:A unit and an IC can disembark separately from a transport. BRB page 67 top right.


Yes, Thats not whats in question though. noone is stating that they cant. & in fact is the way to avoid this whole thing is to disembark both in seperate sides.

   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

You can have a haemonculous and wyches in a raider.
Start of movement phase wyches disembark and take the pain token, haemonculous stays in the transport.
They are now separate units, so the wyches with their pain token can run and then assault.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Time - not true, if the wyches stay within 2" they are still joined to the Unit
   
Made in us
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer






Can't you move the Raider 12", have the Hammie disembark on one side and the Wyches disembark on the other side? Voila! No longer attached? Let us say that we just keep the Hammie in the Raider. Why would the wyches still be attached to the Hammie? You are within 2" of the Raider, not the IC...


Playing chess doesn't require skill, it just requires you to be good at chess...

...that would be a skill 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

nosferatu1001 wrote:Time - not true, if the wyches stay within 2" they are still joined to the Unit


Nos, we have the same argument going on in 2 different threads!
I posted a counterpoint in this one, http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/374478.page

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Hellacious Havoc





Brooklyn, N.Y.

Kurce wrote:Can't you move the Raider 12", have the Hammie disembark on one side and the Wyches disembark on the other side? Voila! No longer attached? Let us say that we just keep the Hammie in the Raider. Why would the wyches still be attached to the Hammie? You are within 2" of the Raider, not the IC...


Yes Kurce, It is. This in fact is what ive been saying to do. It is the most non argumentitive way of settling this.

   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

WeeDawgNYC wrote:
Kurce wrote:Can't you move the Raider 12", have the Hammie disembark on one side and the Wyches disembark on the other side? Voila! No longer attached? Let us say that we just keep the Hammie in the Raider. Why would the wyches still be attached to the Hammie? You are within 2" of the Raider, not the IC...


Yes Kurce, It is. This in fact is what ive been saying to do. It is the most non argumentitive way of settling this.


But certainly not the only way. There is no rule that forces you to disembark your IC so that it is no longer a part of the unit.

Think of this one.
I have a space marine chaplain and 5 assault termies in a land raider.
I move the raider and disembark the termies. The disembark 1" because they are now within 1" of an enemy MC.
I do not disembark the chaplain.
In the assault phase then termies assault the enemy MC.
If you say the chaplain is still part of the unit, then the terminatos get to re-roll failed to hit rolls as per the chaplain rule.
But this doesn't happen because the chaplain didn't assault, he is no longer part of the unit of terminators.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer






I like time_wizard's explanation best. The rules appear to support it although it is a little hazy. Plus, it makes the most sense both RAI and RAW (plus, a little bit of realism to boot!). I should be able to hop out and leave the Hammie in the Raider and my Wyches get to fleet and assault that turn. The rules appear to support this interpretation. Otherwise, all sorts of nonsense starts to occur like time_wizard shows in his example.


Playing chess doesn't require skill, it just requires you to be good at chess...

...that would be a skill 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Locking duplicate topic...

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: