Switch Theme:

Assault moves and the 1" "rule"  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Ship's Officer






When a model makes an assault move, it can move within 1" of enemy models, provided it doesn't touch models that it isn't assaulting, and provided it doesn't pass through gaps too small for its base. Okay. Does that only apply when the model is passing by? (i.e. it still has to end 1" away from non-assaulted enemies?). The rules don't seem to indicate that is the case.

If the 1" rule just simply doesn't apply, what happens if an assaulting model ends its move within 1" of a model NOT involved in the combat? Is that model (the one outside the combat) required to move in its subsequent movement phase? That is, can it choose to not move, if such an action would leave it within 1" of an enemy model?

Ask Not, Fear Not - (Gallery), ,

 H.B.M.C. wrote:

Yeah! Who needs balanced rules when everyone can take giant stompy robots! Balanced rules are just for TFG WAAC players, and everyone hates them.

- This message brought to you by the Dakka Casual Gaming Mafia: 'Cause winning is for losers!
 
   
Made in gb
Tunneling Trygon





Nottinghamshire- England

I SWEAR, you can charge one unit and then you may go within an inch of another consequently multiassulting?

Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.


A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else.
 
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

You have to declare that you are multi assaulting to actually do so.

If you end up within 1" of a model you didn't declare assault to, they move back enough to maintain the 1" rule.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer






juraigamer wrote:You have to declare that you are multi assaulting to actually do so.

If you end up within 1" of a model you didn't declare assault to, they move back enough to maintain the 1" rule.


But that's not what the rules say. It only states that models may not move into base contact with models they are not assaulting (p34, BRB).

The unit is permitted to move as per the movement rules, exempting the 1" restriction (which is clarified in the assault move section as "may move within 1" of enemy models, but may NOT move through models, move through spaces too small for the base, or move into base contact with a model they are not assaulting).

Ask Not, Fear Not - (Gallery), ,

 H.B.M.C. wrote:

Yeah! Who needs balanced rules when everyone can take giant stompy robots! Balanced rules are just for TFG WAAC players, and everyone hates them.

- This message brought to you by the Dakka Casual Gaming Mafia: 'Cause winning is for losers!
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







When the rule says that you can move within 1" of enemy models, it means that you can move within 1" of enemy models.

A unit of marines gets out of a rhino, and position themselves each in base contact with the vehicle. You move a unit of guys to assault the marines, and one of your models ends up 1/4" away from the rhino. The statement on page 34 says that this is okay, even if you didn't (also) assault the rhino.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/07 17:31:48


 
   
Made in ca
Focused Fire Warrior




Just thinking...I think that means that said unit can't move without assaulting you . As Solkan's example said rino on his own movement can't move within 1" of the enemy that is assaulting his marines. But it started within 1" so i think by RAW it can't move . Oh no one would play like that but by RAW....
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer






solkan wrote:When the rule says that you can move within 1" of enemy models, it means that you can move within 1" of enemy models.

A unit of marines gets out of a rhino, and position themselves each in base contact with the vehicle. You move a unit of guys to assault the marines, and one of your models ends up 1/4" away from the rhino. The statement on page 34 says that this is okay, even if you didn't (also) assault the rhino.


Right, so what does the Rhino do on its turn? Can it legally choose to remain stationary (and remain <1" from the enemy models)? Obviously, if it chooses to move, it has to get out from the 1" bubble, otherwise it would violate the "don't move within 1" of enemy model" rule, but is "remaining stationary within 1" of enemy models" also violating that same rule?
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

There's no rule prohibiting you from being within 1" of an enemy. You're prohibited from moving in such a way that you end up within 1" from the enemy, but this is circumvented by the assault rules.

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






AlmightyWalrus wrote:There's no rule prohibiting you from being within 1" of an enemy. You're prohibited from moving in such a way that you end up within 1" from the enemy, but this is circumvented by the assault rules.

Incorrect.
"a model may not move within 1" of an enemy model unless assaulting" P11
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

Scott-S6 wrote:
AlmightyWalrus wrote:There's no rule prohibiting you from being within 1" of an enemy. You're prohibited from moving in such a way that you end up within 1" from the enemy, but this is circumvented by the assault rules.

Incorrect.
"a model may not move within 1" of an enemy model unless assaulting" P11


O RLY? That almost sounds like the very thing I said in my post...

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in us
Lurking Gaunt




AlmightyWalrus wrote:
Scott-S6 wrote:
AlmightyWalrus wrote:There's no rule prohibiting you from being within 1" of an enemy. You're prohibited from moving in such a way that you end up within 1" from the enemy, but this is circumvented by the assault rules.

Incorrect.
"a model may not move within 1" of an enemy model unless assaulting" P11


O RLY? That almost sounds like the very thing I said in my post...


"end up within 1" " is functionally different than " may not move within 1" "
Technically, raw wise, the rhino would be partially in an area it's not allowed to move in, so it wouldn't be allowed to move. I doubt anyone is silly enough to argue that's how it should be played though.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

solkan wrote:When the rule says that you can move within 1" of enemy models, it means that you can move within 1" of enemy models.

A unit of marines gets out of a rhino, and position themselves each in base contact with the vehicle. You move a unit of guys to assault the marines, and one of your models ends up 1/4" away from the rhino. The statement on page 34 says that this is okay, even if you didn't (also) assault the rhino.


This.

The 1" prohibition in 4th ed was a broken rule, as it was capable of preventing otherwise completely legal assaults due to incidental (or intentional) proximity.

As far as what the Rhino is required to do in subsequent turns, I would say that it has the option of remaining stationary (as it would not be moving to be within 1" of an enemy), but if it moves, it would be required to end that move at least 1" away from enemy models.

   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






AlmightyWalrus wrote:
Scott-S6 wrote:
AlmightyWalrus wrote:There's no rule prohibiting you from being within 1" of an enemy. You're prohibited from moving in such a way that you end up within 1" from the enemy, but this is circumvented by the assault rules.

Incorrect.
"a model may not move within 1" of an enemy model unless assaulting" P11


O RLY? That almost sounds like the very thing I said in my post...

No, what you wrote would e.g. allow you to move through a 1" gap between enemy models as long as you end up more than 1" away. That is definitely NOT what the rules say.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




To make it clearer AW should have said:

"There is no rule prohibiting you from *already* being within 1"", to indicate that you do not have to move if you are at >1" away.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

juraigamer wrote:You have to declare that you are multi assaulting to actually do so.

The rules do not require you to declare multiple assaults. An assault is declared against a single enemy unit. Other units can be engaged if you can do so while following the rules for moving assaulting models. You never have to 'declare' assaults against those other units... you just move into contact with them.

And the rules do not, ever, require you to declare an assault against a unit you are not intending to assault.


If you end up within 1" of a model you didn't declare assault to, they move back enough to maintain the 1" rule.

No idea where you have got this idea from, since there is no such rule. As others have pointed out, there is no rule against being within 1" of an enemy model, just the rule prohibiting you from moving there, which is suspended by the rules for moving assaulting models.

 
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

nosferatu1001 wrote:To make it clearer AW should have said:

"There is no rule prohibiting you from *already* being within 1"", to indicate that you do not have to move if you are at >1" away.


Ah, that put it the way I should've done it. Cheers!

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

insaniak wrote:
juraigamer wrote:You have to declare that you are multi assaulting to actually do so.

The rules do not require you to declare multiple assaults. An assault is declared against a single enemy unit. Other units can be engaged if you can do so while following the rules for moving assaulting models. You never have to 'declare' assaults against those other units... you just move into contact with them.


Well crap, that's what I get for listening to the resident infantry spam guard player regarding assault rules... Thanks.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

Jura that is actually a quite often made mistake, just about every player in my group would declare 'primary and secondary' assaults for a while until they realized this was not the case.

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

juraigamer wrote:
insaniak wrote:
juraigamer wrote:You have to declare that you are multi assaulting to actually do so.

The rules do not require you to declare multiple assaults. An assault is declared against a single enemy unit. Other units can be engaged if you can do so while following the rules for moving assaulting models. You never have to 'declare' assaults against those other units... you just move into contact with them.


Well crap, that's what I get for listening to the resident infantry spam guard player regarding assault rules... Thanks.


In 4th edition you had to declare charges against units, including declaring against a primary unit (the one your unit shot at) and any other units you wanted to assault.
This might be what your IG player is remembering.
Just politely inform him that declaring charges against units was dropped in 5th edition.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Actually you do still state your intention to assault a specific unit. It stops you finding out you are 7" away from your preferred target, and "redirecting" to a different unit.
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

True enough nosferatu, another look at the rules shows the sord 'declare' is still used for assaults, but only for the frist unit.
And the reason is for exactly what you specified.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: