Switch Theme:

necron wbb  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in no
Hungry Little Ripper




Norway

Hey!

If a necron lord dies in CC and gets up after his WBB roll. Is he locked in combat again?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/08 08:59:59


Tyranid & Tau Empire 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

No.

The only way that a Necron WBBs into combat is if the nearest unit that it is WBBing into is already locked in combat.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/05/08 09:05:33


   
Made in no
Hungry Little Ripper




Norway

Dashofpepper wrote:No.

The only way that a Necron WBBs into combat is if the nearest unit that it is WBBing into is already locked in combat.


Wbb says he is immediately placed in coherency with the closest unit if the same type. But what if there is no same unit ?

Tyranid & Tau Empire 
   
Made in gb
Deranged Necron Destroyer





Leicester, England

lotrlks wrote:
Dashofpepper wrote:No.

The only way that a Necron WBBs into combat is if the nearest unit that it is WBBing into is already locked in combat.


Wbb says he is immediately placed in coherency with the closest unit if the same type. But what if there is no same unit ?


Lords are ICs, so they have no unit to become a part of. Also, Lords don't need another Lord to WBB, so when it succeeds its WBB it just stands up.

Setekh the Eternal, Phaeron of the Kopakh Dynasty, Regent of Nephthys 7660pts  
   
Made in no
Hungry Little Ripper




Norway

Scarey Nerd wrote:
lotrlks wrote:
Dashofpepper wrote:No.

The only way that a Necron WBBs into combat is if the nearest unit that it is WBBing into is already locked in combat.


Wbb says he is immediately placed in coherency with the closest unit if the same type. But what if there is no same unit ?


Lords are ICs, so they have no unit to become a part of. Also, Lords don't need another Lord to WBB, so when it succeeds its WBB it just stands up.


But if he stand back up again, he will be in base contact with the enemy again. (as long as the enemy didnt consolidate) So isnt he kinda locked in CC then?

Tyranid & Tau Empire 
   
Made in gb
Deranged Necron Destroyer





Leicester, England

lotrlks wrote:
Scarey Nerd wrote:
lotrlks wrote:
Dashofpepper wrote:No.

The only way that a Necron WBBs into combat is if the nearest unit that it is WBBing into is already locked in combat.


Wbb says he is immediately placed in coherency with the closest unit if the same type. But what if there is no same unit ?


Lords are ICs, so they have no unit to become a part of. Also, Lords don't need another Lord to WBB, so when it succeeds its WBB it just stands up.


But if he stand back up again, he will be in base contact with the enemy again. (as long as the enemy didnt consolidate) So isnt he kinda locked in CC then?


I might be wrong, but I think it says in the codex (Don't have it with me atm) that when a Necron stands up it can't be in CC. Again, might be wrong.

Setekh the Eternal, Phaeron of the Kopakh Dynasty, Regent of Nephthys 7660pts  
   
Made in ru
Longtime Dakkanaut






Sheffield / Oxford

Scarey Nerd wrote:
lotrlks wrote:
Scarey Nerd wrote:
lotrlks wrote:
Dashofpepper wrote:No.

The only way that a Necron WBBs into combat is if the nearest unit that it is WBBing into is already locked in combat.


Wbb says he is immediately placed in coherency with the closest unit if the same type. But what if there is no same unit ?


Lords are ICs, so they have no unit to become a part of. Also, Lords don't need another Lord to WBB, so when it succeeds its WBB it just stands up.


But if he stand back up again, he will be in base contact with the enemy again. (as long as the enemy didnt consolidate) So isnt he kinda locked in CC then?


I might be wrong, but I think it says in the codex (Don't have it with me atm) that when a Necron stands up it can't be in CC. Again, might be wrong.


The codex says ' Once joined with a unit, the Necron moves and fights with it for the rest of the game. If the nearest unit is in close combat then the repaired Necron may be placed in combat with any of its opponents as long as it maintains coherency. It may not contact a new enemy unit and does not count as charging.'

I'm guessing the latter part applies to the Necron Lord although it is not specifically included in the Lord section of WBB.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/05/08 12:45:54


-Tom Leighton
- Ireland ETC - Eldar - 2016

-Former 17 year old intro welcomer for dank post count. Pls forgive me <3 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

lotrlks wrote:Hey!

If a necron lord dies in CC and gets up after his WBB roll. Is he locked in combat again?


It depends on where the Necron Lord gets back up.
This is from the last Necron FAQ:

Q. If a damaged Necron Lord is unable to get
back up without being within 1” of an enemy
model is he considered destroyed, or does he go
right into combat?
A. A Necron Lord who gets up within 1" of an
enemy model must be moved directly into
combat with an enemy model within 1" of him
(neither counts as charging).


I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in no
Hungry Little Ripper




Norway

time wizard wrote:
lotrlks wrote:Hey!

If a necron lord dies in CC and gets up after his WBB roll. Is he locked in combat again?


It depends on where the Necron Lord gets back up.
This is from the last Necron FAQ:

Q. If a damaged Necron Lord is unable to get
back up without being within 1” of an enemy
model is he considered destroyed, or does he go
right into combat?
A. A Necron Lord who gets up within 1" of an
enemy model must be moved directly into
combat with an enemy model within 1" of him
(neither counts as charging).



Thanks

Tyranid & Tau Empire 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

But you're also not required to get up exactly in the spot you went down. A model that gets up from WBB can move up to 6" to join a unit (or more depending models on the table) and do so anywhere within 2" of the unit that they joined - giving them potentially unlimited movement range across the table if the unit they are joining is spread out. 10 Necrons in a line with 2" coherency cover 30" of space. A Necron unit 6" away that WBBs into the first unit can start placing models 38" away from where they went down.

The Necron Lord *on his own* s unique in that he has no unit to join, and gets up on his own.

1. There is no rule saying he gets up on the spot.
2. There are several rules governing how models move when they get up from WBB.
3. There are no rules specfically governing how *he* will move on a WBB.

We have two relevant entries:
Codex: A unit getting up from WBB may not engage a new unit.
FAQ: A lord who can't get up from WBB without being within 1" of an enemy model moves into contact.

That brings up a new question: Can the Lord move 6" and get up away from the combat? Can he move an unlimited range? Can he get up anywhere within 2" of where he went down?

Generally speaking, if he gets up into combat, then I'm just teleporting his butt through a Monolith. =p

   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Lord, no, he may not get up 6" away. If there is an enemy within 1" of where he is when he makes his WBB roll, he gets up and is in combat, per the FAQ. Regular Necrons, as stated in the codex. If the unit they are in (or the unit they join) is in combat, then so are they. They just are not allowed to contact a NEW unit, ie a unit not already involved in the combat.

Oh, and if the Lord is on his own, I don't believe he can be teleported through the Monolith either........

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Nope, if the lord is by himself he cannot be ported - only units of Necrons and attached lords can be teleported
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Dashofpepper wrote:That brings up a new question: Can the Lord move 6" and get up away from the combat? Can he move an unlimited range? Can he get up anywhere within 2" of where he went down?

There is no rule allowing him to move 6" away. The regular WBB rules don't mention being able to move 6". They simply require a like unit to be within 6", and cause the model to move to within coherency of that unit.

The Lord does not join a unit when he uses WBB. So he has no rule allowing him to be moved. He just stands up.

 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

There is also no rule allowing a Necron model to be moved when it is awaiting WBB.
The rule says to just lay the model on its side to await WBB.
If successful, the model immediately stands back up and are placed in coherency witht he closest unit of the same type.
This allows most models some degree of "movement" since they must be placed in coherency.
The Lord however does not join another Lord or another unit. He simply stands back up where he went down.
And if he stands up within 1" of an enemy unit, he is in combat with that unit, but neither unit gains a charge bonus.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Well, there is actually - if the model awaiting WBB is part of a unit falling back, then the model is move with their "parent" unit
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

nosferatu1001 wrote:Well, there is actually - if the model awaiting WBB is part of a unit falling back, then the model is move with their "parent" unit


Good catch, thanks.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: